We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but that's the only good thing about this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, but that's the only good thing about this hotel.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our fourth visit to New Orleans. The three previous visits we stayed at the W in the French Quarter and loved it. But this time we were traveling for a wedding. The wedding party was staying at the Maison St. Charles. Because of that and because the photos looked OK, we opted to stay there, too. We will not be back.

The location is great. It's right across the street from the trolley. The trolley is a cheap ride into the French Quarter or you can take it the opposite direction down St. Charles and visit the zoo and other tourist attractions.

The rooms have been updated, but need more TLC. Even though the decor had been updated, it still felt dated and grimy. The knobs in the bathtub hadn't been sealed and could be wiggled and jiggled. The room had a fridge. When we opened it to put some water inside, we discovered a gross smell which turned out to be a ziplock bag filled with meat that was crammed in the freezer. Gross.

Breakfast is included. The usual continental breakfast type fare. You can eat in the patio area.

There's a small pool, but we didn't use it.

The lobby staff was not helpful and gave us wrong information regarding events and transportation. For example, they told us they'd arrange a cab for a 3:30 a.m. ride to the airport. They didn't and instead we were standing in the street, hailing a cab in the middle of the night with our luggage and four-year-old daughter. Stressful and scary!

If you end up in this part of town, be sure to try Slice. It's a funky pizza place with unusual slices, a variety of tasty beers and desserts. Also a few blocks down the street was The Irish House, which was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMamaPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    342
    202
    109
    74
See reviews for
279
327
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed here Final Four weekend and was very impressed.Great location right by streetcar and walkable to Central Business District and French Quarter.Long walk but doable.Really liked the courtyard good place to relax after a day exploring.Typical breakfast and small pool is okay.The people at the front desk were always very helpful,we found the whole staff to be courteous and friendly.A very good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhawbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us during the Final Four weekend. We strive to provide excellent service and are delighted that you had such a great time. Thank you for your comments about our courtyard, it is such a nice place to relax after a long day! We look forward to accommodating your lodging needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Fl
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I took my group down here for a pre-cruise one night stay at the Maison St. Charles and we all were super satisfied. Not too far from the downtown area but the trolley stops right in front of the hotel. The rooms were elegant and so inexpensive. Great location, Great Staff! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEO108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We sincerely appreciate your comments about the Maison St. Charles. We are delighted that you had such a nice stay with us. Our staff works hard to make sure all of our guests are happy. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I searched a long time for the perfect hotel for us--price, location and amenities. This one was just right! I am glad we did not stay in the French Quarter--this was a much better location to base ourselves. The staff was very nice. I requested a refrigerator and microwave and we got them promply at no extra cost. The room was fine, clean and had everything we needed. The hotel is right on a St Charles street car stop. But beware--if you are depending on the street car to go everywhere--don't. Many times it was too full to pick us up and we waited over an hour one time while several cars went by us full--take a cab! They are easy plentiful but a little pricey--put that in your budget or rent a car.(I bet parking is a pain though)

Room Tip: Probably a room near the courtyards and not the pool would be best. One side of the hotel is next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kemistry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking your time to tell us about your stay with us at the Maison St. Charles. We are thrilled that you had such a nice time and that the staff was so helpful. We are delighted that the Maison St. Charles was the perfect pick for you! We look forward to you staying with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in a suite which was really nice in size. The location of the hotel was great since it was close to the St. Charles street car. I would suggest this to hotel to someone who wants to stay close to the fun but away from the noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwinterboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our suites and location. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stay 2 nights in Mar 2012
Located on St Charles st in the garden district. Rooms were clean & comfortable. continental breakfast was good. Ft desk & hotel staff was good, free WiFi, nice pool and hot tube. Various shop, restaurants & coffee houses alone St charles st. Street car stop is literally across the street. Good Value will Stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDeFamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We sincerely appreciate your feedback from your stay with us in March. We are so glad your enjoyed your time in New Orleans and at the Maison St. Charles. St. Charles Avenue is a great location to be in and we love being right on the streetcar line! We look forward to having the opportunity to provide accommodations for you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My stay started out with a hotel door that wouldn't open. They had to open the door with a crowbar, so I could retrieve my belongings. They get us another room then it has a HUGE water bug (roach) in it. The tv was snowy. The continental breakfast wasn't bad, byte get there early. They ran out of food and only had one waffle machine, so be ready to wait. The man working the desk at night wasn't the sharpest tool in the shed. He made us walk through the narrow driveway to the street because the doors were locked. He could have unlocked them instead of letting us running the risk of becoming roadkill. I will not stay here again. It wasn't very expensive, but the quality could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliemcclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us at the Maison St. Charles. We value your patronage and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I have discussed your comments with our staff and I assure you that your remarks are being used constructively. Again, thank you for your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#69 of 163 in New Orleans
1,246 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#101 of 163 in New Orleans
791 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#137 of 163 in New Orleans
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing