We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be happier, but who is the absent "engineer"”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Went for 4 days prior to cruise with 3 other couples. All ammenities are brand new, chic, clean, and very useful. The room we had was top floor under the HVAC system, and room "hummed". They moved us promptly to another room. Breakfast was huge - fresh fruit, juice, milk, yogurts, cereals, eggs (different kind daily), lean bacon - yum! It was in bar and very light to great back side yard...didn't use pool or spa, but looked inviting. Front staff were not real knowledgeable of area but tried to help - friendly. They could use a doorman - especially with luggage, but still easy to get in with no steps (thank goodness). The workout room was fabulous with lots of water, towels, fans - but they couldn't find the engineer to blow up the workout ball.... only downside of whole stay. They also had a great computer room that saved my day...no charge. Very inexpensive and very clean and nice. All 4 couples were greatful for for the wonderful experience ...also close to everything, yet quiet!

Room Tip: There are larger rooms with huge showers, but for handicapped - you still can get them. Avoid room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTraveler805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world through our TripAdvisor community. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our property, which is just a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that the Crescent City has to offer. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,138 - 3,144 of 3,391 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I believe a total of 66 rooms are in this "Boutique" style hotel....which is beautifully decorated/rennovated and located on Conti St in the midst of the French Quarter. You are a very quick stroll to all you would expect to visit in the quarter from Cafe du Monde, GREAT restaurants (we stayed on Christmas Day night so had to 'stroll' into what was open which happened to be Oceana Grill across the street and a few doors down (AWESOME by the way). I would knock on Le Marais by saying that it is $30 to valet park-I understand this but we were not advised up front. Also, they have no restaurant so don't expect anything beyond a Continental breakfast-but who cares about that Cafe du Monde is well within walking distance. I did like that they offer 1 complimentary bar drink per guest, no strings attached....but, DO tip your bartender! Le Marais has done a lot decoratively with the space they have. The room we stayed in was not large by any means, but was VERY comfortable, which a comfortable place to clean up and lay my head was all I really needed, right? They do have a nice HD Tv in room so you can relax and watch some shows, but WHY would you do this when the French quarter is open to you so close by. Will definitely return to this hotel when I stay again in New Orleans. Reasonably priced considering the location and basically covered all of my needs with a touch of class added in to the ambiance.

Room Tip: be prepared to pay $30 for valet parking in garage across the street from hotel. This is their ONLY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here 12/28 -12/30.

Location
Conveniently located a block from bourbon street and a block from the shopping. This hotel is tucked on a side street and out of the way from the crowds, but conveniently walk able to everything you need.

Staff
Very friendly - no complaints. They were helpful in suggesting restaurants.

Rooms
Rooms were updated and modern. Very clean. The bed was comfortable and it had the amenities that I would expect. My only complaint is that the walls were thin and we could hear people in the next room pretty well when they were talking loudly. Its an older building renovated to be modern - what do you expect.

Pool
It was a little cold to go in while we were there, but the center of the hotel has a small pool in a courtyard. Its well laid out with nice pool furniture around it.

Bar
This is a plus! we got complimentary 2 drink cards when we checked in. The bar is small in the hotel, but nice. The staff was pleasant - again, very modern look and feel.

Breakfast
What you would expect. Continental breakfast. Hard boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B-Rock29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world through our TripAdvisor community. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our team. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our property, which is just a stone's throw away from all the great local attractions that the Crescent City has to offer. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The treatment we revived from Tania at the front desk was phenomenal. When we had an issue, she bent over backwards to accommodate us. Her warmth & care was exceptional. I would stay at this hotel again just to visit with her. She made our trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My bestie and I stayed here over Memorial Day for a fun weekend in New Orleans. We love NOLA, we aren't really Bourbon people, but this hotel's location is great for where ever you want to go. It's in the heart of the French Quarter, making every place walkable, and say you want to go to Cochon or another local foodie haunt, you wan easily grab a cab. We both liked this place a lot and would go back any time. It has a stylish, contemporary feel, and it's actually quiet despite the location. And there is a pool, i fact, the outdoor pool area is really relaxing and pleasant. The only thing we would have changed from our last trip is to have more hours in the days.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hitravbug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

One can enjoy the sophistication of a sleek European boutique hotel in the heart of the French Quarter, and for a fraction of the price. Hotel Le Marais is small, friendly and professional with friendly prices as well. The location is perfect, the rooms are super quiet, and the overall experience will make you want to return for another stay. The private courtyard, small pool and chic lighting inside and out add to the cool ambiance.

Room Tip: One can request a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VZRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Greetings VZRivers,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Le Marais. Thank you for staying with us! We really hope to see you again soon and be able to delight you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Picked this hotel by looking at hotels on Trip Advisor and we were not dissappointed. 3 couples travelling together and we all loved it. The location in the French Quarter was excellent. We walked everywhere. The staff were great in assisting us with tours, where to eat, etc. The bar tender even warmed up our left over gumbo from our cooking class. The breakfast was excellent, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, fruit, etc. Definitely would go there the next trip to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnnylough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Warm Greetings johnnylough,

Thank you for choosing hotel Le Marais as your lodging preference. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our breakfast and the staff. At hotel Le Marais we pride in providing the best service at all times and to hear that once again we have done it make us very happy. Thank you for staying with us and we will be waiting to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,900 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,712 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,495 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,050 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £130 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing