We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
McKinleyville, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

What a wonderful, historic place to stay! The 5 "main" buildings are beautiful....renovated while keeping their historic value. The swimming pool and spa were fantastic and the grounds peaceful, with lots of outdoor tables and chairs and soothing music as well!
The 3 story "motel" sections were more of a 2 or 3 star rating....clean and comfortable but in need of upgrading. The service was fantastic! Upon check in we requested a refrigerator and microwave and both were delivered in a timely fashion. The security guard was extremely accommodating when we requested additional towels and ideas of things to see and do in the area. The service provided by the employees was better than I have received at 5 star properties. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments about our property and customer service. We agree, the Courtyard is so peaceful! We look forward to you coming back and visiting us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    340
    198
    107
    72
See reviews for
275
321
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is a great value, not a 5 star hotel. Although the New Orleans flavor exterior is very attractive with its many garden patios, the room we were in was a little past the point of needing touch-ups. Assuming the rest of the hotel is in similar condition, I’d say they are waiting until it’s worth sprucing up & painting all the rooms after which they will raise the prices considerably. Many hotels wait until after Mardi Gras to do this because they know they can fill any rooms for that season (they could probably sell closets! LOL) & Mardi Gras visitors can be fairly hard on rooms. So right now there’s a great opportunity to stay right on the historic & convenient St. Charles Ave. Streetcar line that can take you to the center of the city’s business district, edge of the French Quarter, Mississippi River “Warehouse District” (converted to restaurants, music venues, etc.), through the Garden District of historic American homes of the wealthy, to 2 universities right across from Audubon Park with its Southern Magnolia & Live Oak trees & to within a couple of blocks of many other important sights & great restaurants. During Mardi Gras season, you’re already there, right on St. Charles Ave. where the parades pass. And as if that wasn’t enough, the price includes a full breakfast selection (pre-cooked, not “to order”) that will hold you until lunch or longer. The employees were very nice. Parking (expensive) is across the side street, but you can unload near your room before moving your car. Security seems good. An amiable (24 hr.) guard materialized out of nowhere when we started unloading near our room. Huge lights in the parking lot. Swimming pool.
We'd return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justtagalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles! We appreciate your comments about our location, breakfast and nice staff. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just returned on Friday spent five days in the quality inn maison hotel . Great value for money , very clean well presented rooms . House staff were very nice and chatty , breakfast staff could have been a bit nicer . Breakfast was adequate , same thing every day but still enough to feed you. would use this hotel again no problem..
Location was excellent as we could walk to the main attractions. Parking is very expensive . plenty of good eating places within 5 to 1o mins. walk . great Irish pub across the road.
We had a member of our party in a wheelchair the area is not the most wheelchair friendly as there was a lot of broken pavements caused by tree roots coming up through the walk way.
overall really pleased with it .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles! We appreciate your comments about our friendly staff, property and location. We are so glad you tried the Irish House- we love it too! Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to accommodating your lodging needs again it the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Don't be fooled by the good reviews. The only thing that's good about this place is the front desk. The first room we had wreaked of cigarettes and mold. A complaint about the smell got us another room, but the smell wasn't much better - still damp and mildewy. Beyond the smell, the bath looked like it had just gone through some shoddy renovation. Joint compound was exposed - and not in a good way, but the finished walls weren't that nice either...uneven in texture and paint. To name a few other unsettling items, we found stains on the sheets, our room lacked adequate sink cleaning and vacuuming each day and yes, the towels were cheap and damp smelling. And, don't expect any extras...the hot tub was cold, the trolly outside was down, the breakfast was ok and I had to put down a $15 dollar deposit to get 3 champagne glasses.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I do appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention; as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Maison St Charles, and what a gem!
The front desk staff was exceptional- service above and beyond! They were all cheerful, helpful, and grateful to see us.
The hotel is very near to the cruise terminal, as well as Bourbon street- a short $7 cab ride, or free bus ride if you're game.
The hotel is quaint and NOLA flavored- the lobby has the flavor of an older southern home, with antique furniture, period wall treatments, and charm. The hotel is a collection of buildings, each with elevator access to the upper floors. The rooms were older, but clean and spacious, with the charming decor continuing.
We loved the full breakfast, with outside seating in a courtyard setting on wrought iron tables.
We definitely would come back and stay here- it's a taste of NOLA at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Enter from the front- an arched narrow drive. It's across from Emeril's Delmonico - the arch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles! Thank you for your comments about our property, lobby, location and friendly staff. We agree, the Courtyard is such a nice place to spend time. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here the night before leaving on a cruise. This hotel is in a great location. It's very close to the cruise terminal, very close to the Garden District and is right on the streetcar line that takes you right to the French Quarter. Reception was very nice and hotel has a charming, boutique type feel to it. Our room had great decor although the bathroom (bathtub in particular) needed some updating. We got an excellent rate so for us the value was terrific. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Maison St. Charles! Thank you for your comments about our location and friendly reception. We hope you had a lovely cruise and will come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were traveling via Amtrak on our return from Mesa,AZ and as Amtrak does not offer overnights in New Orleans, and a change of trains is required, we needed to stay someplace.
A previous overnight on the first portion of the trip was at a 4 Star- booked through PriceLine. What a joke that wound up to be.
On the other hand, this place, although only listed as 2 Stars, was a very personable, homey place.
We loved the courtyards and the fountains. The room was not exceptional, but the staff was above reproach. Add to that a very decent breakfast, plenty of hot water for shower (the four star didn't have enough for one!), and in a quiet part of town to boot- not too far from what we needed. And the bus line right out front for when we wanted an inexpensive ride to the far side of the French Quarter to meet up with friends for some wonderful live jazz...
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHighwayTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisonstcharles, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles! We appreciate your comments abut our location, breakfast, courtyards and personable staff. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#94 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#113 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing