We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I finally learned the right way to make roux!”
Review of New Orleans Cooking Experience - CLOSED

New Orleans Cooking Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A Creole cooking school located in the Southern Food & Beverage Museum demonstration kitchen and staffed by some of the most acclaimed local chefs (Frank Brigtsen and Gerard Maras among them). Classes are intimate, fun. Guests are seated at the kitchen island for a front row seat. Classes limited to 10 guests for the most intimate of experiences. Wine and beer served for the duration. Three or four course seated meal served following the class.
Moab, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I finally learned the right way to make roux!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I went to Boo McCumber's lunch class expecting to learn a few new recipies. We came out of the house feeling so honored to have met such a down to earth person, and a fabulous cook and teacher, as well. We were treated to great stories, local history, and had a tour of that lovely period house. And, yeah, we had a few glasses of wine, and laughed and ate too much great foods. The price is more than fair, since you are taking a class, not just watching a demonstration.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice..”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Celebrated my mother's birthday here with 6 ladies. We had a fabulous time. The food was wonderful and company even better. Definitely recommend for any special event or even just dinner with spouse.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Priscilla105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better than excellent!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

My second visit to the experience. First was a Saturday and the second was a Thursday night. The staff is incredible. The house is gorgeous and has a rich history. Love love love!!! This is a must for anyone visiting Nola!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazoria, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were greeted at the door by hostess Judy Jurisich, and shown to the parlor where we met the other guests and received a glass of wine. After a few minutes of introductions, it was time to move to the kitchen area where the meal was prepared by Chef Frank Brigtsen. What a wonderful experience. As he was preparing the courses for the evening, Chef Brigtsen talked about various topics relating to the history of creole and cajun cooking, New Orleans, as well as the dishes he was preparing and how he got his inspirations from some of his mentors. Very interesting. Several of his cooking tips and hints were passed along as well. Although there were many ingredients and steps to the meal, Chef Brigtsen made it look easy. Just a testament to his skill and experience. That session lasted about an hour and a half, then we were given a brief tour of the house, and some of the history behind it. From there we moved to the dining room, where the first course was set for us. As we progressed our way through a most delicious meal, our wine glasses were kept full by our excellent hosts. After the meal was complete, Chef Brigtsen came to the table and sat with us and visited in a casual style. Wonderful conversation, excellent meal, good location, and great company for a perfect and memorable evening.
I highly recommend this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank scubaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An incredibly enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The New Orleans Cooking Experience was a wonderful experience shared with friends. Frank Brigtsen, our chef, was an excellent teacher. The food he prepared was delicious, and the tips and recipes he provided will be used as soon as possible. The location was a beautifully restored mansion and the staff was so sweet and helpful. I highly recommend the New Orleans Cooking Experience. It is so much more than a cooking demonstration, it is an evening of great food and good wine shared with friends old and new.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank annesilver66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Orleans Cooking Experience also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing