We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looked at the Room and Ran!!”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #147 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Looked at the Room and Ran!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2005

Can you spell N-A-S-T-Y? Thank God we were able to look at the room before we actually took our bags out of the car. What we thought was a bell hop was a king size roach. When we walked in I was thinking, okay, the closet is a nice size, but why is there a bed in here? Then we were told that this was the room. So we asked to see one of the larger rooms, again, we were told that we had just stepped into the room, or more like the Twilight Zone. What I thought was a small mirror, turned out to be a TV. The sheets looked like they were standing up greeting us when we walked into the door, and the smell was not the aroma that I was hoping to be enhaling while staying there. My lungs seemed to shut down on me. So my husband and I stepped out side to "think" about it and burned off like the road runner, I think we left skid marks outside. We decided not to chance our car being stolen, or our body contracting something and headed further East on I-10 and actually found a La Quinta for $44.00 a night.... The Empress wanted to charge us $57.00 a night. No thank you!

The lady that was helping us was a pleasant woman and I think she was only there because work is work.....

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
108 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    34
    30
    137
See reviews for
18
70
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2005

Booked a room here for my mom and myself through one of the well-known discount websites. No pictures of the hotel on this site, but I figured the hotel must be okay if it was advertised on this site. I couldn't have been more wrong. When we got there I just wanted to go home. I realized why that was the only hotel I could find that had availability. The parking is free - I guess they feel too bad about the location of the hotel, which is in the worst neighborhood in the city, to charge you for it. Our room was about as big as a closet. One small bed - said to be a double but I had doubts. There was no closet or hangers. Once we had our suitcases in the room there wasn't any room to move around, despite the fact that the small bed was pushed up against the wall. Our bedding was old and smelly and the bedspread had cigarette holes all over it. The bathroom was beyond filthy - I would have felt cleaner taking a bath at the sink at a public restroom. The door had a tiny, flimsy lock on it. The hallway smelled like sewerage - like a toilet had backed up - and the smell got worse every day. The tiny window in our room that had bars on it and didn't open overlooked what must have been a garden years ago. The TV had two channels, no cable, no remote. No radio in the room. I felt like I was in jail. Usually when I go to New Orleans I've had such a busy and tiring day that I can't wait to get back to my hotel room at night to rest, but this particular stay I just wanted to stay away. Do yourself a favor and sleep in your car if you have to.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
89 Thank frenchqtrchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 May 2005

No clock, no phone, no closet, no clothes rod, no glasses, no cable, no carpet, broken shower rod, grimy floors, thin rough towels which the maid only remembered to replace half the time, old stained sheets that are not changed each morning, clogged shower, dirty old toilet, no fan, no openable windows, old musty airconditioner. Gross.

Nice staff.

Probably impossible to cancel reservations and get your money back as the rules regarding refunds seem to mysteriously change.

Only plus: rooms will make you feel so upset and sick that you'll spend all your time exploring the French Quarter and no time in your room.

Helpful?
75 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 April 2005

The hotel looked creepy and is located in a delapitated block. Our reservation was made directly by phone and a confirmation was faxed back. Upon arriving and paying the airport shuttle fare, there were no ROOMs available. The man at the desk was unprofessional and unhelpful inspite of the fact that he was in the wrong. Here we were 2 women visiting NO for the first time , left stranded. Luckily we pulled our resources and found another hotel for the same a bit further from the French quarter for the same rate. I would not recommend this scroungy looking place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
60 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 April 2005

I ended up staying here because it was cheap - let me warn you it is not worth it if you value your life and your health . we are not the hilton type but rest assured i have never stayed at a place like this - it is really gross. It is so filthy i can not tell you - hairs, bugs , and centipedes . do not sleep on the sheets , i am sure they are contaminated with something . bring a tweezers to strip the bed and your own towels and linens . the carpet looks like it is a hundred years old - the neighborhood is dangerous . the staff was fairly friendly but refused to let us leave without paying for the first nights stay . most people rent it by the week or month . this place is no hotel , it is a flophouse for the lowest members of society . you can find another place that is not that much more really, we did . our cab driver told us it is the grossest place in the city .
people who say this place is clean are out of their minds - stay away !!!!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
80 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 March 2005

Room is small, dirty and it stinks. The bed is the worst. Springs came out from underneath. Definitely won't stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2005

If u want to book the hotel by yourself by calling the hotel directly? Forget it! You will get nothing after a 1-week reservaiton process and even u already give the credit card authoration! The worst thing is you dont even know whether u have ur reservation confirmed because they will ask u to call back again and again and dont tell u anything for 5 days!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#112 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#93 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2309
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing