We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #7 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1221 Ninth Avenue, Greeley, Colorado 80631
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We made last minute reservations at the Le Marais not expecting it to be so wonderful. We loved it, great decor, great location and a great room. Newly remodeled and great prices considering we were just one block from Bourbon Street. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stephaniejayne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,977
    777
    151
    33
    28
See reviews for
469
1,505
90
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel was the PERFECT choice to celebrate a beautiful bride-to-be and her group of 11-12 thirty-ish girlfriends. The fun and modern atmosphere was perfect for the type of celebration we wanted. The hotel staff was incredibly accommodating, and the bartender Olga gave us the TOTAL HOOKUP when we had an impromptu casual lingerie shower down in the bar. There's a cute little side-room in the bar area that was perfect for us, and Olga moved chairs in the room and served us champagne and strawberries without any prior reservation. She truly made that afternoon the 'icing on the cake' of the entire weekend! The complimentary breakfast was fantastic as well - definitely not your typical hotel breakfast. Everything was fresh and well-presented. The hotel location was perfect too - one block away from Bourbon street, lots of great shopping, and delicious restaurants all within a few steps. We walked over to Hotel Monteleone for champagne at the Carousel bar prior to going to dinner at Kingfish (fantastic!), and it wasn't more than a 4-5 minute walk anywhere we went the entire weekend. Awesome experience, would go back in a heartbeat for ANY future trips to NOLA - not just bachelorette weekends!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayFlour13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Recently I had back to back weekend business trips to New Orleans, Hotel le Marais was a pleasant surprise. Very clean, hip and new! The staff was extremely helpful and made sure my group had what they needed. Even the few days between trips, they let me house boxes containing my business material until my second return no extra charges or issues. The location is perfect, very close but not on top of all the action in the Quarter. I will use this hotel again in the future, rooms were clean and well appointed. Hidden jewel in the Quarter.

Room Tip: Court yard facing rooms are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your back to back business trips to New Orleans. We really appreciate you taking the time and sharing your recent experience with the world and the TripAdvisor community. We are extremely pleased to hear that our staff has exceeded your expectations during your visit. We are also delighted to hear that we were able to store your business material until you returned for your second visit. You are absolutely right; we are definitely in the middle of all the action as we are located in the very heart of the French Quarter. We are a short stroll from all the great local attractions this great city has to offer. We are glad that you enjoyed our clean and well-appointed rooms. We look forward to your next visit to the city and your next stay at Hotel le marais.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

and that guarantee's a surprisingly quiet French Quarter sleep. also, ask for a room at the end of the hall.. dunno why people insist on talking in the halls like they were home-- hey folks, some of us are sleeping behind those hallway hotel doors!!
French Q is old. Many buildings have narrow halls, smaller rooms, thinner walls... like older parts of Europe. This is a boutique hotel. I would opt for a Holiday Inn or Sheraton if I needed/wanted thicker walls.
Front desk was a bit formal/standoff-ish. But efficient.
Housekeeping was excellent,and unobtrusive. What is with maid's shouting "SERVICE" at top of their lungs in hotels??!! Not the case at LeMarais. They did miss replacing water one nite, and were slow to make up the room another, but I'm being picky.
And did I mention a free welcome drink ticket good anytime during the visit for any drink they can make!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We truly appreciate your kind words and you taking the time to share your experience with the world. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy your complimentary welcome drinks at VIVE! We are definitely glad that our housekeeping staff has met your expectations during your stay and that the front desk staff was efficient. We are always looking for ways to further enhance our guest service and we appreciate your feedback. We do hope that you choose to stay at Hotel le marais again in the future. Once again, thank you very much. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel le Marais. Conveniently located a half a block from the middle of Bourbon Street. The room was quiet, comfortable and well appointed. Parking was also conveniently located across the street in the Royal Sonesta parking garage for a hefty price of $38 per night. We did enjoy our two, DELICIOUS, free drinks at the bar from an awesome and meticulous bartender. My only complaint is the 11 am checkout time. After a night on Bourbon, this girl needs at least a noon checkout.

Room Tip: DO get a drink at hotel bar. There is decent, resonably priced bar food right next door at the Coppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CajunTravelerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel le marais. We are much honored that you took the time to share your great experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to thoroughly enjoy your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our quiet rooms, valet parking and our complimentary welcome drinks at Vive! We do hope that you choose to stay at Hotel le marais in the future. Once, again thank you very much and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I spent three nights with Le Marais for his birthday. It was our sixth time to stay at the hotel. For us, we find it perfect! We love that it is a small boutique hotel with a great staff that is never too busy to chat with you or help you with any questions you may have. Housekeeping is always right on spot and takes time to notice the small things. We don't drink decaf coffee. They picked up on this and left us extra regualr coffee packets. I love all the attention to detail.

The bar, Vibe, is a great little one to stop in and have a St. Catherine's after a long day with lots of walking. It's never over crowded nor too loud to have a converstion and enjoy a few moments of peace and quiet.

We love staying here and it is always our first and only choice for a hotel in NOLA! Thanks to everyone who always make our stay so perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank catz9886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
It was great having you back at Hotel le marais. We definitely appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with the world and the TripAdvisor community. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations once again. It is truly an honor that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate a wonderful occasion in your life. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff who are always paying attention to detail and who are available to offer suggestions and recommendations. Also, we are glad that you were able to enjoy our bar, Vive! for your St. Catherine’s. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais as your one and only hotel in New Orleans. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was disappointed after all the reviews that I had read. It was just about average-the location was good but my room was located next to the elevator and it was very noisy. The walls were also quite thin, I could hear the next room too-I expected better from this hotel.
On the plus side, the internet was great and I was able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Winkie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to New Orleans. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary Wi-Fi all throughout the property and our great location which is in the heart of the French Quarter. We are a short stroll from all the great local attractions that this great city has to offer. We truly apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay. We are grateful for your feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope that this does not prevent you from giving us another chance in the future. Once again, thank you very much. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,917 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing