We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Orleans Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great New Orleans Property!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Only needed a hotel room for one night but would have loved to stay at this great property for several more! Having spent lots of time in New Orleans over the last 4 decades and having seen many of the old abandoned warehouses over the years, it's great to see what can be done when restoring these great historical properties. The hotel has all the New Orleans atmosphere one would expect. The beautiful courtyard area and pool area, along with all the exposed brick and hardwood floor interiors epitomize historic New Orleans. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The lobby area and breakfast buffet area are certainly a step above the average Hampton Inn. Although the hotel was almost booked to capacity, it was amazingly quiet. Our room had a great view of the park across the street. We will certainly stay here again for future trips to the Big Easy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    531
    127
    49
    25
See reviews for
489
390
65
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glade Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed the night before a cruise departure. Picked for the location & proximity to cruiseport, and you couldn't be closer if you had business at the Convention Center either. Excellent TripAdvisor reviews confirmed our choice, and we were not disappointed! Spacious converted warehouse historic lobby made for a dramatic entrance. Desk clerk was super-friendly and informative. Room was spotless. Lobby bar was handy for a quick libation before dinner. (For dinner, try Emeril's original on Tchoupitoulas St., just a few blocks away). The breakfast bar at the Hampton was one of the most spacious we've encountered, with a full and excellent selection. Yes, the valet parking is expensive, as it is at just about any big-city, downtown hotel anywhere. For your weeklong cruise parking, the Fulton Place Parking Center, with free shuttle, is only a block away from the Hampton. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sageranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Don't let the exterior of the hotel fool you. New Orleans has a movement to preserve historic buildings and this hotel in in one of those buildings. A converted warehouse/factory from one of New Orleans' historic business, the hotel is nicely decorated inside and newly renovated inside. Walking through the lobby, you'd feel you're in New Orleans right away. My room was clean, had an LCD TV, couch and the kitchenette. Did not hear any noise in the halls from my room - and I stayed during Halloween night! For business travelers like me, the business center has the latest computers and a real copy and print machine from Xerox (one like in the office). This hotel also has one of the nicest breakfast areas I've been to in a Hampton Inn and breakfast that morning was excellent.
Cons? It's quite a walk to the usual tourist spots but definitely not that far. Area is pretty safe at night to walk due to lots of foot traffic even at night. Definitely the place to stay for me if you have business in the convention center across the street. Parking is only by valet, and the fee is a bit steep ($30) but that's pretty standard in downtown hotels in major cities.
Good value - will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Our group of four travelers stayed in a suite here at the Hampton. The building is beautiful and from the start, we felt very welcome. Our suite was spacious and we were very comfortable. The surrounding area has some restaurants and cafes and it was an easy walk to the Central Business District. The free breakfast was great and on more than one day, we enjoyed the opportunity to drink our coffee by the outdoor pool and enjoy the sunshine. The concierge was friendly and offered very good suggestions to us. I would absolutely return to this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the old side, recommend it -- lots of period charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaceTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

On a birthday trip to New Orleans we stayed at the Hampton Inn at the convention center. I read the trip advisor reviews and was not dissapointed. The property is well kept and clean. The room was clean and spotless. The breakfast bar was very good. My only complaint is the expensive cost of the parking. It really should be free, not the $30 per night they are charging. Overall, I would choose to stay here again while visiting the Big Easy!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caligirlAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked here solely because of the outstanding Trip Advisor reviews. None of them overstated the excellence of this property! Entering the large and beautiful lobby was like entering an old movie of the days when hotels represented elegance and the lush life. It invites guests to sit and relax and visit a bit. We did manage to take time for just that after the very good breakfast the next morning. The room was nicely appointed and so clean that this somewhat obsessive clean-nik was duly pleased! The desk clerk Chris rates a 50 out of 10 stars for his friendliness, kindness, eagerness to help us in any way he could, and especially for his instruction to "go out and enjoy [his] city"! The bartender, too, was gracious and eager to help us make the most of his hometown. The bar was a lovely bonus, and the pool was a perfect way for families with children to let them burn off a little steam in the midst of a big city not really ideal for touring with children. We will return and can't wait to do so!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcoates50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights partly for fun and partly to attend a conference which was conveniently located at the convention center across the street. Our room was clean and had nice furnishings. We had a horrible view of a lower roof top but we weren't in the room much to care. Some other people we knew there were complaining about noise and thin walls. Our room was situated behind the elevator shaft which did produce a low muffled sound in the room but I decided we should put up with that rather than risk being moved next to noisy neighbors. I get the sense in this town, no matter what hotel, you are subject to noisy hallways and guests. Its within walking distance of the French Quarter and after a long night of taking in the libations down there people can get a little rowdy.

I loved the location. Walkable to everything...French Quarter, Riverwalk, WWII museum (which was fabulous by the way), warehouse/arts district with ecclectic eateries, etc. The garden district was a short tram ride away. We hardly ever needed a taxi and we did not bother keeping a car there. No need for it unless you plan to leave the city.

The lobby area of the hotel is wonderful. Big and open, apparently the building is a historic warehouse. The staff was pleasant. The breakfast was above par for a hotel of this category. Overall a nice experience. For the price and convenience of location we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA_Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#40 of 164 in New Orleans
917 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,427 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing