We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #116 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at the Maison St. Charles for the weekend. Upon arriving in our room, we had to wonder if it had even been cleaned. We found some dirty clothes obviously left behind by a previous guest in the floor of the closet in plain sight. Do not see how a maid could have missed them. The door was very hard to open and close. Although we were not in the room very much, you still do not want to wonder if it has been cleaned. Also paying $17.00 a day to park in a self parking lot across the street is a little excessive. The Wendy's next store is disgusting and smells inside and out. Not sure if I would stay there again. Upon check out we were told they could not print us a receipt but would email it to us. Still have not received it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    338
    196
    105
    72
See reviews for
273
317
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We visited New Orleans again for Halloween 2011 and our room was much, much better than the last time we stayed at Maison St Charles. The room was larger, for one. The bathroom, which was my biggest gripe last time, was seemingly newly renovated and much cleaner. My problem with the bathroom this time was that the shower head was weak and too low for my 6'1, and that's about it. The big problem was that there was television signal for only about two or three hours during our entire stay, meaning I missed the World Series game 6 - luckily the sound worked. The desk told us it was normal. Huh? Thankfully we were out visiting the French Qtr or Garden District most of the time or I'd be much angrier.

I love the place. Perfect location and it's quaint. We look forward to staying here again next October. This was a much better stay than our 2009 visit...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elton74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

this place was so cute and so unexpected! It fit right into what i thought a " New Orlenas" hotel should be and the price was WONDERFUL! the little streets and each little separate courtyard, make it seem lie a tiny neighborhood! We will FOR SURE go back again! It is right on the St Charles Streetcar line, and you can get an all day pass (for any of the streetcars and buses) for 3 dollars and ride all day! Absolutely worth it!

Room Tip: ANY room seemed like a good room location! We were on the 3rd floor and loved everything about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-Buc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were very disappointed in this hotel. We booked our stay with them almost four months in advance for a 2 bedroom suite for 4 adults. One week prior to our arrival our reservations were sent to us but they were incorrect and were missing a Saturday stay. When we called the hotel they were not able to place us in the 2 bedroom suite for Saturday night but gave us two king rooms for Saturday night for an increase in price. We had no choice but to take this reservation. When arriving at the hotel it took 45 minutes to check in to our room. Once checked in, we went to our room and found out that they had given us a 1 bedroom suite for 4 adults. No comment or explanation for this was given at check in....or a nightly rate change, they were charging us the 2 bedroom suite rate for the 1 bedroom suite. We went back to the front desk to say a mistake must have happened. At this time, they told us the two bedroom suite was taken off the market last week. No other explanation was given. They did give us a 1 bedroom suite and one king room at a discounted price at this time. This room set up was very disappointing for our college parent weekend activities that we had planned. Additionally, the one bedroom suite had two TV's with no reception on either TV for our entire stay. We called everyday to get this fixed and nothing was ever done. Many other things went wrong with our stay; it actually ended up being the most talked about item with many, many people at the parents weekend. It provided a lot of humor. It was very bad press for this hotel. We stay at this chain a lot but looking forward we will think twice about staying ever again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Had the honeymoon suite. The Degas suite. It is awesome. Beautiful room very intimate. Great tub and stand up glass shower. Great balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast was good, nice selection.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jputnam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenks, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had a party of 5 and 2 rooms. The rooms were typical size and adequate for our stay. We found the employees at the front desk to be very friendly and accommodating. We liked the location because it was on the St. Charles Ave. streetcar line, so we could just park our car and get around where we wanted by riding the streetcar. We would probably stay there the next time we are in New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaceegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The hotel setting is New Orleans style with wrought iron, courtyard, etc. You can tell it used to be a really good place but it needs a little TLC now. On the other hand, price was good, $80 a night with our Choice Group connection and AAA discount. For this area, that is a good deal. It is a distance from French Quarter, etc. but streetcars run right in front of hotel and for $3.00 you can ride all day. Beds were very comfy and rooms had a flat screen TV, frig, and microwave. Shower/ bathtub should be replaced in my opinion. Also, hard to adjust water, got very hot quickly so beware! Sink faucets seemed to always have warm or hot water. Door was hard to open and safe was so dirty with handprints I was not about to use it. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was fine. I hope they are able to put some money into this place and bring back the New Orleans place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#72 of 161 in New Orleans
1,217 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#88 of 161 in New Orleans
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 161 in New Orleans
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing