We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #147 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Edgewater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont stay here”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I booked before Hurricane Sandy- after the airports were closed. I was unable to contact the hotel. When I finally contacted the next week, they told me they were without power. They refused to refund any money or give me a credit. I contacted Better Business Bureau and they refused to respond to them. I should have read the reviews before I even booked.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Darlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
There is a generous cancellation policy in place on all reservations. We only ask that both parties abide by what they agree to abide by when booking (or setting up booking). Unfortunately the Empress Hotel can not predict acts of God. Louisiana has hurricanes, California earthquakes, etc etc. We also can not control Entergy, our city power company (although trust, we wish we could!) Sorry we couldn't accommodate you during that particular time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    34
    30
    137
See reviews for
18
70
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Arrive after dark, need a key to get through the door. Desk clerk looks like Milky from Me, Myself and Irene... wearing a white apron... behind a glass wall. When you go into the room, the bed might as well be on the floor, with a 1980s comforter, and one pillow. NO BOX SPRING, just mattress sitting on the frame. The tv was the size of an ipad, and bolted to the wall. Space heater... AC unit in the window. The bathroom- you could see the toilets pipes outside the wall, the shower curtain was nailed to the wall on one side, so you couldn't steal it. One towel... One bar of soap. Room was about 10x10 if you are lucky. In a horrible part of town for "out of towners" NOT easily accessible to bourbon st.... NON REFUNDABLE FIRST NIGHT!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. It is a one star economy Euro-style hotel...not a four star hotel. That being said, it's small, clean, and great for the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

ok..i see all the bad reviews here.now i stayed here for a week in march,1 night in dec,and 3 nights during jan.for the bad review people let me explain this.hotels in new orleans are $200-300 a night,this place is $55.let me tell you what to expect the rooms are small and not super clean,drunks/bar people,some less fortunate people walking around outside,maybe a gay person or 2,its only a place to sleep.im sick of the" its not like the holiday inn".well its a mom and pop motel.say you want to go out for a drink.you can go to bw3 or harry buffalo and pay out the butt for a drink and food.if you choose you can go down to the local s-hole corner bar for a third of the price thats what this is compared to.the neighborhood is SAFE unless youve never left your $300,000 home type neighborhood. the people are friendly the service is good.its 3 min walk to food,gas,bourbon st,liquer stores.i love this hotel and will continue to stay here every time i go down.this motel is not for children and wealthy people. recommened use for this motel is for party/bar people,college kids,people like me that dont have money,and people that just dont give a you know what about where they sleep.only thing this motel needs is some remodeling and updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dennis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you. We look forward to hosting you again. We love our neighborhood and our guests, and are glad you enjoyed yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Simple backpackers room with small bathroom. That’s it. No more. Coffee is provided in the morning... The whole place is barely surface clean. The décor was predictably shabby, off white, chipped corners & grime. Bed had a roll-together mattress. There were odd & unidentifiable stains on the linen bedframe & the sack-cloth base had been torn at sometime. A rug gave the illusion of some warmth but on closer inspection it had been cut in half to double its value - missing section hidden from view at doorway. Even TV setup could not escape criticism. Viewing only possible from right hand side of bed so we decided it was easier to read. Apart from a very basic table, the only other thing in the room was the air conditioner fitted below the window. The unit was deafening & powered on by use of the reset & test buttons of a surge plug. The bathroom had that desperate misery about it. The sink had a long history of limescale abuse & lazy scouring.

An experience… but what can you expect for a room two blocks from the French Quarter at fifty dollars a night.

Room Tip: There isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fred0976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are absolutely the best deal in town for the area. We are happy you stayed with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This was much better than I was expecting having read some of the reviews online! Staff here were cool, really helpful and laid back guys/girls. Location is excellent, I liked this area a lot, about 7(?) or more blocks south on Ursulines you've got the Croissant D'or patisserie for breakfast - fantastic! My only complaints are that my room smelled of cigarettes and the air con was noisey. It's a good price, I got a good sleep, it's got WiFi. It suited me just fine on my own in town for a conference. Decent guesthouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Glad you loved the location! Hope you stay with us again :) Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is the worst place I have every stayed. Dirty, bad neighbor, and the staff is not very friendly. This place is ready to be demolished. If you go to the French Quarter be prepared for a long walk back in the dark in a not very safe neighberhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would expect that guests use the same precaution when traveling on foot at night as they would in New York or Chicago or any other big city. Take a taxi if it's late. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I try usually to be fair however the word coming to mind is - Dump. Spend an extra $20 and go stay at the holiday Inn or the Best western down the street. Its not 2 block away from the French Quarter as such more like 4 and you wouldnt want to walk home after 9pm on your own... I will say for a old hotel with paint peeling from the walls that the room was clean by a lovely young man who did a good job.. the night clerk was nice and rather sweet and tried to put a smile on things...sadly that didnt make up for my room which had springs coming out of the mattress till i complained...the bedding has seen better days. there is a tiny window about 2 feet by 1.5 feet so you feel like youve been buried in a tomb...horrible
If i could have recieived a refund from my booking agent AGODA i would have moved immeadiantly as i booked for a week...sadly Agoda was not helpful and i will no longer use or recommend this site for further travel bookings...
Do yourself a favour and dont stay here...

Room Tip: theres no such thing as a good room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
"theres no such thing as a good room in this hotel" We are bothered by this..one can not possibly know that. We are sorry that you had a bad stay. We are happy that you found your room clean and the staff friendly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#113 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#86 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#102 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#93 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#74 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2309
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing