We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Place!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Prior to getting into town, we had called to see if someone could help us get on a daytrip we were interested in.. pierre was more than accomodating! he not only booked it, he really checked into a variety of options for us!
We were more than happy upon our arrival. We really were happy to use our free drink" vouchers we were given when we checked in. Everyone at the front desk was helpful to us, but Pierre really went that extra step. We had some wonderful meals while we were down in new orleans, and many of them were recommendations from Pierre, and the other staff.
The rooms were very clean, and the beds were comfortable. It is very modern. There was a continental breakfast awaiting each morning. The pool was very nice, clean and heated. The location was amazing, only steps from all the action on Bourban St. You would not even know it though! Even sitting outside in the courtyard at night, it was very quiet, you would never even know!! It was very accessible to get around town from the location, and overall was a beautiful place with many perks.
It was my second time in the city, and I would hands down recommend this place to anyone!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RinQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Dear RinQ,

It’s always a pleasure to read our guests enjoyed both our quality of service and central location. It is with great pleasure and satisfaction that we read your comments following your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with details, which will be helpful to future clients. We are glad you appreciated the personal assistance we are offering. I will definitely congratulate Pier for the excellent service he provided you during your stay. Can't hardly wait to serve you again in the future. Thank you once again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,926
    754
    150
    33
    25
See reviews for
447
1,467
89
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

My girlfriends and I got a great deal on this hotel as it just opened in November! Everything about our stay was fantastic. The rooms were clean and modern, big flatscreen tv, nice modern washroom, big comfy beds... The staff were great and very helpful at helping us get around and book a swamp tour & city bus tour. The location was steps away from Bourbon, but on a quieter street where you don't get as much of the crowds going by.

I like this kind of "boutique" style hotel - it's not too big with only 5 floors and the staff actually remembers you since there aren't too many people there.

Breakfast is included, and is minimal, but if you're okay with a toasted english muffin/cereal/muffins and coffee/juice, then you'll be fine. Otherwise, there are plenty of cafes around where you can get a nice warm beignet!

There's a small "heated" pool outside in the cute courtyard that my friends and I took advantage of a couple of times... it's quite nice, warm and relaxing. The sun didn't really shine on us during the day though since the courtyard is between two tall walls of the building. But, the pool was just an added bonus, not a necessity for me!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Good Evening desouc,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience to Hotel Le Marais. We are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service. Thank you for recognizing our friendly and knowledgeable staff which is always more than happy to assist you. Thank you once again for staying at Hotel Le Marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

My husband and I booked this hotel due to its great location in the French Quarter - just a block from Bourbon Street! We normally try to find older hotels with that New Orleans charm when we visit but decided on Hotel Le Marais due to the value and location. We were not disappointed.

We arrived around 1pm and were thrilled to find that our room was available. The gentleman at the reception desk was so kind and helpful! We were on the 5th floor in a large (for New Orleans) room with adorable shuttered windows which looked over the courtyard - which is somehow modern and charming at the same time! The room can be summed up with the word 'giant' with it's giant headboard, giant flat screen tv, giant walk-in shower, and giant duvet cover on the bed!

The hotel has a pretty large continental breakfast that we didn't take advantage of and a bar (we were offered two free drinks upon checking in!). The courtyard has oversized furniture, a bar, and a small pool. The hotel has blue lighting which is fun to come 'home' to at night and a great common area near the lobby with whimsical furniture and large tvs.

This hotel has proven to be my favorite from my stays in NOLA. It's within walking distance of everything!! The hotel staff are extremely friendly! The room is clean, modern, and comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view for a quiet night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Dear JSWeb,

Allow me to thank you for your kindest feedback which we will forward to all our hotel departments as a motivation for further work! I would like to thank you for choosing us as your destination hotel and for sharing your comments with the members of Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you with us and it is very gratifying to know that your experience was nice. Best regards of all staff of Hotel Le Marais. Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We booked 2 months in advance . Had confirmation #'s from a third party( Book-It) that they had received from the hotel, but still no room the day we arrived. They did put us up in they're sister hotel Dauphine Orleans but not without problems with billing. At check out I was told everything was taking care of but when I checked my bank the next day I had been charged for the entire stay that had aready been paid from the third party. I will have to say Dauphine Orleans was very nice and the people very understanding and helpful. I would stay here again for sure. The other property(Hotel Le Marais) seems to be having this same problem of overbooking which tells me they are under poor management.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JDBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Dear JDBell,

We cannot express our apologies and regret enough. We made every effort to relocate guests to the best Hotels around New Orleans in order to minimize the inconvenience. We cannot turn time back. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience we caused you by relocating your reservation to another hotel and charging your credit card. We cannot turn time back. What we have done is assure the proper mechanisms are in place to prevent reoccurrence. We pray that this isolated, single out incident, will not tarnish the otherwise impeccable reputation our Hotel has been enjoying. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel for four nights. We arrived at 3:00 P.M. checked in quickly but our room was not ready, they stored our luggage for us and advised it would be about an hour for the room. We ate and the room was ready upon our return. We were on the forth floor at the end off the hallway. The room was nice, bed comfortable,and there was a big TV.

Our room was quiet but we were as far away from the elevator as you could get. There is just the one elevator and I'm impatient so I ended up taking the stairs most of the time.

The wifi was a bit slow. The breakfast had enough selection that most people should be able to find something.

We checked out and had some time before our flight out so they again stored our luggage for us. I liked the hotel but probably would stay some where else next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsunlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 26 March 2011
Dear jbsunlvr,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Le Marais. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. We are glad to hear that you had a delighted stay at our hotel. By the way, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience that our internet caused you; however, we are working in finding a way to make our internet connection faster. I am sure that next time you come you will be able to use our internet connection with no problems. Once again thank you so much for your review and I hope you change your mind and comeback in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

We booked the Hotel Le Marais 2 1/2 months before our trip through Hotels.com. Three days before we were to arrive, we received a call from Hotels.com telling us the Hotel Le Marais had "an inventory problem" and wanted to move us to the Crowne Plaza... at the airport. The airport is 20-30 minutes away from the French Quarter. Completely unacceptable. How are they booked up when we booked well in advance, and how is it they waited until the WEEK of our arrival date to bother to tell us, AFTER we received a confirmation of our impending stay a day before? Hotels.com had a lot of trouble finding us another room in the French Quarter as a result. Based on their obvious problem with overbooking, we won't plan on staying here ever, even if other reviews are so positive. If a hotel won't honor your PREPAID reservation, they're not worth booking. I'd hate to have arrived and been stuck with no hotel to go to!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank leiedtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 26 March 2011
Dear leiedtrout,

Thank you for writting a review for our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience we caused you by relocating your room to another hotel. This is a problem that we are working on, so it can be solved soon. We do understand your disappointment and we are really sorry. Please accept my most sincere apology. But, thank you for writing a review for our hotel, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

I just stayed at the Le Marais hotel for Mardi Gras. The hotel is beautiful and great detail and thought went into the decorating of the property. While the hotel is located on Conti Street between Bourban and Royal it could not have been quieter. Once you enter through the front door you are in a quiet sanctuary. All the staff are wonderful. The staff appears have have great loyalty to the property and it shows from the front desk staff to the housekeeping personnel.
Thanks Le Marais staff for making my stay so enjoyable. I can't wait to return to a first class property.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillsMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Good Evening BillsMaryland,

I would like to thank you for choosing us as your destination hotel and for giving us the opportunity to know your opinion about our services. This is an invaluable tool we use to improve in search of the excellence. We are pleased to know that Hotel Le Marais exceeded your expectations. We are proud in providing a personalized service to each of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon; until then, we remain at your service. Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing