We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean rooms”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel was less than a two minute walk from the center of Bourbon street madness, yet we did not hear any noise coming from the crowd. Our room by the street had some traffic noise, but that would probably be consistent with any other hotel in the French Quarter. Tons of lovely shops, food and drink places nearby, and a five minute walk to the Charles Street Streetcar.

The rooms, albeit small, were clean and modern, but also had the lovely laid back Nawlins' charm. Bathroom was small as well, but not cramped. The hotel was definitely good value for money, and a great base for our trip.

+++:
Location: In my eyes, the location was perfect. It was an easy walk to almost everything we wanted, and in a beautiful part of the French Quarter. Close to entertainment venues, dining and drinking options, convenience stores, public transportation - basically everything a tourist needed.

Rooms: Charming decor with comfortable double beds. In room amenities were perhaps a little lacking, but thoughtful. For example, they provided plastic cups in case we wanted to take a drink from our room out into the street, but they felt a little cheap.

Bar / Service: The in-house bar was a good place for a get-the-night-started drink, especially since the hotel provided us each with a coupon for one standard drink. The bartender was friendly and mixed great drinks. Front desk and cleaning staff were courteous and congenial.

---:
Minor cleanliness / renovation issues: During our stay, the hotel continued with their refurbishment. This was not a very major deal, just the sporadic "wet paint" sign, as well as the hallway smelling of paint for the whole day. Fortunately the smell did not seep into our room. Also, while the room was generally clean, there was a small live cockroach that scuttled across our floor, of which I promptly disposed of. This was the only bug in the room I found, but I was definitely more wary of the room's cleanliness after finding it.

Room size and lack of curtains: Fairly small, but not cramped. Enough space for luggage and hanging up some clothes, but it was quite a cozy stay. Also, there are blinds, but not curtains, which means that natural flight will seep into the room once the sun rises. Probably was not the best for someone who was trying to sleep off a hangover.

Bathroom shower: Zero water pressure from shower head, was basically like showering with a dripping faucet; became Infuriating after awhile.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesjen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are excited to hear that you received excellent service. At Hotel Le Marais we pride in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to hear that we have done it again, it make us really happy. Thank you for your kind words on our rooms, the perfect location, bar, service, and our courteous and friendly staff. Please comeback and see us. Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,908 - 2,914 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

We agree with the reviews of the 2 entries for May 22/23. We stayed for 4 nights and could not fault any aspect of this great boutique hotel. We fully endorse it and recommend it 100%.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans thanks you for writing a review for our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments. We surely can't wait to see you again. Warm Greetings!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It was so wonderful to stay in a modern, boutique hotel in New Orleans. Having traveled to the city for stays all of my life, small, contemporary and quiet is difficult to find. I absolutely love the vibe of the place. Everything is just right. Not too much, not too little. The bar and pool area create an intimate atmosphere. One that my husband and I really enjoyed. Just a small front desk with one very qualified individual to take perfect care of you. A standout among many! It was a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catz9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Hotel Le Marais thanks you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. It was a great pleasure to have you and your husband here. Thank you for your kind words on our hotel. We are sure looking forward to see you again in the future. Warm Greetings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Sadly, we were only booked for one night at Hotel Le Marais.... It is truly a haven of quiet in the middle of the french quarter. The rooms are beautifully appointed and just the perfect size. We had requested and received the rooms facing the interior/courtyard side. No noise from Bourbon Street which is just a half block away. The entire staff (sorry I forget your names!!) were excellent and most helpful from the front desk staff to housekeeping to the valet. We loved being able to sit out in the courtyard adjacent to the bar and have our drinks (2 complimentary vouchers/room!). Was also a nice touch to have complimentary water in the rooms as well. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone. Great value for the money....

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear expat4,

Hotel Le Marais thanks you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind compliments on our rooms, our courtyard, the most excellent and helpful staff, our complimentary water and drinks. We are so excited that we met all your needs. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again soon. Warm Greetings!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great experience! Helpful and friendly staff...clean room, view of the courtyard...cute little balcony...within walking to everything...nice breakfast and really great bar!...you bet I would stay here again! Thank you !

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah4501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Sarah4501,

Hotel Le Marais thanks you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience. At Hotel Le Marais we pride in providing the highest quality of service at all times and to hear that we have done it again, it makes us really happy. Thank you for your kind words on our helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, cute balcony, view of the courtyard, nice breakfast and really great bar. We surely can't wait to see you again. Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at Hotel Le Marais. I had a tough time finding a reasonabley priced hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. Most hotels seemed too over the top with the decor or almost too "romantic" in feel. I was looking for a nice hotel for my bachelorette party, and Hotel Le Marais was the perfect in mood & feel.

The hotel is not that big, so it has a very boutique feel to it. The amenties are not over the top, but very nice-- which is perfect, given we were only there for a few days.

There isn't a restaurant, so there's no room service, but they offer complimentary continental breakfast, which is lovely. Since you're in the heart of the French Quater-- you really don't miss the restauarant anyway. There are tons of places to eat-- just steps away from the hotel.

The only bad thing I would say is that if there are people in the hallway-- you can absolutely hear their voices. I had tried to take a nap at some point, and had a tough time sleeping, since the people in the hallway were so loud. I don't thing it was entirely their voices-- it was a combination of the people in the hallway & the walls being a little to thin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cxb360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Hotel Le Marais thanks your for writing a review for us. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for complimenting on our hotel and our lovely complimentary breakfast. Thank you for staying with us and please comeback and see us again. Warm Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very nice vacation. The room although a little small for 3 people would have been adequate for 2. Pretty courtyard with small pool was a lovely back drop for cocktails and breakfast in the morning.

It was a great location just seconds off Bourbon St but no noise so from that point of view couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be the same size it was just whether or not you had a balcony or restricted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CrystalRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Hotel Le Marais in New Orleans. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words on our courtyard and pool. Please comeback and see us again. Warm Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,129 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,531 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 167 in New Orleans
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £131 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing