We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pierre Coulon Guest House
Ranked #59 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It's just what everybody says--charming setting, spacious, friendly hosts, well stocked. You have the advantage of a quiet neighborhood, the Fauborg Marigny, just a five-minute walk away from the French Quarter. And there are wonderful cafes just a block away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbborton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Pierre Coulon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were thrilled with this place! Lots of space (2 stories!), all the needed amenities plus a great breakfast/snack selection...we tried to not dig in too much but it was nice if you were hungry after a day on the town. We bought simple breakfast/dinner to make and enjoy in the peaceful courtyard, leaving us a budget to enjoy the best restaurants at lunch. Stephen and Rich give great recommendations on food, groceries etc. and leave a selection of menus, showtimes etc. by the kitchen. Location is quiet and safe, and close to the French Quarter. Definitely captures the charm of the city - probably the most charming place I've ever stayed. Rates were more than reasonable...it's a fantastic value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimothyPinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The location is convenient to everything yet quiet and private. The hosts Steve and Rich are just wonderful - considerate and friendly. I want to give this lovely place the high marks it deserves. But selfishly, I'd like to keep it secret so we'll never have to go elsewhere when in New Orleans.

Room Tip: 2 floors. 1st floor kitchen family room combo. Upstairs large room and 2nd room with bath between...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stephen and Rich are wonderful host. Their self contained two bedroom-two level guest house is spotless and beautiful. The area is safe, quiet and in walking distance to the French Quarter.
My boyfriend and I loved our stay. Stephen and Rich were so helpful and made our stay in New Orleans better than we had hoped. I would highly recommend their beautiful quest house.

Thank you Stephen and Rich

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberleeH222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Honestly I’m a bit torn about writing this review. On the one hand, the Pierre Coulon Guest House is easily the best located, most quaint, and best value in all of New Orleans. On the other hand, my selfish side is pressing me to try to keep it a secret as much as possible, in hopes it isn’t booked for my next trip.
First and foremost the owners/proprietors (Stephen and Rich) are super friendly and accommodating. They will give you insight to the area if you wish and are really great about making you feel right at home. You’ll leave feeling as if you have just made two new friends, and most likely, you will have!
The grounds and building itself represent everything that is great about the area. You are led through a little side door and through a classic hidden courtyard to the guest house. Once inside you’ll see that it’s actually two stories and more inviting than any bland hotel could possibly hope to be. It even has an upstairs balcony that is great for morning coffee and a cigarette (If you are dumb enough to smoke, as I am)
It’s just a short jaunt to the French quarter, but just far enough away to be a bit secluded. There is a fantastic little independent bakery/restaurant up the street, as well as other little hidden gems.
I travel extensively, and get to New Orleans quite often. I always try to stay at Stephen and Rich’s place first. ALWAYS! Take it from a seasoned traveler, no contest, this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: Go to the bar up the street named "Mimi's". Sit at the bar downstairs, and order the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Pierre Coulon Guest House has the old-world charm of a house built in the 1800's. It is furnished with beautiful and well-kept antique furniture, complementing the package.
Everything was provided for the casual stay, even snacks, etc.
You will have to do your cooking in the microwave, but with so many excellent restaurants within walking distance, why bother?
Stephen and Rich take marvelous care of the place and it is so clean that there aren't even any bugs, my biggest worry, as I didn't want one hitching a ride to live with us back up North. Didn't see a single one!
The neighborhood is very quiet, making for a nice restful place, so I hope you don't come with the idea of partying into the night. You are only a few blocks from the French Quarter, where you can find plenty to do.

Room Tip: The back bedroom upstairs offers the most privacy, but you aren't sharing this with others. Bri...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Owners are friendly and super-helpful. We've always received the right blend of privacy and friendliness. Love the location and the comfort of the guesthouse - we're returning next year!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
176 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
La Dauphine B&B
La Dauphine B&B
#67 of 141 in New Orleans
35 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 141 in New Orleans
573 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#38 of 141 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 141 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre Coulon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Coulon Guest House

Address: 714 Spain St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7823
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing