We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites
Ranked #121 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a very unique property with several quirky things about it. It was perfect for our fist night in New Orleans. and the price was right. The check in staff was more than friendly and gave us several recommendations of things to do during our stay and how to get around. There was good security/locked gates. Parking was extra, I believe $18 and was at a different lot across the street. The property has so much character, with several buildings offering southern architecture, a lovely brick courtyard, garden pool, painted murals, free breakfast with many choices of seating indoor or out. The room decor was unusual and had a New Orleans flavor. the staff was wonderful. After a dinner out, we stopped by the front desk to say that our room did not have any shampoo. It was delivered before we even got back to our room. The breakfast had a good variety. The eggs were processed patties but tasted fine. The outside paint was not really up to date but I enjoyed the oldness of the place.

Room Tip: we enjoyed being in the main courtyard building but rooms in other sections looked to have their plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Maison St Charles and we look forward to being your hotel of choice on your next visit to New Orleans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the hotel is in a great location near the street cars, restaurants, and pubs! The courtyards near the rooms offer a relaxing place to socialize while watching the kids swim.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Maison St Charles and we look forward to being your hotel of choice on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This place is amazing. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and polite. I booked two rooms. Both rooms were very clean and well presented. The courtyards were also very clean and well maintained. The location could not be better. My only concern was the cost of parking my hire car. But I guess you are in New Orleans and parking is a premium. Overall I would definitely stay here agian.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKoutcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Your kind words are truly appreciated. Our staff will also be delighted to learn that you enjoyed their service. Thank you for staying at the Maison St. Charles We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I'm not coming back. There were little flying bugs in my room. I probably swatted at least 20. Room 214. One of the beds was "severely" sunken in in the center. And the shower: ZERO LATHER. The water was too hard, I guess. Also, PARKING IS FREE IF YOU HAVE AAA. They won't tell you, however.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skadeosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the issue you mention on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with my department heads to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

One of the better Quality Inns I have stayed at. Front desk staff very helpful. Location for value is fantastic. Can take the trolley for easy access to Garden District or downtown. Buffet breakfast adequate not a gourmet, but your not paying a gourmet room rate. For me it is a good deal!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 630bedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay a Maison St Charles. We are thrilled you had a great experience and enjoyed the location. We appreciate your compliments regarding the front desk staff. We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First of all, let me say when we checked in, the young lady at the desk could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The decor and courtyards, etc were everything we expected and more for a stay in New Orleans - so quaint! My girls loved its charm! And the location couldn't have been better! Emeril's was across the street with a streetcar stop was right in front of the hotel. That being said, the hotel just needs a bit more upkeep and attention to detail. We stayed in room 214 and the carpet behind the chair had not been vacuumed, there was hair on the bathroom mirror, and the small fridge was on the floor, making it hard to open/shut. My youngest daughter and I slept together in one of the beds and we had to put a row of pillows between us so that we wouldn't roll into the middle of the bed. The bed was HORRIBLE - the mattress should have been tossed out many years ago! My older daughter slept alone in the other bed and said it was fine. We did enjoy our stay... good thing we were tired out from walking and I brought Tylenol PM with me!

Room Tip: Check your bed before moving into your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwright63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to tell other guest about your stay at the Maison St. Charles. I’m pleased to know that our hotel is in a great location and that you enjoyed our beautiful courtyards and that the front desk agents were helpful and friendly. I would like to apologize about the issue you experience during your stay, we have been working on our improvements, which are just about complete! We hope you will be back again soon to see the end product. Once again thank you for choosing to stay at the Maison St Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is by far the nicest Quality Inn and I have stayed in many over the years.
The room appeared to be newly renovated. I had a very spacious 2 queen bed room with comfortable beds. I wish I didn't have my cat with me so I could have taken advantage of the free suite upgrade.
The front office staff was very attentive and answered all of my questions. They will give you a map of the grounds which was very helpful.
I also noticed several staff members on the grounds to help answer questions.
The hotel is located on the trolly line which will take you right to the intersection of Canal and Burbon street.
Pets are allowed but I thought the 50 dollar fee per night is a bit steep in my opinion.
There is parking at 17 dollars per night. The lot is convieniently located on either side of th hotel with plenty of spots available.
Overall, I will definitely be staying in this hotel next time I am in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbibbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bret C, General Manager at Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for leaving such lovely comment. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Maison St. Charles. Also, thank you for recognizing our staff we pride our self in making sure each guest stay is a memorable one. Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
629 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#102 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#75 of 166 in New Orleans
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 166 in New Orleans
342 reviews
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,475 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#89 of 166 in New Orleans
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites

Address: 1319 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-4335 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £73 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites™ Maison St. Charles is conveniently located on St. Charles Avenue, near the French Quarter and the central business district. The St. Charles Streetcar, the oldest continuously operating streetcar line in the world, runs right at the hotel's front door. This New Orleans, LA hotel is close to popular attractions, including the Audubon Aquarium of the Americas, the Audubon Zoo, Mississippi River Cruises, the Louisiana Superdome and the University of New Orleans.The hotel has just completed an extensive remodeling of the grounds and guest rooms, including 32-inch flat-screen televisions, painted walls instead of wallpaper, new carpet and new vanities that rival those of higher priced hotels.The Unofficial Guide to New Orleans (Macmillan Travel) named this hotel the Best Accommodation Deal in New Orleans.Hotel amenities include free continental breakfast, free local calls, free in-room coffee, free The Wall Street Journal, free in-room premium movies and delicious free coffee, juice and pastries. Be sure to take advantage of the outdoor pool with hot tub and poolside cabana.This New Orleans, LA hotel provides business travelers with conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet and access to fax services. Meeting and banquet space is available to accommodate most events and business functions.The guest rooms are located in buildings that surround patios with tropical flowers, plants and trees. Five of the hotel's buildings are listed as historically significant by the United States Department of the Interior. Select rooms come equipped with refrigerators and microwaves.Whether traveling to New Orleans, Louisiana for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Maison St. Charles provides friendly customer service, unique accommodations and affordable rates to every guest. Come enjoy this hidden gem in the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maison St. Charles Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Quality Inn New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing