We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the stay and park cruise package.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the stay and park cruise package.”
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed April 15 & 16th with the park and cruise package they offer. We had 5 rooms total and everyone was happy with the hotel. They had lots of security so we felt safe even though some of the building around the hotel did not look so great. Lots of places to eat around the hotel or the street car across the street was easy to use to get to the other areas. They offered a simple breakfast but be there early or you might miss out. Staff was friendly check in and check out was a breeze price was just as we was told it would be. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonya4052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    342
    203
    109
    74
See reviews for
279
328
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We preferred the security of knowing that our inn was run by a well known chain. But we also wanted the non-chain feel at the same time. The Maison St. Charles Inn seemed to fit the bill. It had a lot of charm and character. The room was plain but very comfortable, although an extra chair would've been nice. The courtyard was very nice, breakfast was pretty typical. The location right on the trolley line is great and it could be walked to the French quarter although you probably wouldn't make that walk later at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheese_head_in_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moody, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Had a wonderful time at the hotel this past weekend. Went down to New Orleans with a group of friends. Nobody in the group had one complaint about the hotel. The breakfast was great. The location is convenient to everything. The streetcar stops right outside the hotel. The hotel staff were very accomodating and friendly. There was security on the premises which made you feel perfectly safe the whole time.This was my first trip to New Orleans and it definitely won't be my last. And when I go back, Maison St. Charles will be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

It was my understanding that this hotel was recently renovated. Well, I checked in and checked out 10 minutes later. The room that I was assigned was on the first floor and was damp and moldy - thick mold in the shower. I just couldn't do it...it was nasty.

The hotel is also located next to a fast food place and the area in the courtyard smelled like fried food - no way to escape it.

The good news is the woman at the front desk was awesome - pure southern hospitality. I was refunded all monies.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationhappy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maison13, Guest Relations Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience we are so sorry your stay was not 100% satisfactory. Please note we have forward your review to management and issues relating to room condition will be rectified immediately. Again, our deepest apologies for this matter and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

My husband and a friend of ours stayed here for three nights during a trip down south that included the New years Holiday. We've stayed in New Orleans many times and have our favorite Inn to stay in, but poor planning and odd circumstances of our own fault left us without a reservation a week before NYE.
First the positives:
-If you'd like to be within walking distance of the streetcar stop, the CBD and the French Quarter then this is a good spot for you.
-This is a very basic remodeled chain hotel. The renovations are tasteful for the most part.
-The staff was really nice given the crap that happened to us (see below)

Negatives--
-its just a remodeled chain hotel. Nothing fancy and no character
-If you prefer to be in a neighborhood, in a property with New Orleans charm, this is NOT the place for you
-The Hotel has many signs up stating that it is a nonsmoking hotel. This is important to me. Well, we check into our room and not only does it REEK of smoke, but there is actual cigarette ash on the A/C unit. I don't even want to know. The room we were given was a corner ground floor property, my husband theorized that its the staff goof-off room or whatever. ...leading me to the next point...
-The first night that we were there in that room, we came home on the later side (who doesn't?) and none of our key cards would work. We tried everything. I went to the front desk multiple times until the desk attendant called an "on call" janitor to come look at the door. We waited fifteen minutes for the janitor to get there from his home (not blaming him) to get let into our room.
-With a broken door and a room reeking of cigarettes, I demanded a room change in the morning. I was moved with no argument (but no apology either) to a clean, quiet room with a working door the next morning.

The management should have been alerted of the problem, and we should have been offered an apology or some gesture to restore our confidence. I understand that its a busy holiday, and hotels have no problems filling up rooms, but guests still need to be treated well.

By the time we left, all I wanted to do was be at the 1896O'Malley House. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maison13, Guest Relations Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Thank you for your review of the Maison St Charles Hotel We take all guests complaints very seriously and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Please know we have forward your review to management and issues relating to room conditions will be rectified immediately. At times, we may encounter some maintenance issues, but we try to resolved issue like this within a reasonable timeframe. Again, we apologize for this and hope you will provide us with another opportunity to make your next stay in New Orleans more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

My friends and I couldn't have picked a better hotel! The rooms were nice and clean! It is an older hotel but has been very well maintained. The landscaping is beautiful and if you don't want to venture out, you can lounge around at the tables that are located in shaded
area of the hotel. We were there to have fun for Mardi Gras and was surprised that the hotel is located on the route of some of the parades. The streetcar runs right in front of the hotel and the buses run that route as well. Once our vehicle was parked it didn't move. The front desk staff was very friendly. Thank you Natasha and Troy you all made our stay enjoyable. When we asked for more towels, we received them in less than 10 minutes. Great hotel! No complaints! Great choice for location, price and conveinence! We will definitely stay there again next year!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank adw812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maison13, Guest Relations Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
On behalf of our staff ,we would like to thank you for your wonderful review we are glad we exceeded your expecations. we are motivated by your comment , we are proud to have Tasha and Troy as members of our team.

Looking forward to your next vist!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Rooms were clean, comfortable and a good size. Staff was helpful and courteous. Location on St. Charles trolley line was convenient. Grounds were well kept and security maintained.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerardG_322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maison13, Guest Relations Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you so much for the excellent review on your recent stay with us. we are so happy your stay was satisfactory and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#78 of 164 in New Orleans
1,251 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#102 of 164 in New Orleans
795 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#137 of 164 in New Orleans
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing