We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise and Stay was the best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cruise and Stay was the best!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We booked the cruise and stay package and are so glad we did. The suite (which was the only room available for the package) was fantastic. The hotel doesnt look like much from the exterior, but the inside more than makes up for any doubts one might have. From the front desk to the breakfast everything exceeded our expectations. And the bed, was the best nights sleep me and my wife had all vacation.

I originally booked the room because it was the only hotel that had a shuttle service to the cruise terminal. We got dropped off right at the terminal and were picked up promptly when we returned. I can say that the walk down the street was not as long as i originally thought and we made the trip to Harrahs and the French quarter twice on the day we stayed.

Look forward to staying at this location next time we are in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Book the cruise package you basically park for fre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank electric124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    513
    124
    49
    25
See reviews for
469
384
62
601
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

They are not kidding when they say, "this is not your typical Hampton Inn." I have stayed at 4 & 5 star resorts and I have to say - this hotel room itself was nicer than my hotel room in Puerto Rico and the French Quarter style courtyard/pool area is very relaxing at night. It is a historic building and the remodel on it is modern and casually elegant, they left the brick facades in the main areas and it really looks great. The room was oversized, in my opinion and nicely appointed with a chair and couch in addition to the workspace area and kitchenette with dishes.The exercise room is a dream come true for people that like to stay in shape on the road: free weights, 4 different medicine balls, 3 different swiss balls, various cardio equipment, weight machines, etc. They put a great variety into a modestly small area. Staff was ok; the valet process (not the staff) and the day time manager were less than pleasant. We had issues because of the vehicle we were driving - 99.9% of most people do not show up with a trailer, so please don't let my disappointment here sway your judgement at all. Also, it is withing walking distance to the French Quarter, but it is over a mile. We are active people, so it did not bother us at all, but if you are traveling for pleasure - with grandparents and children - you might want to use your car or take a bus.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loves2tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascocita, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here on a short trip to New Orleans on our way to Destin, FL. From the moment we got there, we were helped with everything. The valets were super courteous, iced lemon water awaited us to cool us from the summer heat along with fresh cookies. The rooms were clean, and spacious. We had the front desk call for us a cab and took it to the French Quarter which was $8 (we took one both ways) And after the hurricanes and hand grenades :) decided to order pizza to the room. The front desk had an entire packet of places to order from and were super helpful. Next time we stay in New Orleans, we are definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizzBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Great building. Rooms were expansive and nicely decorated. A healthy 1 mile walk to FQ, which was adventuresome in 90 degree weather. Would definitely return but will drive to FQ next time!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Was part of a tour group (Travelsphere) so can't comment on value for money, but what a great hotel! Friendly staff, from the bell boys thru to the ladies replenishing breakfast. Complimentary coffee/cookies in the lobby, free wi-fi, spacious rooms which are kept spotless!! Just across from the convention center its about 15-20 minute walk to the French Quarter, but pass plenty of restaurants en-route. All in all New Orleans is a great city and this is a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JollyHols38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Across the street from the convention center - but not easy to find. We ended up on the bridge across the Mississippi. We turned around and had to pay a toll to get back. There are lots of narrow one-way streets in the area. Valet parking is not cheap (about $30) but our total cost including it and taxes was only $120 since we got an AARP discount. Considering the quality and location it was definitely a bargain.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

As a HHonors member I've stayed at a number of different Hilton family properties in the New Orleans area and feel that this is one of the best, especially for the price.

The rooms are pretty standard Hampton Inn. The flat panel HDTV was nice and about half of the channels were Hi Def which is still uncommon. The only downside was the carpet needed a good steam cleaning as all of our socks were quickly dirty after walking around. And the window baseboard A/C units were noisier than average.

The staff was very helpful. Every interaction with housekeeping, front desk and other staff was pleasant.

The breakfast buffet was pretty standard Hampton Inn but the staff works hard at maintaining everything. Even when completely slammed on a weekend morning they keep everything stocked. Plus they don't pull everything back at exactly 10:00:01 AM which other properties do.

The lobby and public areas have extra character as the hotel retained the original feel of the buildings.

The hotel has 5 elevators spread around so there is rarely a wait. Some of the other Hilton family hotels in New Orleans have a real problem at high traffic times that result in 2-3+ minute waits for a car.

The $30/night valet parking fee is pretty awfully steep for this part of the city. I’d understand this charge in the CBD, during Mardi Gras and/or big conventions. It’s a bummer that they can’t adjust it with demand or offer a cheaper self-park option.

One of the nights there was an outdoor concert at the “Sugar Mills” venue which went until almost 2:30am. This is one block away from the hotel and all the rooms facing the park were treated to loud music until early in the morning. I’d recommend checking with the hotel staff if there is an upcoming show and securing a room not facing that way.

Despite a few bumps, the Hampton Inn-Convention Center is on my short list of New Orleans hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dweebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing