We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review...ok BUT.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed review...ok BUT.........”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here in October for 4 nights. I was skeptical at first because it seems like it's in a bad neighborhood. The Lobby is REALLY nicely decorated. The hotel is split into small groups of buildings each centered around a different courtyard or pool. Our room overlooked the pool area. It was quieter than i thought. The rooms open up directly to the outside, no interior halls. No rooms face the street. The King bed was huge and the room itself was quite large. My only negative thing is that TWO electrical transformers blew up at 2:15 am and went without power, no AC, lights, nothing until sometime the next day. Needless to say, that was quite a startling wake up call in the middle of the night. The staff did the best they could. In the lobby the next morning, I heard another guest say she read TripAdvisor reviews of the hotel and read it had prior electrical issues.

The rooms were clean but housekeeping never replenished the shampoo/conditioner and lotion each day which got a bit annoying.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. Thank you for your comments about our lobby and rooms! We are very sorry for the inconvience you experienced with the power outage. We work very closely with our energy company to avoid disturbances to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you accommodations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    342
    202
    109
    74
See reviews for
279
327
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We went for my birthday and had a ball! The service was great, we got there early and I was rashly worried that the room wouldn't be available, but it was. And it was a nice suite with an amazing bed. The breakfast was good and grounds were clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChynnaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are delighted you had such a nice time and happy belated birthday! We hope you come back again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My friends & I stayed at this hotel for two nights just this past weekend. I loved the old charm the buildings & property had. The staff was great and very helpful. It was close enough to everything but not too close..We enjoyed walking and catching cabs from the location. The cab rides were reasonable for the 3 of us. The desk staff(especially Ashley) was very helpful with holding our luggage before check-in and after check out. They were always willing to offer great suggestions on dining venues and directions. The staff working the breakfast area Mrs. Beverly & Ms. Juliette were awesome. they were both very helpful and friendly. The took the extra step to make sure we had all of our dining needs taken care of. All the staff on the ground and security were friendly and helpful. Our room was wonderful. The beds were comfortable and slept well. The room was smoke free! The tv was great even though we didn't watch it much. We loved having the fridge in our room for storing our water and juices. We loved thata the curtians allowed our room to stay nice and dark for daytime naps..we enjoyed sleeping in some. We are all mother and wives on a getaway from the husbands & kids..we the atmosphere was very relaxing for us. We regretted that we didn't bring our bathing suits to get in pool or hot tub. Would def stay here when we return to New Orleans!!

Room Tip: We were on the top 3rd floor away from pool and main courtyard area (room 309)and it was cozy and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzMelG302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our property, location, ammenites and great staff! We are delighted you had such a relaxing stay. Please come back again soon and visit us and bring your families!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, CO
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, pre-cruise and the visit was very nice. Our rooms, over looking the pool, had been refurbished - I think. My only complaint, which some might see as "strange" is that the toilet is very low to the floor. I mention this because we had travelers with us who had mobility issues and some bad knees, but they don't have HC accessible rooms.

Otherwise, the location is very good with lots of restaurants close by. The trolly system across the street was down for maintenance, so if you're interested in using it, check to see if the repairs have been completed yet.

The hotel served a continental breakfast, with lots of choices. The staff wwas very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your pre-cruise stay at the Maison St. Charles. We appreicate your comments about our location, breakfast and friendly staff! We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Maison St. Charles is close to the old center of New Orleans and to the old residential neighborhoods. The area is full of jaw-dropping antique architecture but you can find every convenience from fast food to electronics within a few yard or blocks. The hotel itself is a very skillful mix of modern structures and old buildings (as old as the 1840's.) The over all effect is a lot of charm, with very pleasant courtyards and murals of local scenes. You immediately get and never lose the feeling you are in some kind of New Orleans time warp, with modern conveniences amid antique decor. Even the newer rooms have a feel of old rooms that have been very skilfully remodeled. The feel is more Spanish than French in nature which is surprising until you recall that New Orleans spent a while under Spanish influence.
The onsite restaurant is a Spanish theme. We didn't eat there but we did try the breakfast buffet which was a mistake. It was at best medium range for hotel breakfasts, less than you would expect for this price. Of course there are lots of very local-color places to have breakfast within walking distance. This seems like a good plan, since we opened three cartons of milk, two whole and on skim and all three were sour.
Their in-room wireless connects well and does not drop, but... i...t.....i...s......s...l...o...w....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. Thank you for your comments about our property, location and old New Orleans charm. We hope we have the opportunity to provide your lodging accommodations again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My two friends and I stayed at this hotel for one night as we were leaving on a cruise the next day. The location is great and convenient. A streetcar runs right in front of it, but it was under construction. However, we easily caught the number 12 bus at the bus stop across the street, and went to Canal street and other places. The bus was $1.25 each way or you could get an all day pass for $3. There were also alot of convenient and nice restaurants within walking distance if you don't want to venture too far. The hotel is about a mile from the French Quarter. A small but adequate continental breakfast is provided with your stay. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and courteous. The room accomodations and bathroom was clean, and the bed slept very comfortably. The rate was reasonable (a little less than $100/night including taxes) and the hotel grounds are clean and well kept. I would recommend this hotel and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_luvs2_travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are delighted you had such a nice time. We appreciate your comments about our location, friendly staff and property. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnsboro, Louisiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night while our daughter had a Tae-Kwon-Do National tournament at the nearby convention center. It was priced too high in my opinion for the quality of the hotel. There were several events going on in the city this particular weekend, so I am guessing there was a bit of price gouging going on. The location was within driving distance to the French Quarters. The room we stayed in,which was a suite,was outdated and needing to be remodeled. The tile in the bathroom was coming up and there were sections of the wall where the wall paper was peeling. I would recommend this hotel to someone who was not staying for a long time in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. Thank you for your comments and we are about to undergo some renovations! We hope you come back and visit again when the city is not so crazy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#70 of 163 in New Orleans
1,246 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#100 of 163 in New Orleans
791 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#137 of 163 in New Orleans
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing