We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a large group, very good food”
Review of Le Foret - CLOSED

Le Foret
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Corner of Camp and Common
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good for a large group, very good food”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Was there with a large group- we took over one of the large dining rooms upstairs. Definitely accommodating for a large group. Pre-dinner cocktails were on roof, which was charming. High ceiling make restaurant deafeningly noisy when everyone gets to talking. Charming old-style building - very New Orleans. Service was ok ( not the professionalism you are used to in high-end New Orleans restaurants) - seemed to be mostly students. Food was good but not outstanding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Le Foret came highly recommended by our concierge. We found the food to be good, not great. However the two most off putting things were the deafening noise and the worst wait service we have experienced in a restaurant of that caliber. I guess when we showed no interest in ordering from the wine list, he showed no interest in serving us. Plates were thrown on the table and removed the minute we finished. More time should be spent on properly training waitstaff. Did not order dessert because my wife could not stand being there another minute.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We wandered in late, so didn't get a table in the main area, which is very pretty indeed. That said, seating near the bar is also attractive enough. The food was excellent, including an amuse bouche between courses. My wife is vegetarian, and was able to find things to eat, which was a plus. Creative, tasty food. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odoketa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington ma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The food was good, but not great - considering the price, and compared to many other great options in New Orleans. The service was also below expectations and pretty amateurish. Nice ambiance and seems to have had better days but on the Friday night we were there it was half empty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vic333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a incredible meal and excellent service! The atmosphere is delightful! Elegant, charming, inviting, relaxing, and romantic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmoncrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Foret also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing