We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice courtyards to sit and enjoy the day.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice courtyards to sit and enjoy the day.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We loved our room. Beds were comfy and room was clean. Everytime we went out of our room their was security guards doing there job. Street car access was great, never had to wait very long. We didn't use street car at night, instead we used taxi cab. I would agree that nighttime is a little sketchy around that area, we were told not to go near bridges or any further then the street we were on after dark. There is an amazing pizza joint a few doors down that had the best lasagna and pizza. We passed a couple homeless people laying just off the sidewalk and a group of hoodies, and a drug deal going on during our walk to the restaurant. we walked a little faster going back! If your not a nightclub person this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvsBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience in New Orleans at the Maison St. Charles. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and loved your room and our courtyards. We agree with you in saying that Slice Pizzeria is delicious! It is one of our favorites. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to providing accommodations for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    340
    198
    107
    72
See reviews for
275
320
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked this place because the weekend that we went to New Orleans it was hard to find a reasonably priced room. I'm glad we stayed here because it was more than adequate. The grounds are fairly attractive with nice gardens and courtyards. The hotel you can tell is older but you can also tell effort has been put in to keep it contemporary and appealing. The rooms are average to good - nothing special. The breakfast was satisfying. There was the usual toast, cereal, baked goods, coffee but there was also omelette style and hard boiled eggs, breakfast sausages, juices, yogurt and fruit. The location's benefits are that it is not far from the downtown area but is far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle. The street car is easy to catch although for someone new to the concept it was hard to figure out the timing. We ended up twice just taking a cab because we were waiting for too long.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed our location and breakfast. Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to providing accommodations for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed during mardi gras, the hotel is right in the middle of all the action. Check in was a breeze, and the staff was friendly. The street car stops right in front of the hotel, and will take u all over NOLA. This hotel was great for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosiebadazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us during Mardi Gras. We are delighted you had such a great stay. Please come back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

What a great surprise! The location is great, conveniently located on St. Charles between the French Quarter and the Garden District, along the trolley line (with a stop right out front). Also, several Mardi Gras parades (Uptown) go right past the door. I loved the courtyard atmosphere and the multiple buildings. It gives the motel a little seclusion from the street and neighborhood.

The price is affordable, especially considering its location. The rooms aren't fancy, but very nice, clean, and comfortable. The decor is nice, fitting to the neighborhood. The beds were amazingly comfortable.

There are several restaurants within a couple blocks, anywhere from Wendy's and Popeye's next door, to Emeril's Delmonico across the street.

There is a charge for parking in the somewhat secure lot. AAA members can receive free parking, but only if the room is booked through the AAA website, so be sure to compare rates.

Room Tip: Since pets are allowed, you might want to find out ahead of time if your neighboring rooms have pets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuba-IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you had such a nice stay at the Maison St. Charles during your visit to New Orleans. We look forward to accommodating your lodging needs again in the future. Our courtyard is beautiful in the spring!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed 2 wks at the end of January/beginning of February which is a "slower" period in New Orleans. Although it IS winter, and this is a warm weather destination, most Snowbirds tend to visit at Halloween, before and during Christmas, or in the couple of weeks leading up to Mardi Gras. This is important because the rigid rates at the Maison St Charles do not really reflect this slow period. Other reviewers seem pleased with the rates they received, but I wonder if they understand that many fine rooms in the Fr Qtr were going for $89-$99/night at the same time they were paying $109-$129/night here. I myself stayed at the Place D'Armes, right next to Jackson Square, the week before moving here, and my bill averaged $99/night there.

Which brings us to the matter of the location. Maison St Charles is always being praised for its terrific location because it is halfway between the French Qtr and the Garden District. While that may be geographically true, any seasoned traveler knows that halfway between 2 highly desirable locations, can often leave you in "No Man's Land". While that is not exactly the case here, it is pretty close. First, the Streetcar issue: Yes, the St Charles Ave line does stop right outside the door. Problem is, this close to town, it is almost always packed with other riders by the time it makes it in this far (Erato St by the overpass). We literally NEVER took the streetcar INBOUND from here; always gave up and walked the 25 mins into town. Given the rich foods we were eating, and the fact that we are healthy and good walkers to begin with, this was not a huge issue, but I think it really could present a problem to older or more sedentary visitors. Next, the Neighborhood: In the immediate area are Lee Circle, the WWII, Civil War and Ogden Museums; also, Emeril's DelMonico and a couple of ordinary restaurants in the proximate 2 blocks of St Charles. Then there is that "Daquiri Bar" on the corner, which is seedy looking and literally has people lying on the ground in front of it. (This did not happen once, but every single day we were there.) The Wendy's next door and the Popeye's and KFC on the next blocks could be convenient, I suppose, if you had children with you, but otherwise they just function as hangouts for the area kids who slow down service by gabbing with their friends behind the counter. Finally, Safety: There is onsite Security, but the iron gates on both sides of the driveway are left open all day and only closed at night. This allows free access to the Hotel property all day long through the Wendy's driveway. Twice I witnessed two young men who walked in this way early in the morning, went directly to the breakfast room, loaded up plates, and left together, via the other side of the driveway. Maybe they were guests who like to walk and eat at the same time?? Since we hiked into town so many times, we tried several different routes and found that, within a few blocks, are a public housing building (St Charles at Lee Circle) and a homeless men's shelter (Camp St by St Patrick's Church). All in all, I would rate the location as pretty dicey, especially for women.

Now for the Hotel itself: The Lobby is smallish, but attractive with shabby chic furniture and tile floors. There is a single computer here which had an "Out of Order" sign on it for several days of our stay. We were in a nicely decorated, good-sized, ground floor Double Queen room which was a little musty when we first arrived. I got a bottle of Febreeze, cranked up the Air Conditioner, and left the door open for about half an hour. Problem solved. To be honest, this is a common problem in New Orleans, so again no biggie for us, but if you have serious allergies, best beware. . . Also, the tub/shower area was just disgusting, with brown stained acoustic ceiling panels, peeling wall paper, and a plastic mat glued to the bottom of the tub in an attempt to cover still obvious stains below. Again, I got disinfectant at the CVS downtown and scrubbed like crazy before I set a toenail in there. Complete overhaul of the bath is needed. There was a crack in the vanity near the floor which I plugged up with paper after killing a roach (just one; it's New Orleans) on the sink. One of the headboards was in really bad shape and should be replaced ('nuff said about that). One of the lamps was non-functional for the entire period we were there. The Internet is free, and worked fairly well, but was completely inacessible one whole night and part of the next morning. The in-room safe was too small for a full-size laptop. The hairdryer had low power and should be replaced. The in-room coffeemaker looked as if it had never been cleaned, so again, I did it myself. Cable offers poor selection and erratic signal sometimes goes out completely. I know most people don't come to New Orlean to watch TV, but we were in town for an extended stay and after a while you just miss Mr Ed! (Get METV.)

The outside is very pretty, although that inside courtyard is a little weird-- seems like a wasted space to me. People smoke throughout the grounds, which are fairly noisy, and one night we even had to open the door to protest prolonged pounding next door where another guest had bolted the door on his roomie (I know this was not the Hotel's fault, but where was Security?). Jazz is played outside, which gives the space a nice vibe during the day and evening, but it is a little loud early in the morning and late at night. The Laundry facility was very helpful and Breakfast was fine with hot and cold options; only suggestion is to add herbal teabags. The Staff was distant and seemed to spend a good deal of time talking to each other, rather than exuding the customary New Orleans warmth towards its guests.

As mentioned above, we moved here after a week in the French Qtr, thinking a week of the downtown maddness would be enough, and we would welcome both a little quiet, and an opportunity to explore the Garden District, Mid-City, and Audobon Park areas more thoroughly. We did all of that, and I have to admit that we were reasonably comfortable at the Maison St Charles, but I doubt if we will return. We were there for a faily long stay (2 wks) and no one ever asked if the room was okay, or if we needed anything. Really, what you are getting here are mediocre accommodations and practically no hospitality. They just don't seem to care whether you are there or not. Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evangeline57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and receive their valuable feedback. I have discussed your comments with our staff and corrective action is being taken to address the deficiencies that you noted in your letter. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you love St. Charles Ave and the Garden District ..... this is the place for you. Charming courtyards, big comfortable rooms, New Orleans/mardi gras theme. Easy to hop on the streetcar to the French Quarter plus many restaurants close by. An excellent location and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: There is a fee for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip18Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I was here just this week with my wife and two children (12 and 10). Rooms were clean. The price was awesome (compared to other properties in the area). Staff was very accommodating and respectful. There is a street car stop right out front on St. Charles St. so once you are parked you can leave your own car there and use the street car. Nice and quaint. Breakfast was sufficient. Pool are was clean and small hot tub was adequate for us. 24 hour security added to my satisfaction. Would highly recommend. (keep in mind, it is a Quality Inn, it is NOT the Ritz Carleton, but for what it is, it was very nice.

Room Tip: There are three courtyards. Two have bistro type seating and one is around the pool. All are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ziplineboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#93 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#110 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing