We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the only hotel I'd ever stay in if I ever get back to the Cresent City!”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“This is the only hotel I'd ever stay in if I ever get back to the Cresent City!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have stayed in some great places in my life but this was the best. From the location, the rooms, the price, the staff, right down to "the reall nitty gritty" this places aims to please. I was impressed right from entering until I checked out. The staff does anything in their power to answer questions, give directions, make recommendations....great recommendations, and they do it all and remember your name. It really makes you feel welcome which I belive in today's world, is rare. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable and they will provide anything you need then ask if you need more. Beautiful bar and courtyard and who can complain about a free drink when you arrive. I just wish I could remember everyones name that did so well. JT the bar tender made a super supper recommendation for the Pelican Club, which I will review. Gave great directions right to it. Danialla, (sp?), at the front desk helped in many ways including a great supper recommendation that will also be reviewed. It was exactly what we wanted on our last night. I did say that they needed half and half in the rooms with the in room coffee and was told that all I had to do was ask and they would have brought it up. Yep, that was my mistake but if we ever stay here again I will know. The manager checked us in, so sorry I forgot her name, but she never forgot ours. She also offerred help for us to get to places we wanted to go. Location is perfect and you're far enough of Bourbon to not have to deal with that madness. Hotel is secure, which is another comfort. Only got a chance to nibble a little breakfast but it was fine. Y'all will just have to trust me on this one, it IS the place to stay in NOLA and I only hope someday to return. Thank you Hotel Le Marais for a wonderful time I will never forget.

Room Tip: Balconey room over the courtyard. Nothing could be finer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolinaParatrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,111
    815
    162
    35
    31
See reviews for
523
1,581
97
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The hotel is well located in the French Quarter, just off of Bourbon St, and blocks from Jackson square, and Canal St. The bar and pool area just off the lobby is a great place to meet friends and family before heading out for a day/night in the quarter. Valet parking is convenient and easy, front dest was very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Le Marais. I requested a wheelchair accessible room. It was the farthest room away from the elevator (so a lot of pushing down a carpeted hallway), but so worth it because it was on the back of the hotel making it quiet. I had been warned there wasn't a great view, but we had a lovely view of a tree. The roll in shower was not well designed and no matter what we did, water flowed all over the bathroom floor, so we had to put multiple towels on the floor to sop up the water (the only drain was in the shower).
We enjoyed the workout room, the complimentary drinks at the bar, and the pool. The pool is warm - like hot tub warm, which was great because the highs were only in the 60s while we were there. We loved the location; it was so easy to explore the French Quarter just by walking out the door. (though thank goodness we didn't have a room on the street side of the building - Bourbon Street is a stone's throw away and LOUD).
The bed was comfy, but the pillows were way too thick, and the hotel did not have others (boo).
Breakfast is basic hotel food: pre-made omelets, sausage, bacon, toast, etc.
One other thing: there was a loose tile in the bathroom and every time I rolled over it, it was loud. I didn't report this to the front desk (using a wheelchair and being on vacation in a new city has many challenges, so I choose my battles), but I hope they fix it for the next guest!

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the street side as they will be very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abh345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel Le Marais has an awesome location right between Royal and Bourbon street on Conti. I thought the rooms were a fairly average size, the decor was nice. I hated the shower! It's nicely tiled, however, there is only half the door, which is stationary, and the rest of the shower is left open. The courtyard is very pretty, there's always water and cookies available. The lobby and bar area are pretty and trendy.The breakfast has quite a few options from cereal, bagels, muffins, and hot choices like eggs, sausage, and bacon. The majority of the staff was great. The front desk and doorman always had a pleasant word for me coming in and out. The maids always asked how we slept and if we needed anything extra for our rooms. We only had trouble at the bar. There were 4 people there when we walked up, but we sat there for almost 10 minutes without even being acknowledged. If you're busy, that's fine, but at least smile and or say something. That was just a small part of the trip, but it's really stuck with me. Another thing I found odd about this hotel was that trash is piled in the hallways while the maids cleaned in the morning. I posted a picture of our hall way. It was really off putting, and it was the same thing every day. One positive note: I felt very safe and secure in this hotel. For one, you have to use the key to get on the elevator which is located next to the desk, and after midnight, you have to use a key just to get into the building.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liljopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie O, Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at le marais for a 4 night birthday trip. I chose this hotel based on the reviews and #1 ranking. We were on the 5th floor facing the street and it was quite noisy. At night it was easy to fall asleep because we were exhausted from walking (and alcohol helps), but in the morning it was a little annoying. I think the hallway noise was even worse than the outside, they need to look into getting more soundproof doors. Even when we were walking in the hall we could hear what other people were talking about in their rooms. That said, this hotel is beautiful and is really a very central location. You are 10 steps from bourbon st, 3 blocks from canal, and maybe 4 blocks from Jackson square. The room itself is beautiful, bed is comfortable, and I thought the shower was great. If you want a great value in the center of it all, definitely stay here. If you want quiet, maybe look a little farther from bourbon st.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marriedinmexico24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
druglas, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during such a special occassion as it is a Birthday. We are honor to know that we were part of this wonderful moment in your lives. I have to agree with you that it can get a little noisy, especially during large events in the City. Thank you for your kind words on our beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, and great shower as we always strive to make sure that our guest's satisfaction is priority. We truly appreciate you sharing your most recent experience here in TripAdvisor with other travelers and we do hope to be able to provide you with excellent service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March. Had to change rooms due to faulty air conditioning noise. Wasn't a problem to the great Pierre. He organised my activities and he always had a welcoming smile when I came through the door. The complimentary breakfast was a nice start to the day. I will definitely stay here again. Next time Ill bring my man to share this exciting location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leslie O, Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaguar7777777
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is very good indeed. We had a nice room with a comfortable bed, there's a good bar and a nice breakfast, the hotel is in an excellent location and the staff were very friendly. At the price, I have to give it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguar7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the word through our TripAdvisor community. Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel le marais!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,306 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 163 in New Orleans
4,545 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,693 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,101 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing