We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic”
Review of Magazine Street

Magazine Street
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
City of New Orleans and Katrina Recovery Tour
Ranked #36 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Eclectic collectors and professional browsers will love this six-mile long street which starts at the French Quarter and is known worldwide for its antiques and art.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
340 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Still a good place to bargain hunt with a number of antique stores and consignment shops. Several good restaurants and bars to discover along the way.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank beerstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    290
    94
    25
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place for an afternoon stroll”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went to Magazine street for lunch after a tour of the Garden District. We decided to walk a large portion of the street after. It, like all of New Orleans, is a mix of everything. There are chain retailers as well as a lot of local shops. If you are looking for unique, but not "touristy" shopping, this is where to go. The only thing I found odd was that some of the shops required you to "buzz" them in. To be honest, we skipped these. Didn't come across as welcoming in our eyes. Note: the entire 6 miles is not all shopping/ dining. There are also residential homes on this street to look at.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsN1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool - Bohemian?”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The shopping section of Magazine street is really cool. We walked a long way (from the French Quarter) and found that there wasn't much to see until we got near Terpsichore Street where we came into a cute little cafe called Muse. Once we passed that we were only a few minutes away from the section of the street with several shops and boutiques. I was a little disappointed to see a chain store (Free People?) but otherwise, it seems like a nice way to kill an hour. We were in a hurry on our way to The Commander's Palace so couldn't stay long.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Far and Between”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

There fewer shops and restaurants than expected. If you are interested in antiques then this would be worth your while.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

A more affluent area of NOLA. A plethora of beautiful and well maintained houses (can't say the same for the city sidewalks) It is a boutique area with shops and restaurants to match. If you have ever visited the Paddington area of Sydney - you will get the idea.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bflow66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magazine Street also viewed

 

Been to Magazine Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing