We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Easy of the Big Easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Oakview Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay in New Orleans.
Aptly named, it's located just across from a park and provides a view of the huge, intricately shaped oak trees there.

Just minutes away from the city center by streetcar and bus (both stop right around the corner) or rental (plenty of room for your car here), it is a a quiet and peaceful getaway after a busy day and/or night on the town.
Every morning and late afternoon I just relaxed on the porch with a drink and watched playful squirrels scour the yard for food and chase each other through the trees.

The rooms are spacious and each decorated to a different theme, with the common denominator being a huge bed, that instantly makes you feel as if you've stepped into a castle :-)

The host Russell is a great guy, always ready for a talk, and willing to point out some great venues to visit to accommodate your tastes when needed.
He makes a mean breakfast too, and you'll need it if you are to immerse yourself in the busy NOLA experience of great music and abundant alcohol!

Initially me and my girlfriend booked a hotel in the city center to stay at, but we reconsidered and chose to stay here instead. Best decision we could make!
Russell was very accommodating and went out of his way to facilitate our stay and book us different rooms to be able to cover our whole stay at the very last minute.

This idyllic place made our stay in New Orleans so enjoyable, we hope to come back again soon!

Russell, thanks for helping to make our NOLA experience great, we love you man!

Room Tip: The Azalea room has it's own outside entrance and little balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenIos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Oakview Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

From the moment I stepped through the doors of this beautiful house, I felt right at home. Russell is the most gracious and generous host, bending over backwards to make you feel comfortable. I stayed in the Azalea room, which was huge and has a separate entrance up the side of the house. The included breakfast is great and as other reviewers have mentioned, the biscuits are awesome. The area is really safe and only a 15min streetcar ride to the madness of Bourbon street. The streetcar stop is literally across the road. As a solo traveller this location was perfect, as I didn't have to worry about coming home late at night, as some other areas in New Orleans can be a bit sketchy. Russell also provides an open bar in a lovely sitting room, where you can watch tv or chat to other guests. This truly is a home away from home. This was my first visit to New Orleans and my stay at Oakview made the experience that much better. I only had a few days in this incredible city, but if I find myself back there, Oakview will be my first choice to stay. I highly recommend this gorgeous B&B if you want to experience true Southern hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiJay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This was my first time to stay at the Oakview, but definitely not my first time in NOLA. I went with a group of friends and we rented out the entire place. What an amazing time. Breakfast each morning where we can just eat in our PJ's and have great conversation. Russell makes an amazing breakfast - especialy the BISCUITS!! YUMMY! He accomodated all of our needs and then some. He is pretty amazing and has all kinds of stories.

Then during the day you have access to so many things - the Park acrosrs the street, which is a nice place to walk and/or jog in the morning to see the ducks. There is also a place for beignets in the park, the museum and the botanical gardens. When the Bayou Bugaloo Festival is in town, it is just a short jaunt away. Also a great location to grab the trolley and take a short ride to the French Quarter.

I stayed in the Asian Willow Room. What a gorgeous and unique room. Very clean and serene. A great place to have a glass of wine and hang out a bit. Each night was a great night's sleep. The bathtub was a jacuzzi tub and the bathroom was decorated uniquely as well. Didn't feel like I was staying away from home. Everything was comfortable.

Also, what a great time in the "sitting/bar" area. A great place to have wine and rum and carry on and sing and dance and converse and just "be." Russell opens the bar up to all and is so accomodating in that area. This was our fave place to be in the afternoons and evenings to just unwind, have a great time, and hang out.

Also the front porch area was a great place to hang out and overlook the park and relax.

This is a great place to have a wonderful NOLA experience and I recommend it to all!!!

Thank you so much, Russell, for taking care of us!!

Angelique D.
Austin, TX

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was our second stay at the Oakview B&B - but not our last! This time we rented the whole house with a bunch of friends which made it even more fun, as we were able to go to brreakfast in our PJs, hang out in the bar area, and generally overrun the place. Russell is great - he will bend over backwards to accomodate your needs, and OH the biscuits. Get out of bed in the morning so you can enjoy them warm from the oven. Seriously.

The house is clean, well kept, and comfortable. We stayed in the Oak Room which includes a nice sun porch that looks over the park. The location can't be beat - walk to streetcars and museums, access city park, have a beignet without the craziness of Cafe DuMonde. Have a bloody mary at Ralph's. Stroll on over to The Bayou Boogaloo if the timing is right. Feel the happiness of New Orleans.

Room Tip: if you have extra guests, Russell will allow you to set them up on an air bed in the sun room for a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Russell and his wife were wonderful! I messed up my reservation and he cleaned it up when we got there [one extra day booked] - though we would have loved to stay another day. Went for J Fest, walking distance to great restaurants, bars and fairgrounds. stayed in the 'cozy' magnolia room and it was plenty big enough for us. Nice breakfast [which we missed a few times - hey long nights!] , good bar, great porch. Russell is doing a great job - go stay with him! Hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at Oakview B & B with only one drawback, it turned out that during our stay it was only a "B" as our host Russell had to be out of town while we were there so we missed out on his famed breakfast! We will come back again for that reason alone! :). Since Russell was not there to offer breakfast, he did give us a discount on our rate to compensate (and he even left us some cinnamon rolls to tide us over!) We were here for a Sunday - Wednesday so it was quiet, we had the whole house to ourselves for two Of the nights, and no, we didn't see any ghosts in this old house!! It is very convenient, there is a great beignet place in the park so that took care of our breakfast problem. We loved the front porch, great for coffee in he morning or a glass of wine in the evening, very relaxing and a beautiful view. And our bed, in the Magnolia Room, oh so comfy!!! I came home wanting to buy a new mattress! We did have a car and the parking was sufficient, we took the trolley to the French Quarter and that was convenient too. We would highly recommend the Oakview and hope to visit again soon. Try it, there is no way you will regret your time there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jharrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Three couples rented rooms at Oakview together for Jazz Fest. The rooms were wonderful; Russell was a gracious and loquacious host; and we were able to walk to the fairgrounds. The city park across the street gave us a wonderful place for morning walks as well.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 141 in New Orleans
573 reviews
Lakeview
Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 141 in New Orleans
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Street Inn
#22 of 141 in New Orleans
185 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 141 in New Orleans
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1172 City Park Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119-3723
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lakeview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £73 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakview Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak view is a lovely 100 year old historic Victorian. It is ideally located across the street from the famous City Park and the New Orleans Museum. That means we are walking distance to Jazz Fest, across the street from Voodoo Fest, two blocks from the start of the Endymion Parade, two blocks from the historic Cemetery, around the corner from Bayou Bogaloo festival, and a very short distance to the French Quarter, downtown and the convention center. The trolly stops in front of the door.Further the crescent city classic race and most other races and marathons ends here at the park across from the bed and breakfast. Unbelievable but true.We also feel that we are at least in the TOP 10 for the best Bed and Breakfast not number 25. WE are totally new, totally renovated and modernly upgraded with whirlpools in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Oakview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing