We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hear solid jazz”
Review of The Jazz Playhouse

The Jazz Playhouse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It's Playtime. Royal Sonesta New Orleans proudly presents The Jazz Playhouse. The best jazz club in New Orleans showcases the city's greatest Jazz talent and serves your favorite cocktails and appetizers in a luxurious venue on the lobby level of the hotel. Shows begin at 8 p.m.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
204 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great place to hear solid jazz”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

There is no cover charge and it is a nice, relaxing place to chill and hear all kinds of jazz from established and promising musicians. Definitely on the must go place if a jazz lover.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleTravel29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    93
    20
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
232 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to hear good music”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

It's a nice place to have a drink and enjoy jazz, different group of.musicians every day. Food is good too they have small food items all excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatriziaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Found IT”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After walking up and down Bourbon Street looking for some classic jazz, we were told by a stranger that this was the place. We were not disappointed. The bar is classy, swanky and exactly what we were looking for. The drinks were awesome, the music out of this world, and our only regret is that we did not find this sooner. Go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiva4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just okay....”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

While staying at the Royal Sonesta, we stopped in for a nightcap and some jazz. The place was busy but we still managed to find a seat at the bar. Drinks weren't anything special. Sadly, neither was the music. I'd only return if we were staying at Royal Sonesta again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
328 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Jazz club in Neat Old Hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This jazz club has won lots of awards, and we enjoyed great music there.
Also, we had appetizers along with wine while listening, and enjoyed very good service, comfortable seating, and while seating is "close" it is not too overcrowded . Reviews say the Jazz Playhouse hosts Grammy and Billboard Award-winning performers from time to time. Located off the lobby level of the Royal Sonesta Hotel. Some drink specials, if before 7 pm. We will definitely return , on next trip to NOLA.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jazz Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Jazz Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing