We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good but the rest terrible”
Review of Hotel Le Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Marais
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our room was small and dark. No fridge in the room. Breakfast is horrible with overcooked omelet and no proper place to sit (taken in the bar). The pool is so small and for decoration only.
Location is excellent next to Bourbon street but terrible smell in the street from the opposite building. Nice thing, they offer welcome liquor at arriving.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Franck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to New Orleans. Our guest experience is our top priority and we are always looking for ways to enhance this to ensure complete satisfaction. I would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory breakfast experience. We greatly appreciate your feedback and rest assured I will personally follow up with the issues that you have encountered. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our complimentary welcome drinks to our bar, Vive! and the convenience of our location. We do hope that when you make your way back to New Orleans, we can be of service to you and your family once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,905 - 1,911 of 3,253 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights this week and I could go on and on about how wonderful it is!

Clean, safe, and beautiful! This hotel really was a treat to be able to return from a day of seeing the sights or a night of taking in the city and be in the lap of luxury.

The staff is extremely helpful and professional. We were treated as friends not just guests.

We will be returning to the French quarter and you better believe this will be where we are staying!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during your recent visit to New Orleans. We are truly ecstatic that you have enjoyed your visit with us. It is great to hear that our team has met your expectations with the personal service that we provide. We are grateful that you will be choosing Hotel le marais when you make your way down to New Orleans again in the near future. We are already looking forward to your visit. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

warmly recommend this place. great location in the very centre of the french quarter, yet in a side street to bourbon and hence no noise. lovely pool in the backyard to chill next to. very good complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: we had room facing backyard - very satisfied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fridtjofen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

We very much appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel le marais. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our enhanced complimentary continental breakfast and our lovely brick floored courtyard with heated salt-water pool which definitely captures the romance and charm of New Orleans. You are right; we are located in the heart of the French Quarter and just a stone’s throw away from all the great local attractions that the city has to offer. Once again, thank you very much for choosing Hotel le marais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights, one of my favorite hotels to date even though we only had a window. The bar area was alive, its right int he middle of EVERYTHING, the pool area is full or different colored lights giving it a fun feeling. The workers are very helpful and super nice, wish the price wasn't so high but we paid for location. Bathrooms are a little small too but that didn't affect the overall fun of the place -- its my favorite place in NOLA!

Room Tip: All rooms have only windows and you can't open them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed the last week in July to celebrate our 14th Anniversary and it was Awesome !!! The location was the best, we walked everywhere. It's an oasis right behind the famed Bourbon Street madness. They even let us check-in at 11am. The rooms were small but very trendy and comfortable. The breakfast buffet far exceeded what we thought would be included: eggs, bacon, sausage, premade omelets, toast, cereal, bagels, fruit, juices, coffee, tea and more. The courtyard pool was great for a little relaxation from long days & nights partying. I can't say enough about the great time we had !!!

Room Tip: The rooms behind the bar are quiet and very private - only 4 on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PiczFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daffne R, General Manager at Hotel Le Marais, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hotel le marais during this very important occasion in your lives. We are honored to have been a part of it. Our hotel is definitely located in the center of all the action in the French Quarter. We are half a block from the jazz on Bourbon St. and the antique shops on Royal St. We are thrilled to hear that our enhanced complimentary continental breakfast has exceeded your expectations. We do hope that when you make your way back to New Orleans, you will choose to stay at Hotel le marais. Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a good choice if you want to stay in the French quarter. We had a king room with a balcony and although it wasn't huge it was big enough for a comfortable few days. We liked the location, it felt safe at night and we could walk most places. The hotels on Canal Street looked rather big and impersonal in comparison. I hated Bourbon Street but it was easily avoided and noise wasn't a problem. Our balcony was over the courtyard but there were no seats so it wasn't very useful for relaxing. About a week before our trip I noticed that the room rate had gone down and the hotel changed our booking without any problem. The breakfast was average but it was free and convenient. The complimentary drinks were a nice touch and the staff were all pleasant. There was a very nice man from housekeeping that we kept meeting in the elevator. We valet parked which was expensive but everywhere seemed the same. There is no valet person outside which was confusing on arrival. You have to abandon your car in the street or on the ramp of the garage opposite and hand your keys to reception. It was fine once we knew the routine and picking it up was always quick.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tourist_or_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I really did like this place. Rooms are nice, modern, and beds are very comfortable! Breakfast had bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs... as well as other quick breakfast items. The couple of things that were negative... Don't get a room near the ice machines or elevator. Also when I was leaving I checked in the bed by flipping back the sheets all the way and noticed a lot of hair at the bottom of the bed. A bunch of hair. It was pretty gross. It wasn't our hair and there was allot! So I'd suggest check your bed. Other than that I really enjoyed my stay. People were very friendly. You get 2 complementary drinks as well. The bar and pool are nice....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank bunster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
6,129 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,531 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 167 in New Orleans
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Marais

Address: 717 Conti Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £131 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired by an effortless amalgamation of classic and modern. Hotel le Marais is New Orleans’ newest upscale boutique hotel. It is where the trendsetters, influencers and fashionistas go to stay in the heart of it all. Set amid a historic and cultural backdrop, this French Quarter hotel is a modern and upscale sanctuary with four-star amenities and a high level of personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann Marie Antoinette Hotel
Hotel St Ann Marie Antoinette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing