We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #101 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

It was our first visit to New Orleans so we picked this hotel because it was close to Bourbon St. and the French Quarter. We were very happy with our choice. The room was large and very well kept. The breakfasts were great, the staff was friendly and very helpful. And it was walking distance to all the wonderful things New Orleans has to offer. It was right on the trolley line so we got out to further reaches of the city than if we'd had to cab it. We would definitely return there and recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ready2retire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Greetings!

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Downtown Near the French Quarter during your most recent trip to New Orleans.


We are delighted that you had a great experience and hope to see you again soon in the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I love New Orleans and have visited several times. This was our first time to stay at the downtown Courtyard near the French Quarter. Actually, it is mere steps away from the French Quarter - as in just across Canal Street. It is an ideal location, just a block from Bourbon Street and easy walking to all of the great French Quarter restaurants, bars, shops, sights and sounds. And then you can stroll back to your large, quiet, comfortable room after exhausting yourself all of the fun! The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and always helpful. The trolley stop is right across the street from the hotel entrance, and we rode it to the original Camellia Grill (where we always have to have at least one breakfast while in N.O.). I also used the fitness center daily.....had everything you need to work off those calories so you can keep on eating and drinking! You cannot go wrong choosing this hotel if you're interested in playing in the French Quarter for a few days!

Room Tip: I don't know about any of the other rooms, but the rooms on the 4th floor were fantastic for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Greetings! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your most recent visit to New Orleans!!
We hope to see you again soon in the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I am a Marriott Rewards member and I found this hotel to be a disappointment in all areas and would not return. Location is good, Front doorman is not a good representation of Marriott hospitality. The lobby is more like a botique hotel, they have a cafe that is open at weird hours and not when you want it to be, no coffee after 10 am, really! Luckily there is coffee across the street and the food will be cheaper also. The front desk girl Fiona I have to say was great, almost made up for the doorman with his hand out. The rooms were small and I thought i was in a Fairfield Inn, no bath tub and the walls are "very" thin also, the maid service was done daily. The rates were not good and I should have shopped better, so all in all I would look elsewhere, I am a stock holder also and spent 20 plus years with this company, and it did not meet my expectations at all.

Room Tip: no tips here, I asked for an upgrade ad did not get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris5038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Greetings,


Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott during your most recent stay in New Orleans. We do apologize for the inconvenience you received in regards to your arrival and in the hours of operations for the Bistro as they did not fit your needs.


We hope to see you again soon during your next trip the Big Easy.
We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback as it is critical to our success.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There are pros and cons to staying at this hotel. Overall it was a good experience and the location can't be beat.

Pros:
Location - Two blocks from Bourbon Street
Friendly Staff
Price - reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area - a good value

Cons:
Rooms are small - we knew this going in but the room with a queen size bed was a tight fit
Carpet cleaning - they were cleaning the carpet at the hotel and I suppose this needs to be done. They came by one morning I was getting out of the shower and it took me a minute to get to the door. They didn't come back until the next day and got a lecture about locking the door and not letting them in although we did leave for them to clean the room. The second day they came back at 8:45 am. We were almost ready to go but seriously 8:45 am we are on vacation.

Room Tip: The queen size room with the AAA rate is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Operations Supervisor at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Good Day,

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We appreciate your comments both pros and cons, and believe me, each and every one of your concerns will be addressed and each of your positive mentions will be communicated to the staff. This helps us tremendously with providing the correct level of service for each guest.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The only good thing about this hotel is the location other then that be prepair to be treated like if somebody is doing you a favor. They place us in the wrong room with a view of a hall way with not privacy after a 4 hour stay in a non feather free room and a severe alergy atack the hotel order us to check out of our room to be re located with out having a room ready for us and aditionally because their front desk was full of suitcaises they told us to ask a friend staying at the same hotel to keep our suit cases at their room causing our friends delays in their plans. We finally got another wrong rooom (super noisy ) at 10:00 pm that night. That means 14 hours without a room. They hotel never informed about a carpet cleaning company working at the hotel and making noises the entire day. We are not happy with the hotel we want our money back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank LTTabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Greetings!


Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. WE appreciate your feedback as it is crutial to our sccess and on going improvements to ensure our guests enjoy a flawless stay. I would like to apologize for any inconveience you encountered while staying with us.

We hope to see you again when you return to the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed two nights with my wife and sister while visiting New Orleans prior to Mississippi River cruise. The location is excellent, staff was very helpful and the price was right. If you are to spend some time in the French Quarter this is the place to stay. Its within walking distance of French Quarter restaurants and attractions. Get breakfast at the hotel restaurant....its quick and the price is reasonable. The two women working at the restaurant...Shiela and Dagenera were very pleasant and efficient. Good way to start the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Greetings!
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly would appreciate you sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor by copying and pasting the link, http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60864-d120869-r194079671-Courtyard_New_Orleans_Downtown_Near_the_French_Quarter-New_Orleans_Louisiana.html, to inform others about our great hotel in the Big Easy. Again, thank you for your feedback because it allows us to continue to deliver exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay in New Orleans. Very clean rooms and lobby. The staff was very nice and helpful. We were able to check in early without an issue. In walking distance of Bourbon street and the French Quarter. Would recommend this hotel for your next stay on NOLA! Parking is a little high though $34 a day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Orelene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-Downtown New... F, Manager at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Greetings! thank you for choosing Courtyard marriott downtown near the French Quarter during your most recent stay in New Orleans.

We hope to see you soon in the Big Easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,570 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £91 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality service and comfort come together at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. Nested in the heart of the city, our hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. With a St. Charles Streetcar stop right outside our doors, we make it easy to access renowned sights including Audubon Nature Institute, home to a widely popular zoo and aquarium. Feel immersed in the city with the locally inspired decor featured in all rooms and suites. Complimentary Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs help you feel at home in The Big Easy. A scenic backdrop and private balcony are available in select accommodations. Visit The Bistro for breakfast and energizing Starbucks® drinks, then stop by in the evening for dinner and handcrafted cocktails. During downtime, work out in our fitness center. Jazz up travel plans and discover Cajun culture while at Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing