We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food to go just bring CASH” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verti Marte

Verti Marte
Ranked #41 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Austin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food to go just bring CASH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a little market out of the way and more geared towards locals. The beer is cheap and the food is all cooked to order. We had poboys which I thought were just a dollar or two more than they should have been, though they were very tasty. I had shrimp, wife had a club. Cake and cheesecake (not sure if made onsite) were outstanding!

Only downside (which is why I rated three stars instead of four) is it's cash only and everything is to go. It's good for a late night meal or if you're on the run.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Austinmike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    116
    21
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Oh man! We stopped by here on the way out and I wish that we had gone sooner. We definitely would have tried more things. "All that Jazz" was superb and there were many other things that looked great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Phi450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dirty South
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All That Jazz!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stopped for lunch on 5/2914. Wow! I had "All That Jazz". I wish I were hungrier, because they only sell it on a french loaf. It was a TON of food. A little salty, but very good.

The lady had the Shrimp Po' boy on a round bun. DAMN! It was perfect. I would go back to NOLA just for another one of those. Certainly a place to revisit.

Be sure to check out the old plywood boards hanging from the walls. They covered the windows during Katrina, and the love for Verti Marte scribbled on those boards attests to how great the sandwiches are.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tochtli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is a secret for locals but the word is getting out. The spaghetti is delicious as well as the fettucini alfredo. I also really like the Philly Cheese Steak. This place is not fancy but it has great comfort food. Be sure to bring cash and tip the helper at the food counter. Jenn at the register is so sweet. The prices are very inexpensive and you receive huge portions.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cayenne_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place is the best!
Great food at fair prices and they deliver!
Better than some $$$ restaurants in the quarter
Go!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaKatybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verti Marte also viewed

 

Been to Verti Marte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing