We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Museum”

New Orleans Pharmacy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.00*
and up
Crescent City History Tour
More Info
US$14.99*
and up
New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Haunted Houses of the French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #28 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the first licensed apothecary shop, the Pharmacy Museum includes cures for anything that ails you including voodoo potions and other weird medicines.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I’ve wanted to stop in for a while and finally made it. This was a very interesting museum. It’s a two story self-guided tour and filled with tons of amazing items. There were old bottles and medical equipment everywhere. I could have stayed all day to look at all the small things in there. If you have an interest in old things related to pharmacies this is a must stop. There is a creepy feeling when you go upstairs and visit the birthing station but it might have been just me after having had a child because no one seemed bothered. This is a great stop and a much needed air-conditioned filled break from the NOLA heat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keobouasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    182
    57
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice Museum of Historical Oddities”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Located within the French Quarter, $5 per person entrance fee collected up front, the museum consists of a small two story filled with historical medical oddities. You are given a print out of information upon payment of the entrance fee but most of the displays have little bits of information provided as well. Very interesting and informative displays as well as medical advertising memorabilia. Photographs are permitted. Perfect for those seeking tourist activities off the beaten path.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pharmacy Museum - Chartres St.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It is a small two story museum on Chartres St. We loved visiting and reading about the different medicine and artifacts used back in the day. We didn't take a guided tour, we prefer to go at our own pace and read on our own. We really loved it and it was very informative. Would recommend if you like history as we do.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank soryandlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fascinating exhibits but difficult for anyone with mobility challenges”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took a walk through this fascinating little museum. There was so much to see.
The self-guided tour was not clearly structured. Not all of the devices were marked with purpose or history.

Caution to anyone with mobility challenges. The 2nd floor exhibit is worth a look, but the stairs are difficult to navigate.

Helpful?
Thank SazzyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“So much better than expected!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Old fashioned medicine bottles and registers, needles and wheelchairs, glass eyeballs and doctor's bags...this is a GREAT museum that even my 9 year old daughter enjoyed! Plus a really pretty patio and staircase in the back. Just unexpected and really interesting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tpenadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Orleans Pharmacy Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Pharmacy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing