We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with toddler and preschooler”
Review of Storyland

Storyland
Ranked #136 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A fairy tale land populated by fantastic creatures who like nothing better than little kids!
NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time with toddler and preschooler”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

So we were going to head to the zoo, but decided against it. Headed here instead. The girls favorite parts were the fire truck and the mermaid. For the cost, it was well worth it. Only downside was the bathroom. They need to make sure they are checked for cleanliness more often.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSBulldogBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    14
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Child Friendly”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Many parents are a little befuddled when it comes to choosing New Orleans as a destination site for they think the city is an adult destination and has little to offer families with children...wrong! I have two boys ages 6 and 7 and took them to Storyland at City Park today.

Storyland is comprised of two areas, Storyland and the amusement park. Storyland is a wonderland for small children, offering a wide variety of nursery rhyme buildings that depict many of the favorite stories you were told as a child, stories you have told to your children and grand-chidlren. The whole area is shaded by live oak trees and it is a great place to allow children to burn off some energy while seeing the favorite childhood stories come to life.

The second part of the park is an amusement park for children up to about 8 years old. There must be 24 different ride options, including a historic carousel. The rides are typical of most amusement parks and cater to young children.

Across the street from Storyland is a miniature golf course that's entertaining for children and adults alike.

Before purchasing a one day ticket or individual ride tickets, ask about the annual pass/family membership. Even if you are going to visit for one day it might be cheaper to buy the pass for the family. The pass allows for unlimited rides and the cost can add up quickly, so make your cost comparison first. It is a no brainer for locals who may come 2-6 times a year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I found this place online when googling places to take the kids and I was so happy I found it! My kids are still talking about how awesome it was! My kids are 10 and 12 and they were blown away at all the things they saw. So many photo ops and then we went over to the amusement side with rides. We bought the wrist band for $17 and they rode rides over and over. The workers did not seem like they wanted to be there (all but one guy who I wish I would have gotten his name) but this was definitely a great stop during our vacation! And I will recommend this place for families with children ages 4 all the way up to 14 possibly! Simply beautiful and breathtaking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mandiemmagavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettystown, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

An absolutely beautiful place-highy recommended.Great for kids.Rides with Cinderella,sit with Humpty Dumpty,,oh this place is full of wonderful memories.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ertlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Generations”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I grew up going here when visiting my grandparents, so it has a nostalgic charm. I have brought my son (now 10) several times and story land itself is great for younger kids, but with the addition of a carnival next door, it's an all day event. Love this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Storyland also viewed

 

Been to Storyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing