We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect choice!”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #10 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“A perfect choice!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The ambience and central location of this boutique hotel is perfect.

We had room 308, Superior King, with a warm inviting decor facing the peaceful courtyard. We spent every afternoon in the courtyard enjoying the heated saltwater pool and the comfortable loungers. We received two complimentary drink vouchers for Vive, two complimentary bottles of water (warm unfortunately) and the daily complimentary breakfast was excellent; scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, boiled eggs, cereals, assorted breads and pastries, fresh fruit, fruit juices, tea and coffee. Complimentary wi-fi, 24 hour coffee service and delicious ginger snap cookies were an added bonus. We would definitely recommend Hotel Le Marais.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room for a quieter stay. I would also recommend a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SengaMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    825
    164
    37
    33
See reviews for
539
1,600
98
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and I spent four nights in Hotel Le Marais last week in March and it was fantastic. Location in French Quarter was perfect, a half block from Bourbon Street but no noise...comfortable modern room, (and well-maintained), great full buffet breakfasts in downstairs bar area that exceeded our expectations, helpful professional staff gave us some good restaurant recommendations, (thank you Elsie). Weather was ideal too but can't give hotel credit for that. First time in New Orleans and this hotel made it memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I'm a frequent traveler to New Orleans and have stayed all over the city in different kinds of hotels, different areas, different classes. The Hotel Le Marais has been on my list to try but it never worked out. This time, when a flight out was canceled, I was in a pickle and the hotel I'd been staying in no longer had rooms. On a whim, I decided to see what the rates were for this hotel and they were so reasonable and the location so perfect that I took a chance and booked it without a second thought.

The hotel itself is lovely and quiet and relaxed, even though it's on Conti between Bourbon and Royal. You'd never know it! The woman at the front desk (I should have gotten her name but totally forgot -- I blame the fact that I'd just been back and forth to the airport and wasn't going to my own bed after all of that) was very helpful and welcoming. She got me checked in and in my room quickly and efficiently. Unfortunately, the first room, while beautifully appointed, was right on the street, facing the Royal Sonesta, and having stayed on a street-facing room before, I knew it was going to be too loud for me. So I returned to the front desk and she got me into another room immediately, without a problem, and this one was on the courtyard and spacious and comfortable.

The rooms themselves are quite large for a Quarter hotel. I've stayed at the Monteleone and the Omni Royal and the Roosevelt and all of those rooms were much smaller than this one -- for more money! (I loved the Roosevelt and it's luxurious rooms but they are very small.) The room was spotless and comfortable and the bathroom had those cool tiles that are so nice to put your hot, tired, walked-out feet on.

There's a nice, clean lobby and bar at the back of the property. A decent gym is back there as well. The courtyard is very special -- small salt water pool and big squishy chairs to sink into while enjoying a libation or two. I didn't spend that much time there, but what moments I did were very peaceful.

This hotel is part of the New Orleans Hotel Collection and I've stayed at one of their sister properties, the Mazarin, just over on Bienville. My review of that hotel is on TA but it's pretty much the same as this one! This NO Hotel Collection group seems to take pride in their properties and still manage to keep the costs reasonable.

It's not a party hotel. It's a grown up hotel. Which is exactly what I wanted.

You won't go wrong booking at this hotel. It's delightful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are quieter. Ask for one away from the elevator as the elevator is pretty lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I am a frequent leisure traveler to New Orleans, and I have stayed in every type of lodging available on those visits. Hotel Le Marais beats all of them...hands down! I am extremely picky and demand cleanliness in all properties that I stay. I always look high and low upon entry into the property for signs of dirt...really kind of OCD about it. This property was very clean! I could really not find evidence to prohibit my stay there. Our only concern was an A/C unit in our room not working. When they could not get a part, we were quickly relocated to a new room. Management was quick to discount our rate for the one night without the working A/C. rooms were very quiet along with being modernly decorated. Valet service was expensive, but very efficient and polite. Most of the front desk associates were very helpful. The bellman was overly helpful and made personal comments each time he saw us. The breakfast is adequate...great bacon and sausage....eggs were tasteless. For the price of the hotel, I expected a better breakfast. Cheaper hotels have better breakfasts that Hotel Le Marais. Opportunity for improvement there.
The location of Hotel Le Marais is absolutely PERFECT! We parked the car and did not touch it for three days. You are about 40 steps to Bourbon street and three blocks to Jackson square. Something Else Café is about 20 steps away. They have the best crawfish omelet imaginable, along with an awesome gator sausage po-boy. About 20 steps away, You will find Oceana, an authentic New Orleans cuisine restaurant...where the locals go.
I highly recommend Hotel Le Marais! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: King rooms are bigger than the double/doubles. No street noise bothered us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay here, and I'd have to say the combination of the perfect location and comfort was great. The hotel is small and very cozy. The salt water pool was a nice touch and the modern decor very pleasing. The room was very comfortable, the walk-in shower, and the bed wasn't an afterthought. I think the location is perfect. Between Bourbon and Royal is close enough to everything, but also helps keep the shield the noise if you need a break from the fun. The staff is really nice and helpful and the morning breakfast buffet hits the spot. I will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevejn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

So I was in the New Orleans area and had not made a hotel reservation (my bad). Most every hotel was booked due to multiple conferences so what to do? Use my TA App to find one that's what. This place had high marks and since I was only going to be there one night, I figured "how bad could it be, it's in the Quarter?". I was very happily surprised! This is a boutique hotel so things are a little "trendy" to say the least. Rooms are large, nicely appointed. Nice courtyard with heated pool. Only negative is that the ultra modern decor in the lobby and common areas are way overdone. There is this blue tint to everything, even the mismatched funky colored furniture. But hey, some people like that. Rooms are decorated more in a more subdued style. Flat screens in rooms are huge, some of the largest I have ever seen in a hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a courtyard facing room to avoid the ruckus from Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Small and lovely hotel in French Quarter. Excellent full breakfast, beautiful lobby and bar, helpful and friendly staff. Large, quiet rooms. Location is near everything. Walk to St. Charles trolly and Cafe du Monde.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your wonderful experience at Hotel le marais with the world. We are truly delighted that you were able to enjoy our enhanced complimentary continental breakfast, quiet rooms and our bar, VIVE! You are right, we are centrally located and all the great local attractions in the Big Easy are within walking distance. We do hope that you choose Hotel le marais again in the future when you make your way down to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Property: Hotel Le Marais
Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing