We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Passable and Won't Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Kreskin2207
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Barely Passable and Won't Return”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I had a super early flight into New Orleans so when I wasn't able to check into my room at 10AM I wasn't too surprised. That said, I find it hard to believe every room at this hotel was booked on a Thursday night, leading to my Friday night reservation. It was a standard answer and procedure, which I understand, but have stayed in other New Orleans hotels which allowed me in early, so I'll keep that in mind for future visiting.

The hotel is laid out very interestingly. You walk in from St. Charles into the lobby. On each side of the lobby there is a circle driveway that leads to the parking lot. It's kind of hard to explain, but imagine a horseshoe with the lobby in the middle and behind the circle you have the rooms. There's one or two historic looking houses/buildings converted into rooms, then more of a traditional hotel behind that. We were in the converted older style building. Our room, unsurprisingly, was very small (located on the second floor in the corner). I expect rooms in New Orleans and other cities to be small so it wasn't a huge deal. I did, however, look in the windows of some other rooms (in the same building) and they were quite large(r). I probably got shafted because I booked through Orbitz and got a super (low) rate....just a guess...

The carpeting in the room looked to be fairly new and the bedding was comfortable and clean. (Just an FYI, they do charge a deposit to your credit card for damages based on your length of stay.) Hopefully I won't get dinged for the bathroom door that was hanging off the hinges (you had to pick up the door and push in the hinge to get it to close.) The shower was clean enough but there was some sort of a black discoloration above the shower (guessing some sort of mold.) One of the main issues we had with our room was that there was NO cold water...zero. Imagine being in New Orleans in August...cold water would come in handy. Turn the cold side of the sink...all warm...turn the shower...lukewarm. Terrible. The AC did work fairly well though, would be hard not to be able to cool such a small room. The front desk staff was okay, not very outgoing or helpful.

I didn't try the pool, but I heard some other guests talking about how it was out of order. There was also breakfast served daily but I didn't get to check that out. One final drawback is the location. It's a great location for catching the street car (just across the street) and a 5-7 minute ride to the Quarter but its around several fast food restaurants which leads to some less than spectacular interactions.

I'm not going to return to this hotel. Just not worth the risk when there are comparable hotels at very comparable rates in the city. If you get a super rate and are in town for a short stay you'll be fine. I'm sure you've stayed in worse, I have.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    342
    203
    109
    75
See reviews for
279
328
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed at Maison st. charles on July 29-Aug. 2, 2011. The hotels is located in a old home, which understandably means the rooms will smell kinda old, but the room was clean and we enjoyed our stay. My only complains was the television reception in one of the rooms was bad and the internet connection is poor at best. Don't bother bring your laptop. There is a computer in the front lobby and you can use it. Personnel are helpful and friendly. Enjoyed our stay, St. charles trolley is right in front of the hotel and parking is safe across street, but that is no problem, plenty of security. Breakfast is good enough. all in all I enjoyed the atmospher of living in old new orleans!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popcrnluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is made up of a group of buildings. The rooms have all been renovated and look nice, but if you look too closely, you'll see the wear and tear - the old bathrooms, the clunky HVAC units. Housekeeping was awful. During a 5 night stay, we had housekeeping issues on 4 of them - room was cleaned, but no towels were left, a full box of (hotel supplied) towels taken and not replaced, full bottles of water thrown out. The front desk staff was helpful. There's a streetcar stop right across the street from the hotel, which was very convenient for getting into the French Quarter, etc. Rooms had mini-fridges.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is the best deal in NOLA. Beautiful, charming, and quaint hotel close enough to the action (taxi, streetcar) of Bourbon St. but far enough to get away from the craziness. Great area.
The only downfall is the staff. They really aren't too friendly or helpful. No southern hospitality here.
Free parking fro AAA members with card.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are too noisy. Try to get one by the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tessbroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

This hotel is not how it's pictured AT ALL on (booking.com) didn't get around to taking pics because too worried bout checking out ASAP. As I was traveling with young kids...it was the wrong hotel for them for sure. Bad neighborhood...not 2 blocks away, as someone earlier stated..its right there...eek. The desk employees were not friendly at all...but the rest of the staff was very nice and friendly and helpful! the Breakfast was quite good. room sufficiently clean but the AIR could not find happy medium. either freezing cold or icky hot. This hotel definitely fine for 20 somethings and couples with no kids.BUT the beds and pillows were not comfy at all. The parking was idiocy to say the least. "30 feet" approx. from Wendy's fast food joint, Popeye's block away. Voodoo BBQ couple blocks away (heard that was a good place to eat) but didn't feel comfortable taking the kids out at night. All in all would never stay here again. Oh, p.s. they do have a security guard on duty ...who definitely looks like he can take care any issues...but that made it all the more...hmmm they need him hanging in the parking area just outside the hotel, I must not be in a great area. again just my opinion.

Room Tip: JUST DON'T in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelicaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Just awful. I requested a Suite with a nice view and a balcony. We had to climb 3 flights of stairs to get to the room. Very steep steps. When we opened the door we found ourselves in an attic. The windows were about a foot tall and the only thing we could see was the brick wall of the next building. No balcony. The sofa was horribly stained. It looked like someone has urinated all over it. The furniture looked like it came from a garage sale. It was old and the paint was peeling and not one piece matched. There was no tub. When you truned on the water it sprayed out in gusts. The television was all snowy. The air conditioner was not working correcty and would not cool off. I called and ask for another room and was told this was the only suite. They also said there were no more rooms. To get ice we had to leave the building ( 3 flights of stairs), cross to the next building and climb another set of stairs. This was the most disgusting awful room I have ever had the displeasure of staying in. Please do not go to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadySkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We were delighted when we first opened the door to the suite (room 145), with its high ceilings, chandeliers and pocket doors. However, the room smelled so musty (and strongly of urine) that we went out and purchased an Air-Wick to use during our stay. Closer inspection revealed that the chandeliers were cob-webby and other areas of the room badly needed dusting. Someone else's cosmetics were found in both the nightstand and the writing desk, and the two trash cans were so tiny as to be useless. Tiny bathroom too, so if you're a "person of size", you'll have trouble closing the door to use the toilet.
The complimentary breakfast is best skipped (those horrible pre-cooked "omelets" and weird link sausages), but there are good places to eat within walking distance.
On the positive side, the outdoor courtyard is very pleasant during nice weather, and the location on the St. Charles streetcar line gets you around town very conveniently.
Next time I'm in New Orleans, I'll be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evd91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#78 of 164 in New Orleans
1,251 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#102 of 164 in New Orleans
795 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#137 of 164 in New Orleans
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing