We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or Halfway House”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #147 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel or Halfway House”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

For $100 a night, you would expect a little more.... My wife and I slept in a twin bed with the 12 inch TV dangling on the ceiling just above the foot of the bed. The restroom.... well it had a public toilet appeal to it. Had to use your foot to force the toilet to flush.

Not cool.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RedstickNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We never claimed to be the Hilton. If you paid 100 dollars it was surely on a special event weekend where the rest of the city was charging twice, thrice, or even quadruple our prices. We are glad you were able to find a hotel like us who could accommodate you for such a low price. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    34
    30
    137
See reviews for
18
70
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niceville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This place is at the hood of new orleans. I was dissappointed coz when I checked in they ask me for a $10 deposit then when I get to the room it was so hot coz they did not turn the AC on and the room is small, the tv is very tiny, they only give you 1 towel and 1 face towel. The horrible thing is that when its time to check out, you better check out before 12 noon or you won't get your $10 deposit. One more thing, dont leave even just one small stain on the towels and sheets or they are going to charge you for it! What a dissappointment that they would rather charge you for the towels and sheets than try and make you come back for the next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dejavu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We do charge for absolutely ruined linen. We feel that there is no reason to destroy our linen unless you do so out of spite. We do offer any guest who ruins linen the opportunity to clean their own linen before they leave, at which time they will not be charged. We do not find this unreasonable. We are sorry you feel differently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My boyfriend and I were in town for the Essence Music Festival and selected the selected the empress hotel for the great cost and close proximity to the french quarter (just a two block walk). I have read reviews prior to making reservations, but the nightly rate was too good for me to pass up.

We arrive, the exterior looked pretty decent, as did the lobby. While going through the process of checking in, we were told that there was a $10 deposit required of all guests- the deposit is to ensure compliance to hotel rules. I was a bit turned off by this surprise fee (as it was not mentioned to me during previous communications with staff), but I could understand why such measures were necessary. On to the room -

It'll help for you to know that it was 96 degrees (F), with a heat index of 110 degrees. On the second floor, where our room was located, there is NO A/C in hallway - they also keep the balcony doors open around the clock, so there's never any real relief when the weather is on "Hell".

We enter our room - it was even more unbearable than the hallway! There is a small a/c unit of prehistoric design, which is immediately turned on upon our entry. The accomodations are meager; small room, possibly 10ft X10ft, equipped with a small bed, chair, nightstand, portion of rug, a mirror and then the bathroom. My boyfriend and I decide to give the a/c a chance to work while check out the city and, much to our dismay, the clerk informs us that THE A/C IN NOT ALLOWED TO RUN WHEN NO OCCUPANTS ARE IN THE ROOM. <-- In 100 degree heat!! We later found out that throughout the day, front desk clerks enter each room with the sole purpose of turning of a/c units! And forget the fact that it takes at least 2hours of constant running for even the most minute of temperature change to occur!

Further exploration turned up dirty pillowcases; The toilet lever was ghetto-rigged ( you had to lift up and rotate level for 10 seconds or so before the commode flushed); The tub had a slow drain - I mean, this place was just awful.

They don't have an ice machine - instead you must purchase ice from the front desk - $5.00 per bag! Laughable!

And this, this takes the cake - after a night of partying, we return to our room, I enter the bathroom to find a COCKROACH crawling along the perimeter of the bathtub!

As for the other guests we encountered during our stay - "unkempt" is perhaps the best term to use. Dressed in dingy wear, hair untamed and in need of washing....they rent our rooms by the hour. I can just imagine how much of their business comes from the patronage of prostitutes.

If you're only looking for a place to secure your luggage and are willing to lower your standards in regard to service, then this place will address your needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room on the first floor. At least there will be A/C in the hallways~
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
There are a lot of falsehoods in this review. We charge .25 cents per bag of ice. We do not have hourly rentals. A/Cs for non extended stay guests are able to be left on. We are sorry you were not aware of the actualities of the stay. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Are you people delusional I live and work in New Orleans this hotel is horrible ridden with hookers, drug addicts and murderers please do not be fooled with those pictures that place is horrible white female just overdosed in the bathroom three days ago, and when you get there to see you have been duped you will not get your money back you will get the runaround and you will lose. The staff is rude and the rooms smell like urine. But you don’t have to take my word for it you will see then think back to my message. Anybody who have been there know what I’m talking about it’s a horrible place!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank livesinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Our hotel is not ridden with drug addicts, hookers and murderers. This is ridiculous. And we do have a normal refund policy in step with a generous cancellation policy. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hotel is exactly what you pay for.....My friends and I wanted a Nice Cheap place to stay and the Empress was the choice...When we arrived the had a nice clean parking lot that was monitored which i LOVED! When we enter the hotel we were greeted by a very nice clerk. she answered all of our questions and told us alot of places to see and check out while we were in town. And i kinda loved the fact that they wanted us to leave the key cause i'd sure misplace it lol. The room was very clean and cozy. it was a very pleasent stay. The hotel was very quiet..seemed like a nice litte hotel. i recommened you stay at this hotel if you want to save your money and just want somewhere to crash..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadaturnerbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you! Come stay again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchitoches, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The Empress is a small hotel that has clean rooms, friendly staff, free parking off the street (hard to find) and helpful staff. They told me some places to go when I asked and how to stay safe in The Quarter. I was comfortable with a homey feel. It's quaint and nice. Very close to The Quarter and convenient to restaurants, etc. There's a neat balcony to sit outside on and enjoy the day or night. It's reasonable and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor71457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you! :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We booked two single rooms, when we went in the rooms, there was a very strong urine smell, absolutely could not stay there. The clerk said she would not refund any money although we only stepped in the room and prompty left. DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE
We were lucky to find a room elsewhere, and had to forfeit the cost of the room

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveler2245034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
If there was an issue with the room we would have been happy to move you. Please address any concerns to the front desk clerk. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#110 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#91 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#102 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2309
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing