We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Customer Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #111 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I spoke with a Tasha who reserved my room with the nastiest attitude known to mankind. When I called back to ask a question I was told that my reservation did not exist and they were sold out of rooms. The other couples that was traveling with us had already booked their rooms and we were left out. HORRIBLE!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I have discussed this with our staff. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced while trying to book a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    335
    191
    105
    70
See reviews for
268
315
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Luxurious and well kept in a city battered by hurricanes. Located in the beautiful Garden District, away from the insanity of Bourbon Street. And the good news is you can take the famed Streetcar Named Desire down to Bourbon and "raise cane", then leave it behind for a good night's sleep. Room service was delicious, but food in N.O. is part of the culture. We stayed in room number 27. We had just a few minutes to drop our bags in the door and run downstairs to catch the streetcar. Upon our return to the room, we had to push the door open because our bags were still in the way, yet the hot water in the bathroom was on full blast and the bathroom was completely steamed up. Both nights that we stayed there were knocks on our door, but no one was there when I answered. The next morning when we got up, the hot water in the bathroom was on high again. I called the front desk about our plumbing issues but they couldn't seem to find the problem. I can only assume housekeeping left the water on.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohdanigirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your wonderful stay with us at the Maison St. Charles. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and got to ride the streetcar and eat some delicious New Orleans cuisine! Thank you for bringing the plumbing issue to our attention. We hope we have the opportunity to provide you lodging accommodations again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythewood, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned home after our second stay at the Maison St. Charles. We were there for three days in November for the Po-Boy Fest and stayed on the second floor in one of the suites, which we found to be charming and very comfortable. This time we stayed for a week in one of the rooms around the courtyard. The bed was VERY comfortable...The breakfast area is really nice with a satisfying array of breakfast items. Every morning we took our breakfast in the lovely courtyard (complete with a fountain) just outside our room. The location is convenient and parking is less expensive than other hotels in the CBD and French Quarter. As others have mentioned, the streetcar is very handy as it stops right in front of the hotel. Plus, we just love the property, which is handsomely landscaped. For the price, it is absolutely our choice for lodging in NOLA. Those who have grumbled about the cost should be informed that ALL the hotels in New Orleans are more costly during the high season and during any major festivals. Lastly, we found the housekeeping staff and front desk folks to be very friendly and helpful. We visit New Orleans a couple of times each year and will be staying here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your visits with us at the Maison St. Charles. We are so delighted to have provided you repeat accommodations! Thank you for your comments about our comfortable beds, breakfast, parking, location and overall property. We agree the courtyard is a great breakfast spot! We look forward to your next stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have been staying at Maison St Charles for the last 3 years when we travel to New Orleans. It is reasonably priced, very clean and friendly staff, we love staying here. To say nothing of the location-perfect! I usually do not write a review, but had to now. My husband left his new expensive watch on the night stand when we checked out. Gloria, the lady that cleaned our room found it and the manager had it in hand when we called to report we left it. They were great and mailed it out the next day. We can not say enough about this hotel and the personnel that work here. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcfrankl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate all of your comments about our location, cleanliness, price and friendly staff. We are so glad you received your watch so soon! We strive for perfection at our hotel and are looking forward to your future visits with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I booked this hotel without knowing a lot about the hotel, the area, or New Orleans as it was our first visit to New Orleans. I am very pleased with my 'choice' as this hotel was excellent. It has been undergoing some refurbishment and the rooms are fresh and colourful. The rooms are large, and our room had a safe, although at the time, some didn't due to the ongoing refurbishment. All rooms had large flat screen TV's. The Streetcar stops right outside the door so transport is easy. Breakfast was quite adequate with cerals, breads, waffles, fruit, eggs coffee and tea, all included in the tariff. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and that always makes a difference as a guest. There are many restaurants and fast food establishments within walking distance of the hotel. We were there during the Jazz/Blues Festival in early April 2012 and it was absolutely chaotic in French Quarter so it was nice to jump the streetcar and come home to a little bit of piece and quiet. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans, it's clean, it's happy and it's great value.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the rooms in the immediate block to the left of the breakfast room. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillybean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. We are delighted you had such a great visit to New Orleans! Thank you for your comments about our rooms, breakfast and location. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you lodging accommodations again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel has a great location, good service and a reasonable price for the area. We stayed four nights--the room was very clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but it served its purpose as we were out and about most of the day. The location was perfect for what we needed--the streetcar stops right outside the hotel and it was great for getting around town. You do have to pay for parking, and if you come back in too late at night, the gate is locked, but the security staff was always quick to unlock and let us in. It seemed to be a good place for families, as we saw a number of kids enjoying the pool area. The courtyards are nice and the hotel overall has a New Orleans charm that you wouldn't expect at a chain location. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom floor of one of the buildings, tucked away in a corner. It was nice as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CurlyGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our New Orleans charm, location and good service. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay in New Orleans. We hope we have the opportunity to provide you lodging accommodations again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
México
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Found this hotel as one of the last choices available for memorial weekend at a reasonable rates. At first I was afraid I got a pigsty however it ended up being a nice confy place. yeah, nothing luxurious.
I got an upgrade to one of the suites which was really nice.
Front desk was extremely nice and helpul. I would stay here again.
The only con was that the fire alarm started ringin at 6am for like 20 minutes. It was a pain. Not sure what happened

Second and LAST TIME i have made my reservation through Orbitz they have messed up both times. People there are so many other options, don't buy with these guys.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are so delighted you got a chance to stay in one of our suites. Thank you for your comment about our friendly front desk staff! We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#82 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing