We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and fun.”

New Orleans Pharmacy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.00*
and up
Crescent City History Tour
More Info
US$14.99*
and up
New Orleans Ghost, Voodoo and Vampire Tour
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Haunted Houses of the French Quarter Walking Tour
Ranked #28 of 360 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the site of the first licensed apothecary shop, the Pharmacy Museum includes cures for anything that ails you including voodoo potions and other weird medicines.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I visited the pharmacy museum with a friend visiting from out of town. It is full of tons of pharmaceutical history- old bottles with original labels, needles, leech jar, all with historical information cards. They have tours, but only on the weekdays (I was here on a weekend). On the weekend, its a self-guided tour. It is a small museum with one main room downstairs, and a 2nd floor with a few additional exhibits. It is probably especially interesting for anyone with medical or pharmaceutical backgrounds. (I have a medical background, so I enjoyed it.) Admission is five dollars, which is a reasonable donation to keep this quirky place going. You need less than an hour even if you take a leisurely stroll through both floors.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NolaTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    178
    57
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Boring......”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Unless you happen to be in the medical profession with a real interest in old pharmacy bottles, I would totally skip this attraction. While the cost was minimal, the museum was more than boring; not worth the cost. Go around the corner instead to the New Orleans School of Cooking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It was interesting”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I wish we were there for the tour but we weren't in town then. It was ok to browse by ourselves but would have been way better on the tour. It only cost $5 so can be a nice break from the heat. If you're an American horror story fan I guess they shoot here. It was interesting and disturbing seeing the old instruments. And actually shocking how many of the instruments still look the same as the ones used today. We spent 1 hour here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cool museum”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This was a cool little museum. It will take about an hour and only cost $5 to get in. There is a lot of info and old medical displays in there. You can visualize the pharmacy back in the day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating and quirky museum”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth a trip to this museum. Well written interpretive panels and great collection. It is only open for a few hours a day (10-2 I think) so you have to plan accordingly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Orleans Pharmacy Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Pharmacy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing