We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - especially the cocktail museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Food and Beverage Museum

Southern Food and Beverage Museum
Ranked #120 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent - especially the cocktail museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had visited shortly after the exhibit opened and enjoyed the history and paraphernalia from the history of cocktails in America. The bar rescued from Katrina was well restored also. Worth the visit!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    31
    21
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A surprising find and must for foodies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I must first say I was a bit dubious of this museum when we figured out it was in the Riverwalk Mall (that being said, the curator said they were moving locations very soon as the Riverwalk is being turned into an outlet mall in 2013). Given the location, I was suspecting this would be little more than a tourist trap. I could not have been more mistaken!

I found this museum delightful. I thought they did a very thoughtful job of presenting information about southern food, including not only information about southern dishes (e.g., gumbo) but also ingredients (e.g., sugar, okra). The museum also did a good job of balancing a focus on the current state of food (e.g., a mention of the importance of seafood and the health of the Gulf of Mexico) while discussing the history and why southern food has evolved as it has. I would definitely make this a part of any foodie tour/trip to New Orleans.

One word of warning - there is a LOT of reading in this museum. This is NOT a museum for children.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank afreudgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nostalgic!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

This quaint museum is tucked away at the end of the food court on the River Walk. We had finished the Cemetery/Gris Gris tour and decided to stop by the River Walk for lunch. The museum is relatively small but it is packed with a variety of memorabilia that ranged from vintage refrigerators, stoves, and cooking appliances. It had photographs, videos, and narratives describing the culture of cooking over the past several decades. There was also an impressive Museum of the American Cocktail section on bars and alcoholic beverages. We enjoyed browsing the many displays. I was particularly pleased with the display on the Domino Sugar Refinery. My father worked at the Baltimore refinery for 40 years. There is a lot of reading so plan to spend a couple of hours there. Small children would probably lose interest quickly. You can take photographs anywhere in the museum. There was no cooking demonstration when we were there but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. I understand the museum is searching for a larger location. That would give it the ability to spread out the exhibits. It was well worth the small $10.00 admission price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real Southern treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We enjoyed a culinary history lesson and demo on Jambalaya. Toured the museum while our dish simmered. Looking forward to taking folks there when they move to their permanent location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank barbhc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson,SC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Found at the end of the marketplace mall. The museum is interesting but layout is a bit strange. Cost was 8.00 (AAA discount) for adults. Expect to do a lot of reading. Was little warm inside the museum. Few of the display lights were out and made it hard to read the information. Overall good place to go but not for kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tkherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Food and Beverage Museum also viewed

 

Been to Southern Food and Beverage Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing