We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfy room, 5* location!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles
Ranked #116 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfy room, 5* location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. We were able to check in early (2pm) and staff was very expedient. Our room was fantastic! All purple and pink and white! Very clean except for some hair in the bathroom and some drippy marks on the bathroom wall. And a little dust behind the lamp on nightstand. It was too cold during our stay to use the pool, but it looked clean and the grounds are very well kept. The location was wonderful! Right on the streetcar line, we were able to explore the city for next to nothing! St. Charles also has many options for dining. From Slice Pizzeria to Emerils you will find something you like and in your budget.
In summary the hotel was quiet, clean, and convenient. If I return to NOLA I will certainly stay here. Yes, it was about a 25-30 min walk from the French Quarter but that was no biggie for us. My only complaint was the breakfast. There's no organization to it. It was arranged haphazardly with no rhyme or reason. I never got more than a biscuit and some gravy and coffee due to the excessive amount of time it seemed to take to make 6 waffles for some. :(. We saved our stomachs and had beignets at cafe du monde! Lol!
Do not expect the Hilton or Marriott because these are historical buildings! They smell musty at times and are creaky too. I loved this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christy8_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the fantastic room and location. We look forward to accommodating you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    331
    186
    103
    70
See reviews for
262
309
32
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The lobby gives you a very good first impression. Staff were very helpful as this was our first time in New Orleans. There were various areas to enjoy breakfast - a couple of places inside, and a nice patio area outside (where we also spent time after a busy day of sightseeing). Dining options within walking distance from the hotel were plentiful. Our room was typical Quality Inn - comfortable bed, clean, and a good size. It was a bonus having a tram stop so close to the hotel. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not located under a stair well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the helpful staff and the complimentary breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Bathroom was being repainted at some point but never finished. Edges were cut in but rolled paint stopped several inches short. Spout on the tub was not flush, leaving an inch gap. The shower head stuck out crooked so you had to reposition the head which was even too low for even my wife who is five foot three. Water valves in the shower leaked. A curved shower rod was installed but they could not get it right after four attempts leaving the other holes in the wall. Pieces of sheetrock were flaking off. A piece of the toilet was broken off at the base and the top of the rim under the seat was cracked. The overhead light in the bathroom was no more than 25 watts. In the main room instead of baseboard the carpet was run several inches up the wall but was falling down. We returned to the room Sunday afternoon at 3:30 pm to rest but the room had not been cleaned. The front desk said it woud be taken care of right away. We returned at 4:30 pm and the room was still not cleaned. Thirty minutes later it was cleaned but they left five hand towels but no bath towels. While waiting in the lobby for the room to be cleaned the front desk overheard me telling others of our party ( hotel for a wedding) about the cleaning problem, we were offered $20.00 off for the last night. Never will we return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We sincerely apologize that the bathroom was not in satisfactory condition. We have a full renovation of our guestroom bathrooms scheduled for later this year. We hope to have to opportunity to redeem ourselves next time your are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

First, do not expect high-end luxury here. This place is relatively cheap if you order in advance and it has been perfect for our needs. Just 20-30 minutes from the french quarter, located in the garden area you are basically close to everything. The staff seemed very nice and the place are clean and inviting. Keep in mind that our budget are below $100/night, for us this place just have everything and we can highly recommend it for the same 'kind of people' - travelling on low-mid budget.

The only comment is that the breakfast is very (VERY!) crowded from 8-9. Be prepared to take your breakfast back to your room if you plan to eat in this interval. There simply is not enough room to enjoy your breakfast in the breakfast area. For us, however, this is only a minor comment.

Excellent place compared to the price. Very comfortable beds and nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteewDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the hotel to be an excellent value. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My daughter were going to New Orleans to check out Tulane University. I reserved a room based on price and room size. This reservations was made several weeks in advance as I knew I was going to be arriving late. But since I had a deadline that if I did not cancel I would be charged I knew that the room I reserved would be waiting for me. When we arrived we were told that they did not have any more double queens but did have a single king. It was late and we were tired so we took it. The lady at the desk said it would be less than the double queen room. The single "historic" king must be the last room they give out. it was under the attic, with small windows looking at the roof. The bathroom was dirty and the carper badly stained. When was the last time the tile floor was really cleaned??? We were not there for the room so we made do with what was there. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked. When we checked out there was no adjustment to the price. I had to remind the desk clerk of what had happened and she made an adjustment. Next time we go to the area I will look for another place to stay. There is a very nice Hampton Inn down the street closer towards Tulane.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timeout313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We sincerely apologize that you did not get the room type you booked. I have reviewed your comments with our front desk staff so that we may prevent a future occurrence. We hope that you give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. We had a huge, very comfortable king bed, I loved the decor of the room, it was very unique and fit with the New Orleans style. Our room was clean, but the shower was hit and miss for hot water. I thought the outside courtyard was a nice bonus although I thought the charge for parking was a little steep. The location was perfect, close enough to walk to the French Quarter in about 20 minutes, but far enough away that it was nice and quiet for sleeping. There were also lot's of restaurants within a 5 minute walk to choose from, plus the street car stop right in front of the hotel. Breakfast was great on our first morning, with both hot and cold choices but on the second day, not as good, they had run out of a lot of items and the eggs were runny. The pool and hot tub were very nice although I could have lived without the piped in elevator music that was contstantly playing a little too loud. We did have some issues with our tv reception but "Ralph" was sent down to fix it, when he could not make it work they did move us to another room without even asking. Unfortuntely the toilet in the new room didn't work so we got to spend some more time with "Ralph", lucky for us he was a great guy and did a good job, but maybe they should make sure everything is working in the rooms before filling them with people. All in all I loved our room, bed, location and decor but customer service could use some help. We also had to wait an hour to get into our room upon arrival. This hotel could be excellent with a little work and more attention to customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rawnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept my apologies regarding your toilet and TV. I glad to hear that Ralph took care of you right away. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

When I pulled up to the property, I immediately knew I would not walk anywhere in the evening.
The hotel overall is ok, it is very 'worn' and has been 'remodeled' alot here and there. The staff was nice; my room was fine; the poor woman putting out the breakfast seemed to be out of everything, but she was trying to keep up! I was on the 2nd floor in the building by the pool, and the area around the elevator was nasty.
Not for me- sorry

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We appreciate your comments regarding the condition of the hotel. We are scheduled to have a renovation later this year. We hope you give us another chance to exceed your expectations next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#84 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#100 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#102 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#133 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles
Address: 1319 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing