We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally clean property and exceptionally wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W New Orleans - French Quarter
Ranked #60 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“Exceptionally clean property and exceptionally wonderful staff”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel was in a perfect location and all of the staff were very competent, friendly and helpful. Additionally, I want to praise one of the hotel groundskeepers, Alvin Franklin, who took special care making sure that the elevators, the poolside, and all places in between were immaculate. He's the kind of employee that gives the hotel guests the experience of friendliness and peace of mind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello MarciaSantaMonica,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent stay in New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass along your praises to our staff members, particularly Alvin. We can't wait to welcome you back upon your return! Looking forward to seeing you again soon at W French Quarter!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    262
    141
    66
    48
See reviews for
124
385
33
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

For four recent nights in Nola, we wanted to stay in the Quarter but wanted modern amenities as well. Turns out this is quite a typical W property: tries a bit too hard, and charges like a five star, but doesn't always deliver.

The pluses:

great location gets you to all the sights in the Quarter, the Marigny, the CBD and Warehouse district on foot. Garden District and Uptown are conveniently reached by streetcar or cab.

Charming inner courtyard with lounge chairs, a fountain, a small pool are inviting from morning to night, a calm oasis away from the bustling streets.

Friendly staff everywhere, at checkin, in the restaurant, the concierge and the valet attendants.

Good fourth night free room rate, free breakfast offer from Amex, and a nice cheese and wine welcome from the manager.

Minuses:

Small, darkish room with tiny bathroom

Sloooow wifi

Our room also happened to be near the gym. Waking up at 6:00am on my vacation because some knucklehead is dropping his dumbbells on the floor: not so cool.

Puzzling breakfast menu that gets even stranger for Sunday brunch. Basically there is nothing that is not covered in sugar, chocolate, bacon or eggs, sometimes all four. How about some plain fruit, granola, a bagel?

$44 per day valet charge!

Real minus:

A room service tray is deposited next to our room some time on Saturday. Sunday morning, the tray is still there. We go explore the city. By nighttime, the same tray is STILL sitting there. So we call to complain before going to dinner. Back late that evening. Tray has not moved. Only after a second call is the offending tray finally taken away.

We also found a smallish roach in our room. On its own I wouldn't think too much of it. Could happen to the best of us. But with food trays sitting around for literally days, that little roach was probably not alone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trippy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello trippy036,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay via TripAdvisor. Please accept my apology for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will address these matters with my team and see that the necessary improvements are made right away. Thank you again for your comments.
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvedere, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Quentin was extremely personable and a pleasure to deal with. All of his recommendations from restaurants to Second Line were excellent. He was always eager to help us out.

The hotel is in an excellent location in the French Quarter, just far enough away from the Bourbon St mayhem, but still in the center of things.

The restaurant was excellent! Try the oyster tacos and sweet potato beignets.

I would stay here again.

KP

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritchetthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello Pritchetthead,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to the Big Easy! I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your praises of Quentin; I will pass along your kind comments to him. We look forward to having you return and stay with us again.
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Location could not have been better. Property and staff full of personality. Enjoyed the complimentary hurricanes at check-in. Room was average size for a W but the balcony was a huge bonus! Elijah (concierge) and Lorenz (manager) went out of their way to make sure our trip was "W"onderful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 562BeckyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello 562BeckyS,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to the Big Easy! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. I will make sure to tell Lorenz and Elijah of your praises! We look forward to welcoming you back to W French Quarter upon your return to New Orleans soon!
Warm regards,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Thank you EVERYONE at WFQ for being so lovely. Shawn at the front desk is the sweetest. So helpful! Gave us a great room and was so accommodating. Malik and all of the guys out front are the greatest. So cheery and sweet. He took great care of us. Rooms are nice. The outdoor living room/courtyard is such a nice spot. Quiet and comfortable. If you're staying in FQ you can't get better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello Casey S,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass along your kind comments to our staff, particularly Shawn and Malik. We can't wait to see you again upon your return to New Orleans! Thank you for such a great TripAdvisor review!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Talking about a great experience is not comparable to living that experience itself. My stay at the W French Quarter was simply amazing. The moment I stepped foot on the property I was in utter bliss! As soon as I pulled my vehicle in the valet stand I was greeted with a smile and a helpful hand by Quinton and Malik, both of which ensured I was well taken care of and that I was guaranteed to have a great stay at the W (they definitely, didn't disappoint). As I waited for my room key, I was given a Miss Abigail's Punch....oh my, it was the BEST drink I had all Madri Gras Weekend. Un-benounced to me Miss Abigail (who recommended the SoBou Surf & Turf and the Ginny Gin Gin Martinis....yet again one of my favorites) was one of the bartenders in SoBou (restaurant in the hotel) that I didn't meet until three days post the beginning of my stay. Miss Abigail not only made some of the best drinks...she sang songs that had the whole restaurant in total awe! We joined in and after my second martini...Miss Abigail was Gladys Knight and I was one of the Pips! In my sleeping quarters, I was excited to have a view that overlooked the quaint courtroom with heated pool and the quintessential New Orleans homes that surrounded this French Quarter gem. If it is wasn't for Quinton, Malik, and Miss Abigail my stay at the W French Quarter would not have been the same. Every time I visit New Orleans, I'll definitely be a guest of the W French Quarter and I'll recommend the hotel to all of my colleagues and friends. Whenever you arrive...just ask for Quinton, Malik, and Miss Abigail...they'll definitely show you a great time! Laisse le bon temps rouler!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello Johnathan M,
Thank you for choosing W French Quarter during your recent visit to New Orleans! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!! We so much appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such an excellent account of your experience with us. We appreciate your praises of our staff and property! I will pass along your kind words to Quinten, Malik and Abigail. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your return to the Big Easy!!
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I travel extensively for my job and so trade between Marriott and SPG properties depending on what is available in the location. I have also stayed in the French Quarter on both business and pleasure several times prior and well knew the challenges of finding a reliable hotel experience in this very busy tourist district. For that reason I researched a completely festival free two week period to book my recent 4 night and 5 day stay for pleasure. I also decided to splurge on the W because I had visited this property before, stayed in many other Ws, and assumed that the SPG nationwide reputation for service would be a guarantee against the familiar French Quarter problems with service and maintenance.

I am sorry to say that this lovely Hotel seems to have fallen under the French Quarter curse.
Here are the things that happened:
1) No Elevators in a 5 story building. During our entire 5 day stay one of the two elevators was down without a sign or notice and then on the busy Sunday when we were checking out the OTHER elevator went out. This is a 5 story hotel and people were forced to schlep up and down steep hot emergency stair wells with luggage. This went on all day Sunday with no signs of repair. Yet they still did not have postings on the elevators by days' end and the cheerful valets never warned people as they continued to march in vane over to the elevators and wait and wait... I never saw any maintenance people working on the elevators over the course of 5 days. The staff happily shrugged in commiseration with our plight but never gave an explanation of what the problem was, an estimated time of repair or a sincere heartfelt apology. The hard working valet certainly earned his tips that Sunday.

2.) Room not ready 4 hours after check in. We arrived for check in an hour AFTER our check in time on a relatively quiet Wednesday and told that our room was not ready with out an explanation or an estimate of the time for the wait. She took my phone number and said she would call me but never did -- instead I checked back three times as I was waiting there in the hotel without any idea that the wait would take so long. Then of course our luggage was delivered to the wrong room. These things are understandable if I get some conscientious and smart communication from the desk staff but I got very little. It seemed that the person at the counter only remembered me when I stood in front of her and then she forgot about my problems and me as soon as I walked away. She was friendly and sweet but not apparently very detail oriented and It was frustrating to have to keep "litigating" just to get my room after a long flight.

3. Room not clean. After the long wait it seemed obvious that our room had not been thoroughly cleaned after all. Another persons belongings were in the closet and food wrappers were on the floor near the desk.

4. Room not serviced while out all day. Next day after a full day out, we returned after 5:00 to an unserviced room with all of our damp towels still on the ground (there are no towel racks). We complained but had to make due with extra towels as we did not have time to wait for the cleaning staff. One of the best things about hotel travel is coming home to a clean made up room with restored amenities and towels so this was a disappointment. I figured out that I could avoid the problem by talking to the cleaning staff on the floor every morning as we left to say that our room was ready to be cleaned-- so it was put to the front of the line. Another complaint is that amenities were not restored on a daily basis unless we called up and asked. So shampoo and conditioner were always in short supply. Also room staples such as a cork screw and drinking class were missing and had to be requested. Not a typical experience at a W.

5. Forgotten Late check out. Because we had a late Sunday flight I asked for a delayed check out which they happily granted me in light of my lengthy delay during check in but as was typical here this communication did not seem to get to the rest of the staff. From 12 to 5 three different people knocked on the door asking if I was ready to check out.

6. Service and communication are what make a hotel shine and all of the above mishaps can be opportunities for a satisfied guest if handled competently and with follow through. Over several days I talked to three different people about my problems while I was there and they expressed heart felt regret and explained that they would look into what they could do for me or even refund some of my points and they would call me -- but no call or communication followed and no one at the desk seemed to have any information about these conversations. Finally on the last day before check out I received a standard email from the manager stating that he hoped I enjoyed my stay and asking for feed back.. I took the time to detail all of the above and he apologized and refunded one day of my stay and had a cheese and wine platter sent to my room.

Finally. although late in the stay, I felt like a valued customer. But things would have worked better if the various friendly staff that I had encountered took just one or two steps of follow through to show that they cared about my complaints. Anyhow in recognition of the managers responsiveness I give four stars in this review as opposed to one or two.

7.) Room Lay out: The room is modern with a tarot card decorating twist that I admired. The space is small but useful and as always the bedding was top notch. Two very simple things would make the room much easier to use: At least one towel rack installed into the small bathroom and reading lamps near the bed.

8.) The property. It goes without saying that the beautiful courtyard, ideal location, creatively renovated old building and very hip and eclectic décor all live up to your expectations for the W's unique boutique style. There are signs of wear and tear but it fits okay with the authentic French Quarter feel. Also the bar and Soubou restaurant offer unique and lighter fare and it is a fun spot to hang out.

In sum, it would be a spectacular place if the service were more responsive -- they need to try to solve problems for quests or provide explanations for why there is a problem and always offer some sort of compensation for the inconvenience without forcing the guest to request it.

I may return and will keep an eye on other reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a Courtyard room with a view. Its nice to listen to the fountain and is much quieter than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahenry1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wneworleans, General Manager at W New Orleans - French Quarter, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello Kahenry1963,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with all of the details of your recent stay with us at W French Quarter. We truly appreciate your feedback and take your concerns seriously. I appreciate you bringing these matters to my attention, and I will pass along your comments to our team and see that the necessary improvements are made. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the city, and we hope you will return and give us the opportunity to show you a better experience.
All the best,
James Wroblewski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,286 reviews
Central Business District
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
#23 of 164 in New Orleans
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W New Orleans - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New Orleans - French Quarter

Property: W New Orleans - French Quarter
Address: 316 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W New Orleans - French Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W New Orleans French Quarter is adjacent to historic Jackson Square and boutique shops, and is a short walk from galleries, the Riverwalk and Harrah's casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your W New Orleans - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New Orleans - French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
w Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing