We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very great place and great value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Checkered Parrot Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Checkered Parrot Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Bring a little of Key West into your life. The Checkered Parrot is an upscale sports bar featuring a large menu that is sure to please anyone. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. Try our famous Nachos, mouth-watering Fajita's or Wings in seven flavors. We have a Wrap, Sandwich or Burger for everyone in the family! Try one with a side of Parrot Chips today! Relax on our outdoor patio and enjoy the sights and sounds of the French Quarter. Or, venture inside for tons of TVs, pool tables, a full bar and additional entertainment that make the Checkered Parrot the place to be!
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very great place and great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The food was good and the staff even better! I don't think we would haven't gone in here unless the hotel had given us vouchers, but it was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnmyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    27
    19
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“way to expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have had better food from a truck stop. the buffet was tiny, stale, and gross. powdered eggs and warm fruit. there was an omelette bar that was good, but even then the girl would keep disappearing when you wanted something. you would have to wait till she got back to make your order. the omelettes were good, but not 13 dollars good. save your money and go someplace else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yuck yuck yuck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Horrible food, horrible service, horrible bathroom!! Here is hoping I don't get food poisoning!!! Not sure my dog will eat that food.

Helpful?
1 Thank amullins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, OH
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“best salad ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Ate here as it was so crowded everywhere we went for supper.
We ate out front looking out onto Royal St, great service!
Husband had great burger!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rats in this restaurant!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Filthy place with sightings of two rats running around the restaurant while we were waiting for our food. Waitress apologized but said it happens all the time. If this is what the customer area is like I shudder to think how bad the kitchen is. Doesn't New Orleans have a board of health?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bestboxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Checkered Parrot Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing