We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #77 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Allenhurst, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay in New Orleans. Very clean rooms and lobby. The staff was very nice and helpful. We were able to check in early without an issue. In walking distance of Bourbon street and the French Quarter. Would recommend this hotel for your next stay on NOLA! Parking is a little high though $34 a day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Orelene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Greetings! thank you for choosing Courtyard marriott downtown near the French Quarter during your most recent stay in New Orleans.

We hope to see you soon in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    243
    80
    22
    17
See reviews for
100
174
28
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights with some friends. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean. Location was perfect - within walking distance to bourbon st, French quarter, and 10 minute bus ride uptown. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad8709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Greetings! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Downtown Near the French Quarter during your most recent stay to New Orleans.

We apprciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon on your next stay in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I had never been to New Orleans so we were looking for a hotel with walking access to the French Quarter. We wanted a Marriott property as we are Marriott reward customers but were also looking for affordable prices. The Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter fit our criteria but what we did not know was how well we would be treated by the staff. We were literally around the block from Canal Street and across the street from the French Quarter. We walked to the Casino downtown as well as to St. Louis Cathedral, Emeril's Nola Restaurant and Cafe Du Monde. We had short cab rides to other restaurants and took a city tour that was arranged by Ericka, one of the hotels front desk people. Ericka and Fiona (another front desk person) were extremely helpful with our stay as were all the hotel staff. Our room was clean and quiet and I took advantage of the very nice workout room and the bistro eatery in the main lobby area. Great stay and would do it again at the Courtyard.

Room Tip: Our room had a queen bed so it was a bit small but was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Greetings! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Downtown Near the French Quarter during your most recent stay to New Orleans.

We apprciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon on your next stay in teh Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We recently stayed here for two nights. We arrived late and found the receptionist very unhelpful. There was nowhere to park and the only option was to park at the Hilton several blocks away.

The bathroom had only a toilet and shower, no bathtub. The basin was outside the bathroom which is more to be expected in a cheap motel, not a four star hotel. The bed was comfortable.

The chambermaid came into our room when I was about to get in the shower. It was still early in the morning and we were not due to check out before 11am. She gave me a fright as I was on my own at the time.

For the money we paid, we were not very impressed and would choose somewhere else if we were to return to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden_honeybee2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Near the French Quarter on your most recent visit to New Orleans!
We apologize for your checkin experience and any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. Our goal is to ensure all our guests have a flawless stay.
Please come visit us agin soon on your next trip to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonawanda, New York, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here for a conference being held at the convention center. It is about 1 mile away and a easy walk. Most conventions provide shuttle service anyway. The hotel is in an ideal location to visit downtown NOLA (New Orleans Louisiana). It is half a block off Canal Street which is one of the main drags and the boundary of the French Quarter. One block up and you are at the infamous Bourbon Street.

Every staff person here greeted me each time I passed them. When I needed help, there were usually at least 2 people offering the help. My room was neat and very clean. The maid even folded a flower out of the TP, instead of just the standard point. Nice touch.

The rooms are a bit on the small size, not surprising for a big city. The one thing I didn't like was that the only window in most rooms is back into the hallway because of the layout and location of the building. I know it provides a bit more light, but I kept the curtains drawn all four days I was there.

If you are going to NOLA to work, eat, shop or just party, this is a good choice. The friendly staff put them over the top. I didn't mind the small room because I was only in it to sleep, and plan my conference schedule for the next day. I didn't need a car, or any other form of transportation to get many fine meals and entertainment. I walked everywhere from here and loved it

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Greetings!


Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Near the French Quarter on your most recent visit to New Orleans!
We look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown,PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice and clean rooms. Location is perfect if staying here during Mardi Gras for the parade passes right in front of the hotel. Walking distance to Bourbon St., Cafe Dumonde, French Market and Jackson Square. Shops and restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIMAY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Greetings!


Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Near the French Quarter on your most recent visit to New Orleans!
We look forward to seeing you soon on your next trip to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location right near Canal and Bourbon street, you don't need a car - can walk everywhere. Desk staff not super friendly, but the rest of house were nice enough. Room were 'okay'. They all face towards an indoor 'courtyard' which means no outside windows or views. However in NOLA this can be a good thing because it can get noisy at night... stayed at the Royal Sonesta once and didn't sleep a wink due to all the partying below. So if you want quiet when it's time to be quiet - this hotel works. Very clean, serviceable and centrally located. Would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Greetings! Thanks for staying at the Courtyard New Orleans Downtown. We appreciate your comments. I can assure you that immediate actions have been taken to improve the service level. All of our associates work hard to provide each of our guests with the utmost personal attention and care. It is rewarding to hear that you were able to find comfort and quietness in our spacious guestrooms. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
2,314 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
1,337 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing