We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,660)
Filter reviews
3,660 results
Traveller rating
2,461
934
182
44
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,461
934
182
44
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbourbon stgreat locationfrench quarterconti streetboutique hotelsalt water poolsmall poolcomplimentary breakfasthalf blockhotel baryogurtfront desk staffsmall hotelwould definitely stay here againwould highly recommend this hotelvalet parkingloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,444 - 2,449 of 3,660 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel... I like the fact that it is in the French Quarter and close to everything! The hotel is very clean something I really value when I search for a place to stay. Customer Service Great... When we checked in young lady very helpful and eager to offer us advice on places to go. The two JT's cool (Bartender & Bellhop).. Cool bar area and cute courtyard. Nice Stay.. Comfy Clean beds and rooms.... Breakfast in the morning was appreciated but just okay... I mean you are in New Orleans around great food so cant compare... Plus very safe!!!! for women who travel alone like I do at times...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLQ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location! As others have said, the customer service was great. Elsie was sweet checking us in and welcomed us with drink coupons for the bar. If you are lucky, Olga will make you one of her amazing cocktails! Room was small but nice: comfy bed and linens, bathroom small with not enough counter space for toiletries or sufficient towel racks, but the water was super hot and the shower was nice. Yes, the hair dryer is hidden in a dresser drawer, not sure why. Very quiet (4th floor) room since we were not near the elevator. However, the room doors are not thick or soundproof, so you will hear every door slam shut and all conversations in the hall. The elevator is very slow, but does require a key to enter, which feels safe. We were there during the French Quarter Festival and it was just wonderful to be in that location--half a block from Bourbon St and a short walk to Jackson Square, Canal St, etc. We did not get our room cleaned on the first day for some reason, had to ask for more towels. No mini bar or fridge, and no room service, but a great hot breakfast in the morning. There is a nice patio area and pool, but it's mainly nice to look at, too small to swim in. It's quite a peaceful refuge from the bustling activity outside. Walk everywhere from this hotel! Great meals at SoBou, Palace Cafe, Bourbon House, Mr B's, The Ruby Slipper Cafe, Cafe Du Monde...I want to go back! Enjoy

Room Tip: Don't accept a room near an elevator
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Unfortunately we were not impressed with this hotel. For the money spent, it was not a great value, with better options available (and less expensive). My wife quipped " La Marais must be French for La Quinta".

Pros- To be fair, the people were nice, the hotel was neat, modern, and close to the action without being too close. The complementary breakfast was good also.

Cons - Our room wasn't ready when we got there (arrived 1 hour early). Not their fault, but we decided to wait for the hour. Still wasn't ready, so we were told to go explore and they would call us when the room was ready, but they never called. The rooms were very small even with double beds. Very few rooms with a view, and we couldn't get the shutters open because the bed was so close to the window. The bathroom was small also, with the shower stall only being about 18 inches wide. 4 of our 6 valet experiences were poor, and there seemed to be a disconnect between the valet service and the front desk. There is no real concierge, and no gift/sundry shop.

Spending as much as we did, we really expected more from this hotel. Our friends stayed at the Omni close by, spent less, and had a much better experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raddad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were looking for a hotel in the French Quarter with modern amenities but still with charm. Hotel Le Marais is just that - boutique-ish, if you will. We did unfortunately get a room next to the elevator - we're not too picky, and luckily this is NO after all, and we figured at the very least we'd be right along with the festivities going in. Do note, while waiting for the elevator folks can hear every word you're talking about in the room across from the elevator. Another unfortunate problem was that we could not pick up wifi in our room. But within a few minutes of trying to work out the problem, we were offered a discount and moved to another room - which after a full night out, seemed like more work than it's worth. And the staff continually tried to remedy the problem. Last of the minor issues is that I had to "discover" the hair dryer in the top drawer of the dresser - not the first place I'd look for one - so maybe they can find a place is the lovely, and I mean truly lovely bathroom for it.

I would say this was average, but the customer service was excellent! Also, it was clean, modern (we loved the bathrobe!) and it had a lot of nice touches like the free drink coupons and breakfast that ran later than most :) It is also in a fantastic location! Also too, the beds are SO comfortable - slept like a tipsy baby every night. :)

Insider tip: The Copper Monkey next door is a place where you can yuck it up with locals and get food far late into the night! The shrimp creole is amazing!

Room Tip: Avoid the "01s or 02s" eg. 301, 402 - they are right off the elevator and quite loud.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna78_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights here in April 2014. Room was very nice and clean with a comfy bed. The hotel is only a block from Bourbon Street and we were concerned about the noise, but we really didn't hear much from the 4th floor. They offered complementary breakfast, which we enjoyed every morning we were there. Food was very good. Overall the staff was nice and helpful. Location-wise, it was perfect. A minute from Bourbon Street and only a few minutes to Canal Street or the rivers edge. A pleasant experience for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Nikki_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews