We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip but not our last!”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our first trip but not our last!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I spent a lot of time choosing a hotel for our first trip to N.O. I was thrilled to discover that I chose well. Hotel Le Marais is a fabulous hotel. The location was perfect. We could walk to everything. Half a block right to the excitement of Bourbon Street or half a block left to the charm of Royal Street. Our room was lovely- spacious and clean. Our king size bed was so comfortable. The free Wi-Fi, bottled water, welcome cocktail and daily delicious breakfast were all greatly appreciated. We also were delighted by the lovely recognition of our anniversary. Of course it doesn't matter how beautiful the hotel is or how many amenities are offered, it is the staff that can elevate a good hotel experience to a great one. The staff at Hotel Le Marais are amazing- front desk, bar, housekeeping, maintenance. Everyone was friendly and went above and beyond. We had a wonderful experience and plan on returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LizOnTheRoad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We are honored that we were able to celebrate with you this wonderful event in your lives. You are correct; we are definitely located in the heart of the French Quarter and a short stroll from all the great local attractions this city has to offer. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy our lovely rooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary continental breakfast, and complimentary welcome drinks at VIVE! We take pride in our enhanced guest service and our top priority is to make sure that your stay is as seamless as possible. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,029
    790
    154
    34
    28
See reviews for
483
1,533
95
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Brilliant location, nice rooms and a good mix of french quarter cute and trendy. Pool and bar open late and staff were very helpful. Given the proximity to bourbon st and New Orleans night life it's still relatively quiet so not much more you can ask for really.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kinds words regarding your recent stay at Hotel le marais. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our nice rooms, heated salt-water pool in our lovely courtyard, and that the staff was able to meet your expectations. We definitely are close to the action of Bourbon St. and the shopping of Royal St. but as soon as you enter Hotel le marais, it serves as private oasis for our guests. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel, so close to Bourbon St but so far away.
We couldn't fault anything about the place. The rooms are delightful as are the staff. Breakfast was always great and plenty of it. Could have done with a little more seating inside at breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
First, we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. Also, we definitely appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience regarding your stay. You are right; our hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter and yet serves as a private oasis for our guests. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, and that the staff has met your expectations during your stay. Thank you very much and we hope to see again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I chose this hotel based on TA reviews and stayed for 4 nights in a double room. Agree with all the other positive reviews--great, quiet, safe location just steps off Bourbon Street. It was an oasis to return to at the end of the night. Stylish rooms, free gingersnaps at reception, strong wifi, free bottled water in the room. Cute little pool that was empty all the time I was there, so it was great for swimming in the evenings. Loved the Archive toiletries, they smelled so good. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violetvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais during your recent stay in New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the world. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our stylish rooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, daily complimentary bottled water, gingersnaps at the front desk, our Archive guest amenities and our heated salt-water pool in our lovely courtyard. We definitely are centrally located in the French Quarter and very close to all the local attractions. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokomis, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The right one! We walked out of another French quarter hotel to stay at le marais and even though there was no refund from the other hotel, it was worth every cent. Recommend this hotel highly. Location, comfort, decor all top notch.
Mb

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Wow! Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing with the world the great experience you had with us. We always strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we take pride in our enhanced guest services to make sure that all our guests have a memorable experience. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel!! The staff was amazing!! Pierre on the front desk helped us with a swift check in, was able to answer all of our questions and his suggestions on tours and restaurants were greatly appreciated. The lobby and lounge is beautifully decorated and reeks of class as soon as you walk in. Even though this hotel is so centrally located in the Quarter and is so close to bourbon we could not hear any of the noise at night. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is a cut above the average hotel breakfast. (boiled eggs, sausage, bacon, anything that can be toasted, muffins, cereal, a variety of juice, coffee, tea etc etc etc and it goes til past 10am i believe which was great to be able to sleep in) The room was a good size. The smell of "clean" was present as soon as you set foot through the door. The decor is modern but not boring! The beds and bedding were perfect. So comfy we had to take several naps after long mornings of walking around taking in all the sights! The cleaning staff did an amazing job everyday.

If you are visiting New Orleans I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Avoid all the hotels near Canal street. the area seems kinda tacky and the hotels always seemed overrun with drunk loud people (both local and toursits) and they definitely lack that old world New Orleans charm. There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance. I would suggest the vip tour that drives you all over the city.

Really cant wait to go back! :)

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors if you want to ensure a nice quiet sleep! overlooking the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meow7885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your Hotel le marais experience with the world. We are overjoyed that the staff was able to meet your expectations and were always there to assist you, especially Pierre. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, guest rooms, and modern decor. Cleanliness and upkeep of our hotel is a top priority to ensure a memorable stay for all of our guests. You are definitely right, our hotel is centrally located and is only a short stroll from all the local attractions and world class restaurants that this great city has to offer. Once again, thank you so much for choosing Hotel le marais and we are looking forward to you serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epp1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at Le Marais for one night prior to carnival cruise. It was beautiful and room were great. Perfect location in French Quarters. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel. We are overjoyed to hear that the staff has met your expectations during your stay. We are definitely perfectly located in the heart of the French Quarter and a short stroll from all the great attractions of the city. We hope that you choose to Hotel le marais again when you make your way down to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,116 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,004 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing