We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location from French Quarter!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location from French Quarter!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were here for our 25th wedding anniversary. Our room a King Junior was spacious and comes with a small kitchenette and a big refrigerator. At checked in we were given a buy one get one free Happy hour voucher. The front desk staff were very nice but the housekeeping could show a little friendliness. French Quarter is only about 10 minutes walk. Breakfast in the morning is your typical Hampton inn and suites breakfast. Staff at breakfast were real efficient. Everything that was low they try to fill up as fast as they can. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for the location and for the price! You will get your money's worth!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    504
    122
    49
    24
See reviews for
455
381
62
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Great, reasonable place to stay. Close to WWII museum and walkable to the French Quarter. Agree with others on the boring breakfast. The coffee was good, though and there was plenty of seating in an enjoyable space. Staff was friendly, rooms clean, and building is beautiful.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel with my husband and 3 kids for a combined business trip/vacation. Can't say enough good things. The hotel is beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful, and there are a lot of good places to eat (especially Cochin Butcher for sandwiches) within walking distance. It was about a mile walk to the French Quarter which no one minded. Also close to the Aquarium of the Americas, a great morning with the family. My only complaint was the rather boring and tasteless breakfast buffet. Not in the spirit of NOLA, but all the employees working at it were very helpful. Wish it was a little closer to the french quarter, but that can't be helped. A great place to retire after a long day exploring NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank J2722ADroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
599 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a really great hotel on a great location! My room was lovely, clean, very comfortable. Public spaces of this hotel are quite unique and wonderful. Lovely staff working there - from Front Office to Housekeeping. Everyone was very polite. I also like the atmosphere, hotel had a different, almost historical feeling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InterMMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel is on good location, just 10- 15 minutes walk to French Quarter. Rooms were ok, and breakfast was good enough. Staff was very friendly and always ready to help. Only reason why I would not give this hotel a maximum score is the condition of lobby and elevators when we arrived in hotel (I must point out that it was very late at night) . There was puke inside elevators. So this was not good first impression, but later everything was ok. If you find good deal it is definitely hotel that I can recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BundyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great. Nice, clean and staff is awesome. Truly a hospitable nature is engrained in everyone I interacted with from the front desk, bellman and housekeeping. It's a short walk to the Julia station (streetcar) which you can take you to canal street and then your just a short walk to bourbon street!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtneyvaughn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were originally going to stay at a higher end Hilton brand closer to the central business district, but this Hampton Inn looked fairly convenient too and the price was much better--with double Hilton points. I have no regrets on downgrading, and really didn't even feel like this was a Hampton Inn. It is a very attractive building, converted from something industrial, according to the TV channel. The staff was friendly - the front desk people were all very nice and one was quite amusing with his directions. The room was clean, bed comfy and the shower very nice. The provided hairdryer could be a bit more powerful. A little bit of noise from neighbors on Sat. night, but it is New Orleans, so not shocking and it certainly wasn't excessive. The breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn one with the waffle maker. It got VERY crowded on the weekend days and there was a line for the hot food, and literally needed 4 - 5 staff members just to keep up with refilling trays and emptying the garbage. But they kept up.
The Warehouse District has a ton of great restaurants nearby, although you can't go wrong with food anywhere in New Orleans. If you're planning on going beyond the world of the Convention Center, just be prepared to walk a bit. The closest streetcar station is about 4 blocks away or it's about 20 min to get to the French Quarter on foot. I personally liked being away from the 24/7 craziness of the French Quarter/casinos and exploring the Warehouse and Garden Districts.
I didn't check out the gym here, and the pool looked nice although it was too cold to utilize it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank porkchop1496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing