We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night, nice room, loud outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W New Orleans - French Quarter
Ranked #74 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One night, nice room, loud outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

spent one night here during NBA all start weekend. City was mobbed. Hotel took security seriously with so many people. Made us feel safe. Room and gym were both nice. Bathroom was small and toiletries were overpowering in lemon. Very nice front desk staff.
Try to get a room away from street. Noise outside could be heard through the windows. Overall a solid hotel in the french quarter.

Room Tip: Away from street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redzins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hello redzins,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent trip to New Orleans over NBA All Star Weekend! I hope you enjoyed your trip! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    246
    139
    62
    45
See reviews for
112
357
31
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I selected this hotel primarily because it is a W and secondarily because of the location. I read some the the reviews and those who said you should avoid this place, must be crazy! From the moment we arrived, the staff was very welcoming. Shawn at the front desk could not be any more helpful and friendly. Then Lan at the bellman desk also provided insight on things to do and places to go. The property is very nice as are the rooms. This will be our hotel of choice in the French Quarter!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lecko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello Lecko S,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! I'm glad to hear our staff was able to provide you with some good suggestions of things to do and places to go! We look forward to seeing you again soon upon your return to the Big Easy!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

In one word my last experience here is appalling! Booked a more expensive room with a sun deck, sounds good but all it means is that your patio door opens onto a community balcony with no privacy at all. The rooms are worn down and need some TLC. At check in we were told that no rooms were available however 2 people just in front of us got given keys to their rooms and when we stepped aside to let the person behind us check he to got his room straight away. Once in the room there were no towels and amenities. We got woken up 3 times with the Do Not Disturb sign on; I guess house keeping needs some training. Had to sleep with the tv as the remote didn't work. The funny side somebody actually came to my room when i complained about the remote and he showed me trick to change the channels; go and stand by the front door, holding the remote at that angle resolved the issue!! And yes that worked for changing channels but not to turn the tv off. Room service was disgusting the sandwich was prepared a long time in advance and was soggy. Points, free wifi or drinks as an SPG member of my level were not offered or given. The base sheet on the bed was for a smaller size mattress and you can imagine what happens then. Don't think that a return to this property is on the agenda soon!

Room Tip: Stay in the Westin or any other boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whotelsnola, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello Nicke07 -

Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest program as you're a very important guest to us. I'm sorry to read about the challenges that you faced while you were staying with us. I know we were able to offer some compensation for your troubles while you were on property, but if there's anything else that we can do to turn your experience around, please let us know. We hope that you'll give us another opportunity to show you a wonderful experience from the time you arrive to the time you depart as I know we're capable.

Thank you again for your time and your feedback. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Where do I start ?.... The room wasn't ready when we got there , all we wanted to desperately
Do was shower and change . All other guests were able to check in however our room was the only room not ready . The girl at the check in desk wasn't the smartest that's for sure either . She Could have cared less until I asked for the manager . The manager was nice and bought us a drink at the bar and tried to speed the room up however 2 hours in still no room . We were promised that he was sending housekeeping there and would be done any minute and they would notify us... That never happened. The new girl at the desk knew nothing of this and said our room had been ready .. Then we paid for the fabulous room with a sun deck .... All it is is a door going out to a balcony that the public can use at any time . There is no privacy at all... We had to leave our door that barely opened because it was jammed anyhow closed at all times. We just wanted to rest before dinner because we had flown in from FL and were exhausted. We had our do not disturb on the door. They came and woke us up twice !!!!! Then the room next to us was the stairs and emergency exit and they were hammering and using a saw on our walls !!! We were so upset we called the front desk and they knew nothing of construction going on and said they were going to look into it and call us back... Never heard a word from them..they stopped when we started banging on the wall. The walls here are paper thin .... You can hear anything and everything going on , conversations , laughing , toilets flush , doors close .. EVERYTHING ! We came back after dinner and out to in the room didn't work . We had a tech come and turn it on and when he left it still didn't work. The channels nor volume didn't turn . We had to sleep with the tv on because at that point we were so annoyed we didn't want to deal with the hotel anymore. So after a night of no sleep , and our do not disturb still on the door - housekeeping bangs on our door at 8:30 am, this is after hearing her bang on the doors around us as well. We have absolutely had it and as I'm typing this the wifi constantly Keeps kicking me off . I am a gold member of the W and stay frequently at W hotels and this is not W standards , the staff could care less here and we will never stay here again ! Do not waste your money !

Room Tip: None ! The basic room is more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauriebklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whotelsnola, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hello lauriebklein -

I'm sorry to hear that you experienced several challenges while staying at our hotel. This is not the type of experience we want our guests to have and appreciate the feedback that you provided as it helps us improve on the level of service that we deliver. I know we were able to offer some compensation for your troubles while you were here and hope that it helped to turn your experience around in the end. As an SPG member, we appreciate your loyalty to the Starwood brand and W hotels. We'd love the opportunity to show you a different experience the next time you're in New Orleans as we have other rooms that might be a better fit, offer more privacy and have balconies overlooking the French Quarter. If there's anything else that we can do for you in the meantime, please feel free to reach out to us at wfqcservice@whotels.com. Thank you again for your feedback, your consideration and your time.

Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have stayed at W hotels around the world and am very loyal to the brand. I'm sorry to say the French Quarter W was the first one I would not return to.

My husband & I paid $579/night for a Fabulous Room this past weekend. We were impressed when we first arrived. The valet area and hotel courtyard that we were initially greeted with are lovely. But it went down hill from there...

We booked our room specifically over the lower class rooms because we wanted a balcony. But it turns out that the "balcony" is just a door that opens to the public courtyard. There was nothing keeping anyone from sitting in "our balcony" chairs or walking by our room all day & night. The extreme lack of privacy forced us to close the blinds the entire trip. Instead of enjoying the open air we paid for, we had absolutely no natural light! We would have been better off paying for a cheaper room and walking down the hall to enjoy the public access to "our balcony".

The other massive problem with the room was that the walls were paper thin. I'm assuming the whole hotel has this issue (I heard others complaining about it). I'm a 30-year-old that enjoys herself in New Orleans as much as the next person. I can sleep almost anywhere and rarely am bothered by outside noise. So, please, trust me when I say I've never experienced hotel room noise like this. I actually know the names of the people staying in the room next to us because I could hear their conversations like they were taking place in our room. And any noise from the hallway is worse.

Those two things alone had us so turned off that then we started noticing a lot of other smaller flaws. I won't take up space with them, but there were a few.

But I think the final straw for me was the lack of consistency I received while ordering room service. On Friday I ordered a sandwich and, when it arrived, it loosely resembled the sandwich's description on the menu so I ate it. On Monday, I ordered the same exact item and got a completely different sandwich. I confirmed with the server that it was correct even though the menu said "with pimento fondue and okra" and my sandwich had "spicy brown mustard and a slice of swiss cheese". This wasn't a matter of being delivered the wrong item, it was a matter of consistency. Their entire restaurant/room service felt like an afterthought where they are just putting whatever they had in the kitchen on the plate and serving it.

Bottom line? If we had paid $250/night for this hotel, I would have given it an "excellent". But when you start charging $500+/night for rooms, my expectation levels go up significantly. And the W French Quarter didn't rise to the occasion.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happycj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello happyjackman,
I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in your recent stay at W French Quarter. Thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to my attention. I will relay your comments to my staff and see that the necessary improvements are made. Again, please accept my apology for the problems you encountered with your stay.
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you want to stay in the French Quarter but not be on one of the extremely busy streets this is the place for you. We were 2 short blocks to Bourbon Street, but didn't have the backed up traffic. Everything was within walking distance. Jackson Square, the shops along the River.
The hotel itself is beautiful. The rooms are very contemporary, the courtyard is the perfect place to relax with beautiful plants and comfy seating.
The only part I was perplexed by was the lobby, or lack of a formal lobby. It was a small check in area and it took a while to get checked in because there was only 2 people working. Not a real problem.
Overall I was very pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katwoman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello katwoman46,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us on TripAdvisor and for telling us of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to W French Quarter!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

From the moment we checked in, it was apparent we were in for a wonderful stay. From the friendly staff (Elijah), to our comfortable room, to the tasty food, to the refreshing drinks - we had an exquisite experience. New Orleans will be forever be in our hearts and it's because of the W!!! We love you guys (or y'all)!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcjajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello dcjajohnson,
Thank you so much for choosing W French Quarter during your most recent trip to New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear you had such a delightful experience with us! I will pass along your kind comments to all of our staff, particularly Elijah. He will be so pleased to hear from you. Thank you for your excellent review! We look forward to welcoming you back to W French Quarter!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,314 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,913 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#52 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,918 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,965 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Property: W New Orleans - French Quarter
Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing