We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here October 26th and 27th for a little NOLA nightlife and a little Who Dat time.

I look at a few things when I stay in a hotel. One, is it safe-yes it was. And what I liked is they had two security guards on grounds. Two, they looked the two gates to the parking lots and hotel up.

Two, was it clean, our room was very clean from what I could see.

Three, was the bed comfortable. It was and I slept well.

Four , was it loud, meaning can I sleep. Yep again no issues.

The only issue was the hot water, which as I found out later I did not understand how to turn in the hot water later my wife showed me. You have to remember I just spent a long night on bourbon street in the quarter, so figuring out things at that point was a little iffy.

It was a great stay. The court yard was nice. I liked the landscaping, and Btw I own a landscaping company so I know what is good or not.

The breakfast was good and needed. I do wish they had turkey sausage links.

Again great stay, fun, and my saints won! Who Dat!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Southbay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your comments! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you the next time you are in New Orleans! Who Dat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    340
    198
    107
    72
See reviews for
275
320
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I attended a workshop, based at the hotel, and was not anticipating such a nice environment. I was informed that the hotel, which is set up as a cluster of 2-3 story buildings , was originally an old plantation. Each cluster has their own landscape. To look at the front, no one would know the hidden environment would be so peaceful and pleasant. The entire staff were very nice and helpful when you had a problem. Security was very good.. Continental breakfast was served daily, which was slightly better than average regarding selection of foods. I found the stay to be very pleasant. Each room has a refrigerator, and microwave, as well as a coffee maker. Also, it is on St.Charles, and conveniently located for the streetcar, which comes every 15 minutes, and terminates at Bourbon street downtown ( a 10-15minute ride). No room service.

Room Tip: Stay by the pool. Convenient for parking the car, as well as unloading/loading bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denny44526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope that you will be back to visit next time you are in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We did a Groupon to this hotel. We were supposed to have a regular room but were upgraded to a suite....it was on 2nd floor with no elevator.

The bathroom had not been cleaned, urine on toilet, towels on back of door and shampoo (I think) in the shower upon arrival. Called front desk, they sent someone up to clean...they didn't knock on door, just ran in room, into bathroom and make a quick cleanup.Luckily we were only there one night and standing for a shower and had Clorox wipes in our bag. Also, found out when it got dark...the bulb was out in the lamp and the chandelier had only about 4 of the 12 bulbs working. Upon Checkout, I recommended they check this room out a little better.

It was a convenient location to get on the trolley and pay a few dollar to the French Quarter and back. Emeril's Delmonico's is across the street. The bed was SUPER comfy...but after bathroom, I checked sheets thoroughly and all seemed well.

Good location to be able to save money and have access to everything.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty walking, taking stairs, etc...this is not the place for you. The rooms are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cassidy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Front Office Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 28 August 2015
Thank You! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts. We are very sorry your stay was not favorable. We will work with the Housekeeping Department on better inspections of the rooms. We hope you’ll give us another chance to demonstrate everything we have to offer, as well as, the renovations we have made.
Thank You Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, OH
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here 2 nights ago, following a 7 day cruise. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the rooms are clean and elegant, the pictures are right!
You are right on St Charles Ave, right on the trolley route!!
great bedding, They had an outdoor area for sitting under beautiful trees,
also a breakfast room! nice clean pool! Nice!!!!

make reservations early as they do sell out!

Room Tip: We loved the first floor. We did not eat in the adjacent restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We were so excited to read your comments and happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking time to leave feedback for us. We sincerely appreciate it! We hope to see you the next time you are in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A friend and I stayed at this hotel Oct. 17 to 21, 2013. The front desk person was friendly welcoming and very helpful. The Room was a 2 queen room, it was large and clean had a small fridge, flat screen HD TV, coffee maker etc. The room was clean as well as the bath room there were plenty of towels. The house keeping staff kept the room that way through out our stay . The grounds are nice Court Yard type hotel like a lot of hotels in New Orleans, with sitting areas through out the court yards, fountains and landscaped well. There was a pool and jacuzzi also through we didn't use them and a roaming security guard I guess do to the many ways you can enter the property. I have stayed in this area at other hotels and the area is no more dangerous than any area in any big city in the USA. There are people who speak badly of New Orleans But I have Been Here Many Times an Not once have i had a problem it is a Great City with Wonderful People and i am sure after one visit you will love it as much as I do. The street car stop is just across the street and goes to Canal st. just across from the famous Bourbon St. . So I recommend this hotel It is not the Ritz, but if you are looking for a nice clean friendly hotel at a great price this is the one

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback! We are excited to hear that you were provided with great customer service along with clean and comfortable accommodations! That is our number one priority! The city of New Orleans is unlike any other and we are proud to call it home. We are glad that you appreciate the city as much as we do and hope to see you the next time you are visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Out of the three rooms that we booked, only one had use of a safe. This had been tampered with and therefore unusable. So we asked at Reception to store our passports in the safety deposit boxes behind there. They had no safe boxes available. We where advised to leave our belongings in a covered box, placed under the desk at Reception, out of view of the public but manned by STAFF. It was also in the direct line of the camera. So we did. Upon check out and arrival at the airport we discovered that the zipped wallet, that we'd put in the box with passports in, had been opened and the British money that was in there had been taken. Our own fault really for trusting the staff

Room Tip: Get one with a working safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2015
Dear Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about our hotel. I cannot express how sorry I am for this breach of trust between you and our staff. It is truly sickening. I wanted to inform you that we do have more safes on our property and also a safety deposit box behind the desk for our guest items that requires two keys to open and one would be on your person. We are improving everyday to make sure every guest has the best experience. Once again thank you for your thoughts and know that they have not fallen on deaf ears.

Thank you

Maison St Charles Quality Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Louisianna
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Easy walk to the Museum, Lee Circle and several restaurants. Good parking.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room and bath is clean. Bed is comfortable
with good pillows. The hotel is over all clean but is showing wear. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is group of old restored homes with some new additions. We stayed in one of the newer sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiquapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for giving us feedback on our hotel! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were provided with great customer service and a clean and comfortable room. Please visit us again after the first of the year as we will soon be completing renovations to our bathrooms and also painting the buildings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#92 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#112 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Property: Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing