We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped my family in a time of need.”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #148 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My family had a death and we had to travel to New Orleans for the funeral. We needed a place to stay for a few nights and were told the Empress would be our best bet since our family was on a budget. We went to the Empress, and were amazed at how nice, polite the staff were when we came in. They gave us some of the best service we had since we arrived in New Orleans. The Clerk was friendly and very helpful. Our room was very neat and clean and if we needed anything the clerk was more than happy to help us the best they ccould. The clerk and housekeeper even gave us directions to where ever we wanted to go. It was a great hotel to stay at and I told the rest of my family where we should stay next time we are in New Orleans. The Empress was wonderful to us in our time of need and we will stay there again next time we visit New Orleans. I will let all my friends and family know where to go if there are in this situation.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmsvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We are so very glad that we could be there for you and your family during that time of duress. Please come back and stay with us again. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2010

My wife and I came to New Orleans for the first time this past April. We found this Hotel on the interent and was so happy with the price compared to the other hotels around the Famous French Quarter. This was great because i wanted to save alot of money to take my wife around as it was the first visit. When we came to the hotel we seen its just two blocks from the french quarter which is great seeing as we could just walk and save our gas. Everything you need is in walking distance! The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. There is always a clerk if you need them and when you have to pick up your room key. which is great so i dont have to worry about losing it. The clerk was able to tell us some great places to checkout while we were in town which i thought was very nice. They have coffee every morning on the balcony and a soda and snack machine. The hotel was clean and tidy. i would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to free up there money to enjoy the great sites in new orleans.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_rubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you! We seem to get mixed reviews about the keys. We believe that it is an extra comfort for a guest to not have to worry about a key while they are out enjoying New Orleans. We are in a great location! Please come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Ah-- where to begin---here are a few highlights--
When my husband and I heard of this hotel - it seemed to be an ok place to stay - being reasonably priced and within walking distance to the French Quarter -- nice picture of the outside of the hotel on the site-the desk clerk even said that it was not in the best neighborhood that we should really not walk after 9:00pm--- it was 10.00 more a night for my husband to stay with me in the room-even though they knew he was staying -we got an allowance of one towel a day -and they only came one way - like sand paper!-
he has a lung problem ,in that he doesn't take to the heat well-- we went out for the day and left the a/c running- (as in every hotel we ever stayed in)--when we came back after a fun but HOT and HUMID new orleans day -we opened the door to a wall of heat - they had shut off the air while we were gone!!!!- and note this was not your average hotel a/c - this was a window air conditioner that was at the very least 15 years old! it wasn't even in the window right -we went to complain and the desk clerk she said thats what we do here-i don't own the place i just work here ,theres nothing i can do-- the bathroom was like a rest stop gas station bathroom the shower curtain was like saran wrap and it was nailed to the one side of the shower wall. the bed was hard as a rock under the fitted sheet was a rubber sheet??!! what was that all about?! i shutter to think! -- if we ever go to nola again i will not stay at this hotel -i can't think of one thing that i liked about it --only that it as close to the french quarter--save up a few extra dollars and stay at a DECENT place------honestly---- i wouldn't board my dog here!-- think about it! check out the attached pics--

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soozyq1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We are happy to help any guest who isn't happy with their room. All you have to do is ask the front desk. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Not only is the hotel disgusting as you can see from the photos posted by other guests, but the neighborhood is terrible, and the employees are just plain rude. I don't know how establishments like this are allowed to steal from innocent tourists continuously and regularly. This business makes a mockery of the customer service relationship and should not be allowed to operate. Seriously, please consider yourself warned, a reservation at this hotel will surely leave you unsatisfied and unhappy about your choice!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nolatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We wish for every guest to have a positive and excellent experience. We are saddened to hear that any guest had a bad experience with a clerk, as we really try to hire outgoing, lovely individuals who have excellent, warm personalities. We have a great crew now in 2013. Please come back and see us, you won't be disappointed. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The worst place i have ever stayed at in my life. Super shady and sketchy. Would have rather been better off sleeping on the corner next to a bum.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpecialAgentUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Sorry you didn't like our hotel. We try to accommodate every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed here for Madi Gras and i can honestly say, IT WASN'T THAT BAD... i read all the reviews before i booked this hotel, and i came prepared. i brought sheets, towels and cleaning supplies. the hotel is rather ghetto, for instances they painted the inside of the tub lol and the toliet was the kind you find in public restrooms and flush with your foot. But my main purpose for the hotel was sleeping, and my bed was comfortable, and the shower was extra hot. my only complaint was that i was cold at night, and the walls are paper thin... I felt safe at all times, i dont know where these other people are from that reviewed this hotel, but im from Baltimore, MD and i didnt feel as if it was located in the ghetto, ive seen the ghetto... dont get me wrong it wasnt the best of areas, but we walked home almsot every night and never felt in danger. all these people want to do is get drunk and have fun... so if you take my advice, you will be prepared and should have a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyciroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you! We are happy to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We were looking for a cheaper hotel in New Orleans and stumbled across this hotel. It is closer to a hostel at a 3-star hotel price. The neighbourhood isnt the best. Our shower was quite old and our bed rock solid. It served the purpose for us for 1 night but we wouldnt stay any longer or rush back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
empresshotel00, Public Relations Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

We are a Euro-style hotel, small, 36 rooms. Our prices are still the best in the city. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#116 of 166 in New Orleans
140 reviews
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 166 in New Orleans
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#71 of 166 in New Orleans
295 reviews
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
71 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#142 of 166 in New Orleans
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 1317 Ursulines Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2309
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £71 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Empress Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel New Orleans
Empress New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing