We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #113 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Clanton, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience at this lovely hotel! The staff is excellent, the rooms are clean and charming, the courtyard is beautiful, and the rates are extremely reasonable. I had such a positive experience at this hotel that I am booking a large number of rooms for the guests of my upcoming wedding. I would highly recommend this delightful hotel to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced hotel with eclectic New Orleans charm!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boykinleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles! We appreciate your comments about your experience with us! We are so delighted to be working with you for your upcoming wedding!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    335
    191
    105
    71
See reviews for
269
315
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood and has a well tended, peaceful courtyard where we could unwind after a day of sightseeing. They served a nice breakfast and we found the staff to be knowledgeable and helpful. The room was rather small, but clean, and the price was an extremely good value. There were several good restaurants and shops within walking distance, and the trolley stop was directly in front of the hotel. We found the laundry facilities on premises to be conveniently located and user friendly. This was our second stay at this hotel and we would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
We are so delighted to hear that you had such a nice stay with us again at the Maison St. Charles! Thank you for your comments about our staff, breakfast and value. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to provide accommodations for you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently stayed at the maison and it was very clean, had the new orleans atmosphere. It was fabulous. I enjoyed the breakfast and the waffles were the bomb with the fleur de lis symbol. I truly enjoyed the stay and will recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: You will enjoy the experience .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. We are so delighted you had such a nice time. Thank you for your comment about our waffles, they are delicious!! We hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here in July and was pleased with this hotel and the deal through Living Social. It was clean and conveniently located. The air conditioning was great, The staff was friendly, helpful, and the complimentary breakfast was adequate. The hotel has lovely courtyards. The elevator was very unpleasant as it was hot, smelly, and had no air circulating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Cents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our staff, breakfast and lovely courtyards. We hope to have the opportunity to provide your lodging accommodations again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed here with my family during Mardi Gras and just came across the pictures of the filth we stayed in which prompted me to write this review several months later. Hotel room was filthy, including mold growing in the shower and clearly was barely cleaned by the housekeeping staff. Housekeeping staff was very friendly, just not very thorough. This alone would have prompted a 2-3 star rating; however, the front desk attendants were extremely rude. One morning we hurried out of room to get out of the cleaning staff's way and thought we would just use the restroom in the lobby (which is a hike from the room we were in) on our way out of the hotel. We were rudely told that hotel guests were not allowed to use the hotel lobby restroom as it was reserved for non-guests that paid $10 for a wrist band to use the restroom. We were paying over $1000 to stay at this hotel for 4 nights and they refused to let us use the bathroom (with a newly potty trained child). We were told that by the time we got back to our room housekeeping would likely be done.

Additionally our room rate was advertised to include breakfast in the morning. When we went to the lobby area for breakfast we were laughed at and told that breakfast isn't served during Mardi Gras.

Icing on the cake was when we tried to leave the hotel, our car had been blocked in by 2 other cars of hotel employees. I understand that is was Mardi Gras weekend, but this was several hours after the parades had passed, and they took about an hour to locate the 2 employees to move their cars. Good thing we didn't have a flight to catch!

We live only 45 miles away, but always stay in a hotel for Mardi Gras. We reserved our rooms too late and this was the only hotel on St. Charles with any availability...I understand why now. This hotel is just before the lower Garden District area, near I-10 and Lee Circle. Being locals, we knew that the area is elatively unsafe but we thought that it should be fine during Mardi Gras. Wrong. Someone was shot right next door at the Wendy's during Mardi Gras weekend...of course that is out of the hotel's control. Just thought it was important to mention to those not familiar with the area.

All around a horrible experience. Don't let the cute pictures and cheap price lure you into this dump!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash70460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

When you first get there it looks very nice, then you back to where the rooms are. The grounds are nice looking but most areas need to cleaned, wash down swept up just cleaned up. The rooms to look at were fine, but the first had a leaking pipe. They move us to another room with the celling falling down no cold water broken light covers and few other thing. The breakfast was not good...The people working there were very nice and try to help.

Room Tip: Remember this is the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and receive their valuable feedback about our hotel. We do appreciate your comment about our helpful staff. Again, we sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Polk, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We bought a deal on Living Social, which was very good. But it didn't look quite as good as the website, and the pool was small and too warm for comfort. Our friends had a room with a defective shower, so the kind staff upgraded them to a much bigger room which ultimately showed good service. Breakfast was pretty good, but in the future I would rather stay closer to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. Thank you for your comments about our kind staff and good breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you lodging accommodations again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#72 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing