We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel at a Decent Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
667 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel at a Decent Price”
Reviewed 6 January 2009

I stayed at this hotel last week. It was one of the few hotels in New Orleans with a hot tub. I went in the hot tub 3 times while I was there, so I really enjoyed it. It had an atrium with a skylight. The check in was adequate, but not speedy The price was good. It was close to the French Quarter and also to Riverwalk Marketplace and Harrahs, but I felt safer in the French Quarter. The bathroom area was nice with a separate sink area, but the showerhead was a bit low. The bed did not have a bed spread...just a little 1/3 of a quilt that covered the bottom of the bed. They did offer express check out. There was Internet access in the lobby.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank angeleyes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    238
    79
    22
    17
See reviews for
98
172
28
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

I booked this hotel at the last minute using Marriott rewards points. The only room available online using points was a room with 2 double beds. I called the 800 number and asked them to make a note for an upgrade to a king room with balcony if available. Upon check-in, I was given the king room. Check-in was smooth and friendly.

The room was smaller than most Courtyard rooms, but this is to be expected in the city. The room was clean and confortable. There was also a small refrigerator in the room. Internet is free, but it is not wireless.

The bathroom was quite small and somewhat worn, but was adequate for a short stay.

Breakfast was ok, with cooked to order eggs and a bar with hot and cold items. It was included with my room rate. I would not have paid the inflated price for it, as there are many good places to eat nearby.

The best feature of this hotel is it's location! Just a short block from the French Quarter. I easily walked the entire French Quarter from the hotel. It is also on the St. Charles Streetcar line.

It is in a safe area. I traveled alone and did not feel unconfortable walking back to the hotel alone at night.

I would definately stay here again when in New Orleans!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jbird1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
114 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I recently stayed at this hotel with my friends on a visit to Nawlins and the French Quarter.
Perfect location. Easy walk to the French Quarter and the goodness that is Bourbon Street. All my buddies were telling me how "sweet" the location is, and for the price, this was great. We all had a blast in Nawlins, and a big part of that was the location of this hotel.
Also, friendly check in folks, and folks at the bar too. Easy to connect to internet. Easy to access business center. I guess the only complaint I can register is that it would have been nice if they put our rooms closer to each other. The rooms were all on the same reservation, but were scattered throughout the hotel. Minor complaint, in the end.
Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nawlins who want to be close to the action.

  • Liked — Location, location, location.
  • Disliked — could have put our rooms closer together
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank valor155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2008

My girlfriends and I stayed at this hotel during the Essence Festival during the July 4th holiday. The hotel is in a great location, clean and the staff is very courteous!

I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonafide_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Great location! Only a block from the Quarter! We were fortunate to book one of the balcony rooms overlooking St. Charles. It was a standard Courtyard room, slightly small, but we were only there to sleep so it was perfect. Be sure to hop on the streetcar and cruise through the Garden District. An excellent tour for under $2.00. Hop off at the end of the line if you would like to enjoy a coffee, pastry, or a casual breakfast or lunch at La Madeline.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HulaGirlNashville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

My husband insists on staying at Marriotts in order to earn points, even though he is approaching having a million of them. I wasn't thrilled to have to stay at one in New Orleans, as I clearly would have preferred a boutique hotel (where our friends were staying). Nontheless, he won on this one, so we booked this hotel. Although I wasn't really looking forward to it, when I saw the madness at the hotel where our friends were staying (the Monteleone) I was glad we were where we were. The Courtyard is located across Canal on a quiet street. Based on a previous review, I requested a corner room and got 415 (same as the person who recommended this) and the room was huge. When we returned one day in the afternoon they even had hot gourmet cookies that they were giving out at the front desk. Its a short walk to the French Quarter and I really couldn't find anything much to complain about, other than the fact that the linens on the bed were rather frayed. Decor is typical Courtyard, but our stay was comfortable and the price was right. And best of all, my husband got his Marriott points. What's not to like?

  • Liked — Quiet location away from the madness of the French Quarter
  • Disliked — Frayed linens on bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2008

Stayed here for about a week on business in May. I have to say that it was much nicer than I expected. The staff was especially helpful. If you ever need anything, ask for "Bull". He was the concierge that does everything and anything for hotel guests. Including, coming in on his days off.
The rooms were quite comfortable, but a little on the small side. Anyone who has ever stayed in NYC know what I'm talking about.
There is a small fitness that has a whirlpool in the adjacent room. I looked in there and both seemed on the older side. However its better than nothing.
There's no pool, but who goes to New Orleans to swim.
The hotel is located right off Canal Street which is the major thoroughfare in Downtown New Orleans. It's not even a block from the French Quarter which is where I was every night.
The hotel lobby is rather small also, but right off the lobby is a bar. Right next to the bar is a small CPU that has internet in case you need it.
Overall I rather enjoyed the hotel. Everything was clean and not too noisy. What more could you ask from a hotel. Even better than that, you can't beat the location.
Like I said before, you're minutes from the French Quarter and Riverwalk. There's a McDonalds and a Popeye about 1000 ft away for all those that don't want to pay $15 a meal in the French Quarter. Every Wednesday in Lafayette park there's a huge music festival that you don't want to miss if you get the chance. It's only about a 4 block walk from the hotel.
And if you're drinking down on Bourbon Street, you gotta try the "Hand Grenades".

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LangStonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter

Property: Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Address: 124 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-2506
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#74 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Downtown New Orleans offers deluxe French Quarter accommodations near Bourbon Street, New Orleans Arena, and the Louisiana Superdome. The Bistro at our downtown New Orleans hotel offers healthy choices, a variety of breakfast and dinner options, an evening bar, and Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New Orleans St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing