We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prytania Park(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prytania Oaks Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Modern(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Avenue Plaza Resort(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Henry Howard Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
305
362
213
117
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
362
213
117
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsemeril's delmonicofrench quarterpool and hot tubtrolley lineyogurtday passmardi grasan older hotelwwii museumvalet parkingcourtyardnolacharmcruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay at Maison St. Charles 10-22-12, unfourtnately she had to be admitted to the hospital during our stay due to an illness. The hotel was exceptionally accomodating in allowing me to stay over a couple of extra days before she was discharged from the hospital. The room was clean and well maintained and the staff was friendly and accomodating, especially Tasha the desk clerk who was able to provide me with a room on a daily basis.

Room Tip: Great location
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our rooms and friendly staff. We hope your wife is feeling much better and that you both come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

At first I was unsure about this hotel but as I stayed I grew to appreciate its charms.

The front office section of this hotel is located on St Charles Avenue, but the physical buildings of the hotel are located back and separate.. There are a mix of old and new buildings with courtyards dispersed throughout with one swimming pool.

My room was in one of the new buildings and on the top floor. It was very large, clean and decorated in a very traditional New Orleans style. It overlooked a large courtyard that housed the building that the breakfast was served. The courtyard had tables that you could bring your breakfast outside and eat.

The hotel bills itself as being "Garden District" but honestly it is just barely into the Garden District area. It is actually very close to the warehouse and convention area. One can just park your car on the side streets by the hotel and save on parking.

There is a bar next door called Daiquiri's which is a show upon itself on a Sunday when the Saints are playing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles! Thank you for your comments about our location and unique property. We are so delighted you had such a nice stay with us and hope you come back and visit again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here in October for 4 nights. I was skeptical at first because it seems like it's in a bad neighborhood. The Lobby is REALLY nicely decorated. The hotel is split into small groups of buildings each centered around a different courtyard or pool. Our room overlooked the pool area. It was quieter than i thought. The rooms open up directly to the outside, no interior halls. No rooms face the street. The King bed was huge and the room itself was quite large. My only negative thing is that TWO electrical transformers blew up at 2:15 am and went without power, no AC, lights, nothing until sometime the next day. Needless to say, that was quite a startling wake up call in the middle of the night. The staff did the best they could. In the lobby the next morning, I heard another guest say she read TripAdvisor reviews of the hotel and read it had prior electrical issues.

The rooms were clean but housekeeping never replenished the shampoo/conditioner and lotion each day which got a bit annoying.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. Thank you for your comments about our lobby and rooms! We are very sorry for the inconvience you experienced with the power outage. We work very closely with our energy company to avoid disturbances to our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you accommodations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We went for my birthday and had a ball! The service was great, we got there early and I was rashly worried that the room wouldn't be available, but it was. And it was a nice suite with an amazing bed. The breakfast was good and grounds were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChynnaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are delighted you had such a nice time and happy belated birthday! We hope you come back again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My friends & I stayed at this hotel for two nights just this past weekend. I loved the old charm the buildings & property had. The staff was great and very helpful. It was close enough to everything but not too close..We enjoyed walking and catching cabs from the location. The cab rides were reasonable for the 3 of us. The desk staff(especially Ashley) was very helpful with holding our luggage before check-in and after check out. They were always willing to offer great suggestions on dining venues and directions. The staff working the breakfast area Mrs. Beverly & Ms. Juliette were awesome. they were both very helpful and friendly. The took the extra step to make sure we had all of our dining needs taken care of. All the staff on the ground and security were friendly and helpful. Our room was wonderful. The beds were comfortable and slept well. The room was smoke free! The tv was great even though we didn't watch it much. We loved having the fridge in our room for storing our water and juices. We loved thata the curtians allowed our room to stay nice and dark for daytime naps..we enjoyed sleeping in some. We are all mother and wives on a getaway from the husbands & kids..we the atmosphere was very relaxing for us. We regretted that we didn't bring our bathing suits to get in pool or hot tub. Would def stay here when we return to New Orleans!!

Room Tip: We were on the top 3rd floor away from pool and main courtyard area (room 309)and it was cozy and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzMelG302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles by Hotel RL, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our property, location, ammenites and great staff! We are delighted you had such a relaxing stay. Please come back again soon and visit us and bring your families!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews