We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of the shuttle to the port that they offered. We were hoping to walk to the port but with the convention center located across the street you have to walk several blocks and sidewalks are limited so opt.for the shuttle. The building is a remodeled cotton factory and is gorgeous! Upon leaving the airport the taxi took us straight to the motel door and we were met by the valet taking our luggage and asking about our flight, he took us to the front desk where we were greeted by smiling faces. After checking in they made sure we had everything we needed including transportation around the French Quarter. The location was great for the port but a bit of walking required to get to the heart of the French Quarter. The room was beautiful and clean everything we needed and the beds unlike other motels(it was comfortable!) We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AugustGoldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,971 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Being an avid Hilton guy, this was a real gem. The old style character when you walk in is very attractive. Lots to look at and the updated furnishings really made this a joy. The two downsides were the local construction making arrival at the hotel confusing and difficult. Also, there were some partiers in the middle of the night which prompted a call to the front desk. The second night was much better and enjoyable. The rooms (5th floor) were large, beautifully decorated and the typical [extremely] comfortable Hampton bed. Lighting in the room is a bit of a challenge and could use more. However, this did not sway our decision or comfort. The breakfast is typical Hampton and plentiful. There were more folks attending breakfast than I typically see at other Hampton's. The staff kept everything fully furnished and refreshed with all the good choices. Not the best area for outdoor walking at night but is certainly not hard to get there by taxi if needed.

Room Tip: Until road construction is completed, the street side rooms might not be your best choice if you int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel was great in that the rooms were clean, comfortable and sleep was good. Considering I manufacture mattresses by hand, I can say I slept very well here. I cannot brag enough about the staff, they were accommodating, friendly, efficient and very dedicated to their work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Really comfortable, trendy hotel in the warehouse district. Far enough away from the French quarter to be quiet, but not too far to walk.
Try and get a room on the higher floors, according to the rest of our tour group the higher rooms are better as the fittings are that bit newer.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscarsgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. First of all, the beds are super comfortable which you don't really get at all hotels. Secondly, the continental breakfast was EXCELLENT! I was really impressed by the quality of service overall. It's also in a really great location. It's far enough away from the French Quarter but close enough to where you can easily walk there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a group of 14 going on a spring break cruise and wanted to stay at a Hilton affiliated hotel near the port the night before and the night after. We booked using Hilton points and I think we were upgraded at check in due to my husband's diamond status. Our room was ideal for a family of four or more. It was a suite with two high beds (I can't remember if they were full or queen), a sofa, two TVs and a small kitchen. Between the two rooms was a large vanity area separated from the toilet and shower, which was great. The beds were very comfortable. We were in room 316 which is at the end of a hall and it was very quiet. The room had brick walls and very tall ceilings. The carpet and furniture was a little worn, but it really kind of added to the charm of the hotel. For being a Hampton Inn, this hotel had a great feel. The rest of my family was in the non-suite side of the hotel, and those rooms seemed a little newer and were just standard hotel sized rooms. After the cruise, we were thrilled to be assigned the same room again, and after a week of living in a tiny cruise cabin, the suite seemed enormous. I think my parents were upgraded on this second night, too. They were in room 416 above us, and had the same style of suite.

The staff was very friendly. On our return visit, the concierge helped us pick a bus tour of the city and made those arrangements for us and the hotel even picked up $10 of each ticket. He was very helpful with all of our questions.

If you stay here on a Saturday night, you should expect a very large crowd at breakfast Sunday morning. The proximity to the cruise port makes this a popular hotel for those who are cruising out on Sundays. Breakfast was just standard hotel breakfast. Other reviewers before me have mentioned the waffle issue in play here. No waffle is worth waiting in line for. :) I think next time, I would go out for breakfast and skip the crowd.

If you are cruising and need a shuttle to the port, you will need to arrange that with the front desk the night before. Early times filled up fast. There were a lot of folks all trying to get to the port at the same time and the staff managing this was very patient. (the cruisers were, too) Unrelated to the hotel but worth mentioning to future cruisers, I don't think I would try to get on the boat until later in the day if I were to cruise again. (I probably will not cruise again, but that is another review altogether. ha ha) Our shuttle time to the port was at 11. We were on the ship by noon and we didn't leave port until 6. I knew by 4:00 that I was not cut out for a Carnival cruise.

You can walk from this hotel to the French Quarter, but we opted to take a cab after the first night. We went two times and I think we paid $8 & $11, not counting the tip. The $11 was going to Cafe du Monde, and we had to make a stop along the way to pick up someone. The men in the group walked to the WW2 museum and it was maybe a ten minute walk. (they loved the museum, too)

I would love to visit New Orleans again for a long weekend and would absolutely stay at this Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Let me preface this by letting you know that if you plan to spend most of your time in the quarter, this is not the hotel for you. We had to walk a lot to get there.

The hotel is absolutely lovely. Gorgeous building, lovely lobby, excellent valet service, which is prohibitively expensive at $27+ a night. Check in was easy, and there is a little market room to purchase snacks. The rooms are lovely and well appointed, the bathrooms nice. The AC worked great. Elevators were fast, and it really is about 50 feet from the convention center. It was very convenient. Check out was just as convenient.

Breakfast is lovely, and varies from day to day. It's a full breakfast, with eggs, meat, fresh fruit, side dishes, and replenished frequently.

To be honest, my only criticism of this hotel is the AC in the hallways and main rooms. It had to be about 90 degrees in the hallways. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,628 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#35 of 167 in New Orleans
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center

Address: 1201 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA 70130-8904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £84 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored property housed in a historic landmark building, the Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center provides unique, luxurious accommodations in an ideal location. Set amid the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, across from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, our upscale New Orleans hotel is the perfect home base for business travelers. It's also situated near popular leisure attractions, including Riverwalk Market Place, Louisiana Children's Museum, National World War II Museum, Riverboat Cruises and the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. With spacious, beautifully-appointed rooms, free Wi-Fi, a hot daily breakfast, premium amenities and good, old-fashioned Southern hospitality, our New Orleans Convention Center hotel provides an unforgettable lodging experience in one of the world's most unforgettable destinations. Don't forget to visit our Warehouse Bar, located in the lobby, during your stay. The historic and laid back atmosphere is a great place to unwind after a long day and to gather with friends to enjoy a few cocktails before hitting the town. Not to mention all guest 21+ will receive a buy one, get one free drink coupon at check-in! The Warehouse Bar is open daily from 5-11 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Convention Center
Hampton Inn & Hotel New Orleans
Hampton Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing