We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for my destination wedding guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #117 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
“Great choice for my destination wedding guests”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I recently had a destination wedding in New Orleans. This hotel was a fun, affordable, and charming choice for my wedding guests. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were nice overall and if there were any problems with the rooms (broken fridge or safe), they worked hard to correct it. The set-up of the hotel with many small hotels with courtyards made it a good environment for all the guests to hang out with each other and for the kids to play outside. The pool was a good size and depth. My husband and I stayed in 3 different suites over 6 nights and they were all very comfortable but the porches/hallways around the suites could use some remodeling. The Degas Suite (Honeymoon Suite) was my favorite. The Mardi Gras Suite was also good but could use a few touch ups in the bathrooms and better access to get to it after the lobby closes (had to be buzzed in after 10p). We also used 1 of the meeting rooms for a poker night and the salon for an afterparty after the reception and these rooms were very nice. We partied until 4 am in the salon (separate from guest area) then took the party next door to the St. Charles Tavern which stays open 24 hr and has good food. Overall we had a great experience and with a few minor fixes this hotel could be even better. We love the Garden District and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and your stay with us! We are happy to be a part of your very special day! Thank you for providing us with feedback and comments on the staff and hotel. We sincerely appreciate it and hope to see you in New Orleans soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    341
    202
    109
    74
See reviews for
279
327
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bastrop, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was my first time at the Maison St Charles. I called the front desk for more towel for swimming. I was really cranky, the front desk person remained calm and pleasant. He had the towels at our room in less than 3 minutes. I called the desk again to ask where the ice machine was (I was flying my broom). Again the clerk was calm and friendly. When we checked out I asked who this clerk was and found his name was Johnell. Wonder staffing, wonderful service, great suite. The only disappointment was that the Jacuzzi was not working. I would definitely stay there again. Oh yes, the restaurant on premise is to die for. ;-)

Room Tip: Get a suite, it's more than worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
On behalf of the hotel, I want to thank you for providing us with comments! I have shared your comments with our Front Desk Manager and we have definitely made sure to recognize Johnell for the superior service he provided you. We have also repaired our hot tub so it should be ready for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great location to easily access the streetcar transportation or walking distance to food. We go in really early so the first front desk lady was helpful with holding our bags while we went back out since our room wasn't ready. We called back when we were still out to check on room status and different front desk customer service was on the borderline of being rude every time I asked about something. Finally got checked in and found two live roaches in the bathroom within an hour of checking in. Hairs in the bathtub that definitely did not belong to us. While waiting for my room to get ready I overheard another guest reporting that she had some gold earrings stolen out of her suit case. We kept the do not disturb sign on the door and declined housekeeping service to hopefully avoid this. Highlights: location, comfortable spacious room (we had a king suite on second floor), fridge/microwave in room, really comfortable beds. Lows: cleanliness in room including layers of dust on baseboards behind nightstands (saw it as I was looking for electrical outlets), walls thin (definitely hear your neighbors), women's Lobby bathroom had a very bad smell, like sewage, wifi Internet spotty and slow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank folk108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for letting us know how we are doing! Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for the experience you had while staying with us. I have personally passed along your comments to the respective department managers to prevent this from happening again. We do hope that you will visit us again when coming back to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, CA,United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The front desk girls are amazing. they went above and beyond to help me out. The rooms were beautiful and purple (my favorite color). Bathroom was a bit small. Dog friendly. Well worth the price. Took the trolley across the street form the hotel to French Quarter. If you are traveling with a Uhaul just be aware of one way streets and they have a big parking lot but we were better off parking on the street.

Room Tip: 4 adults and 1 dog could fit in 2 queen bedrooms. good enough space. never felt crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Our Front Desk Manager was excited to read the comments on our Front Desk Staff! We are happy that they provided you with superior service! We are beginning bathroom renovations soon and we hope that you will come back to visit once they are complete. I believe you will be impressed! Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. We sincerely appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

AC cold, rooms clean if painted in funky color. Staff-beyond great- helpful, friendly, they make the trip. Affordable, right on the Trolly line and minutes away from the French Quarter. Definitely a choice when staying in NOLA.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Our management staff was delighted to read your comments on the hotel! We are definitely proud that the staff treated you well and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you the next time you are in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I booked this hotel through a discount travel site and when I tell you that me and my husband were thoroughly impressed with what we received we definitely were. The room was clean, spacious and very cool (the airconditioner worked perfectly). My husband and I decided that we wanted authentic Nawlins' food because if it's one thing we simply love about New Orleans its the food, drinks and atmosphere so we asked our front desk crew for suggestions and Johnell told us exactly where to go. We were so impresed with the location that we eat there the entire weekend!!!

Johnell was awesome with his recommendations regarding a great place to eat, great places to visit while we were in the city and information on how to maximize our time while enjoying the atmosphere of New Orleans.

My husband and I would definitely stay in this hotel again and hopefully Johnell will still be there welcoming us back :0)

Room Tip: Request a room that is located on an upper level floor (the view of the courtyard is better). The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanta'l J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for all of the great feedback provided! It helps to ensure to make everyone's stay as great as yours was. We are happy that Johnell gave you awesome recommendations while visiting the city! We sincerely appreciate your time and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for an extremely brief visit to New Orleans, and found it very nice. I booked through an online discount site and got a great deal on the price.
It's an older hotel, but our room was nicely decorated with a spacious king-size bed and plenty of pillows. After checking in, we walked through a courtyard to our room, which was in a separate building. The courtyard was pretty, and the whole atmosphere made it feel like we were in a special place, not just a generic nice hotel that could have been anywhere in the world.
Front desk staff members were pleasant and helpful, suggesting a reasonably priced restaurant within walking distance that we thoroughly enjoyed.
The St. Charles Streetcar line stops just across from the hotel, and in my opinion that's the best bargain in New Orleans: $1.25 per person.
Continental breakfast begins at 6:30 a.m., and we had to leave for the train station at 6, so we didn't get a chance to see what they offer for breakfast.
I definitely felt we got our money's worth, and I would consider staying there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Maison St. Charles. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our unique atmosphere. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#70 of 163 in New Orleans
1,245 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#100 of 163 in New Orleans
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Historic Streetcar Inn
#137 of 163 in New Orleans
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing