We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in the Big Easy”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

While NOLA really was too busy for us we loved our stay at the Hotel Le Marais. We were given complimentary bar drinks upon arrival. Bull the bellman was a amazing and gave us some dinner advice. This hotel is located between Royal and Bourbon Streets and only blocks from Jackson Square and trolley stops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator towards the back of the hotel. Very nice breakfast in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

We are honored that Hotel le marais was able to be part of this special moment in your life. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy our complimentary welcome drinks at VIVE! In addition, we are extremely delighted that our staff went above and beyond for you during your stay. We are definitely centrally located and a few steps from the action of Bourbon St. and the antique shops of Royal St. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais and congratulations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,278 - 2,284 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Bed and pillows are wonderful. It is very quite. Excellent location. Weird bathroom shower only has a half door. Nice breakfast. Good security. Very nice staff. Stayed during Cowboy game so it was very pricey

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your recent trip to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your thoughts about your stay with the world. We are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable bed, soft pillows, complimentary continental breakfast, and our enhanced hotel security features. We are definitely looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We absolutely loved Hotel Le Marais! It has an ideal location. We didn't need our vehicle the entire weekend because we were in walking distance of just about every where we wanted to go. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. They all greeted us with a warm smile and genuine conversation. The room was very clean and cozy. My only semi inconvenience was the bathroom. There was no countertop to speak of and I didn't like the design of the shower. We also appreciated the complimentary drink from the bar and breakfast. Thank you Hotel Le Marias for making our weekend getaway very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaBina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Wow! Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the world. We are definitely in an ideal location, walking distance from all the great local attractions that this great city has to offer. We are thrilled that the staff was able to meet your expectations during your visit. Our staff is dedicated and passionate when it comes to providing excellent service. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and cozy rooms, complimentary welcome drinks at VIVE! and complimentary continental breakfast. We definitely hope that you choose Hotel le marais when you make your way down to New Orleans again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel was a bit short staffed with only one person at the desk when I arrived and when I checked out. But they were incredibly helpful and nice. I had booked a room on the street side with balcony but on arrival realized it was above a bar which was REALLY loud. Another staff person mentioned that the bar stays open til 4 am so I asked if they could kindly move me to a quieter room which they were happy to do so. The hotel was clean and comfortable--great beds and they supply bottles of water in the room. It has really nice courtyard with plunge pool and fantastic chairs and loungers. The hotel is in a GREAT location on a side street in the French Quarter so convenient to most everything and a few blocks from Jackson Square. The hotel has good wifi which was helpful as I was there for business. They have a business center with two computers and a printer. The only thing I would mention is there are no bathtubs, only showers --might be an issue for some. Unfortunately it dropped below 50 degrees when I was there so it was a bit chilly in the am with no heat in the completely tiled bathroom. Breakfast in the am was great and if the weather was warmer, I would have loved to eat in the courtyard. Please be aware that check-in at this hotel is not possible before 3:00 PM. This apparently is standard in NOLA but was unexpected. The staff kindly called me on my mobile to let me know when my room was ready.

Room Tip: Loud on street side with music from bar and parking garages across the street. They have rooms right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the world. We are thrilled to know that our staff was able to make your stay as seamless as possible. Our number 1 priority is definitely the satisfaction and comfort of our guests. You are correct; we are located in the heart of the French Quarter, just a few steps from all the local attractions that the Big Easy has to offer. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our complimentary WiFi, business center, and complimentary continental breakfast. We are always looking for ways to satisfy our guest’s needs and we appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. We do hope that you choose to stay at Hotel le marais next time you find your way down in New Orleans again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great Location - We were attending a wedding at LaTrobe's, so the location couldn't have been better for us. The hotel's entrance is located about 20 feet from the Conti Street entrance of LaTrobe's. Also, we could easily walk to all the sights in the French Quarter as well as stroll over to Canal Street for the streetcar and a pharmacy for bottled water, Dramamine, etc.

Staff - While the front desk staff always smiled and greeted us when we entered or exited the building, there were follow through issues. (1) First, when the staff cleaned our room, they took our towels and forgot to leave clean towels. We called for new towels, and they were delivered within 10 minutes. However, we were annoyed because clean towels are a basic thing for the cleaning service to forget. (2) Second, we ran out of toilet paper and tissue, so we called down to the desk to have more delivered. 5 to 10 minutes later, someone arrived with toilet paper; however, they forgot the tissue. (3) Third, we asked the front desk to call us a cab. After 15 - 20 minutes, I went back to the desk to ask if it was normal to wait that long for a cab. I was greeted with a "Oh, you're still here?" by an employee. It was the same employee that told us that he would come to get us when the cab arrived while we sat in the lounge. Immediately, he went out on the street and flagged a cab down for us. Basically, the staff are friendly and helpful, but you need to be prepared to follow up on your requests.

Clean - Our room was small and clean. It contained 2 double beds, a nightstand, a desk, an ottoman, a safe, an iron, ironing board, a luggage rack, and a dresser with a flat screen tv on top of it. It was a basic hotel room. Very simple. It was all we needed for sleeping, but I didn't see anything that made me think "luxury." Don't expect anything amazing, and you'll have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, so you can hear people speaking in the hallway. Bring ear plugs for Fridays and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our lovely hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans. You are right; our location is definitely perfect for wedding attendees at Latrobe’s, as it is only a few steps away from our front door. In addition, as we are centrally located, we are a short stroll from all the local attractions that this great city has to offer like the Aquarium of the Americas, Jackson Square, French Market, world famous Bourbon St., and the shopping on Royal St. We are extremely delighted to know that the front desk staff was always there to smile and greet you as you walk through our hotel lobby. I do apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that I will follow up with each department to make sure that our future guests experience nothing but the best when they stay with us. We do hope that this incident does not prevent you from giving us another chance in the future. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The location was perfect!!!! Literally around the corner from Bourban street, but far enough away that there was no noise. The rooms were lovely with a very comfortable bed and quiet air conditioning. Having a fresh water bottle in the room was wonderful, especially in the hot weather. I loved the robes they supplied, it was a nice amenity. The pool area was nice, the bar is small but welcoming. The breakfast was good, and a nice perk that we didn't find at other hotels. I would have liked a little more information available at the front desk, suggestions for places to go to eat, sight see etc. But I would absolutely stay here again! Very superior to the large hotels in the area!

Room Tip: I would probably stay away from the rooms near the ice machine, we had a corner room and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Wow! Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your experience at Hotel le marais. We truly appreciate you taking the time and sharing your thoughts with the world. We are definitely close to all the action of Bourbon St. and the shopping on Royal St. but the hotel serves as a private oasis for our guests once they walk-in through our doors. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms, comfortable bed, complimentary bottled water, our heated salt-water pool in our lovely courtyard, and our complimentary continental breakfast. We always look for ways to enhance guest service, as guest satisfaction is our top priority. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais and we are looking forward to your visit with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Location,, room, service, breakfast and complementary drinks was very good. Based our stay on TripAdvisor review which was 4.7and agree with that review. Suggestion-night light in bathroom because of black tile and room service should be in morning rather than afternoon..

Room Tip: courtyard room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndon Y, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. It is definitely great to hear that you enjoyed our lovely rooms, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary welcome drinks at the bar. We hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future when you make your way down to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,106 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,519 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 167 in New Orleans
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £131 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing