We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several areas should be addressed for better rating....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, AL
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Several areas should be addressed for better rating....”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This stay was part of a cruise package. We were excited to stay here...GREAT ratings and close to the cruise terminal. Check in was methodical and slightly time consuming. The lobby was clean and neat and the concierge was friendly and informative. Upon getting off on our floor our initial response was that the floor was uncomfortably COLD! We entered our room and were pleasantly surprised. HUGE room. LOTS of space and amenities. The room was also cold and we set the thermostat and had no more temperature problems in our room. We put away our things and headed downstairs.

GREAT pool area. Very nice area and comfortable. It would have been great if the bar would have been open. It didn't open until 5pm. We changed clothes and walked down to Mulate's to eat supper which was REALLY good. We returned to the hotel after supper wanted to watch this Saturday nights football games and have a few drinks in the bar. The bar area was cold as ice as was the lobby. So uncomfortable we couldn't stand it so no drinks and headed to our room and the whole hotel was cold. We decided to watch the game in our room and found that the TV was at a right angle to both the bed AND the sitting area. There was a pole exactly in front of both the bed AND sitting area and it would have been a great place to mount the flat screen tv.

The bathroom was well equipped and was clean. There was a pretty good frayed area of the carpeting where the carpet meets the bathroom tile that needed taking care of.

The shuttle took us the short distance to the cruise terminal with no problems. Once arriving back at the terminal after the cruise we called to have the shuttle pick us up and return us to the hotel to pick up our car. After waiting about an hour, we never saw the shuttle so we took a taxi. The desk clerk refunded my money for the taxi and said the shuttle came to the terminal and did't see us. I don't see how we missed it....

Funny...during our cruise we met several others staying here the night before the cruise. Before I could even comment their first statement were how cold all public areas were at this hotel. I just had to wonder how management never noticed it but six separate guests did.

This was by no means an inexpensive stay so I feel the short-comings hurt a little more than they would for a less expensive establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    530
    126
    49
    25
See reviews for
484
390
65
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The lobby of this Hampton has character and class. It's an old warehouse and great care was taken to preserve its heritage. It has high ceilings, original wood floors, and exposed ductwork. The warehouse/arts district bosts several excellent restaurants, clubs and galleries, and is close to Riverwalk and the Convention Center. But the hotel is a good 20-25 minute walk to the heart of the French Quarter -- farther to Frenchman Street.

Stay here if you love great bedding, large rooms and modern bathrooms, a good full breakfast and low price, and love to walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The outside of this building may not look particularly inviting, but the inside has a great deal of character from lobby to suite. I believe parts of the building used to be an old cotton mill. You will enjoy the character at a very reasonable price for New Orleans. Nice selection of breakfast items as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelapple11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Wanted to stay just far enough away from the French Quarter to be able to walk there if I wanted. This location is easy access to highway, right across from the Convention Center and Cruise Ship area. It was a nice 15 minute walk to French Quarter. Just minutes away from the Riverwalk, an indoor mall area which took you right to the Ferry Landing. Rooms were clean and updated. Parking was valet parking in covered garage. Walking distance to restaurants and Casinos.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylsol77042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

If in New Orleans and needing to be near the Convention Center stay at this Hampton Inn. It's a unique venue in that the hotel is in an old warehouse. It's the only Hampton I've ever stayed at that has a bar in the lobby. The rooms are large and well kept. If you are attending something at the convention center this is a great hotel to stay at. It's right across the street. The staff is great. I arrived in NOLA about 6 PM and while in the taxi from the airport I got a message from the manager asking if he could check me in while on my way to the hotel. First time for that. When asked about dinner recommendations (near the hotel rather than in the French Quarter) that staff had lots of choices. I opted for Dino's Bar and Grill which is a block and a half from the front door. Dino's is a nice neighborhood bar and grill with a very friendly staff. The hotel is also about a 5 minute walk from Mulate's - a favorite NOLA eatery. I'd highly recommend this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Go for the park side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirginiaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
700 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Would recommend strongly great location and good value valet parking. Got this at 89 dollars

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motorcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

If you are attending a convention, this location is fantastic. You are literally across the street!

I spent 4 nights here. The staff were welcoming and helpful from the minute I walked in. Top marks for them.

My room (465) was average. Ok size and clean but the AC was quite noisy and had a musty smell if on vent. Probably has mold in the condenser. I did find the room quiet.

The main floor common areas are quite nice. Great spot for their breakfast. You can also sit and meet with colleagues or pop in for a beer or wine at the end of the day. My only recommendation would be to restrict smoking on the pool patio. I wanted to have a drink out there in the evening but the flock of smokers was a turn off.

You can walk to the French Quarter in about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't take the airport bus unless you have time to spare! It look 90 minutes inbound for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maplehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#38 of 164 in New Orleans
908 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,420 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
2,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing